We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country International Hotel
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

In a country where hotels are usually expensive and not always satisfactory, this hotel was a pleasant surprise.
Very conveniently located near the business centres, good sized room, clean, all the necessary amenities, free WI fi, cable TV, very comfortable bed, good air conditioning and a good breakfast. All for a reasonable price.
I highly recommend it to the business traveller

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florisimo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    102
    28
    9
    16
See reviews for
31
62
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed at Hotel Country International for a week at the end of March 2010 with my fiance. I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on this website.

The first thing that you notice is that the hotel lobby is very clean with modern decorations. We had a standard hotel room which was clean and very comfortable. The room had a flat screen TV, dressers to store clothes, a security safe, and a small refrigerator.

The hotel has wireless internet service however the signal was a little weak in our room and you will need to retrieve a key from the front desk every 24 hours. There is also a business center on the first floor with complimentary Internet access. You are allowed to make free local phone calls from the telephone in your room which came in very handy. International calls however can be expensive. I would advise people to bring a laptop, or portable device with Skype and make calls over WiFi at $0.02.

The breakfast buffet was included with the price of the room and the the food was decent. The thing I enjoyed most being from the USA was the fresh fruit juices that was served. The restaurant food however was expensive compared to other restaurants in the area.

Most importantly, the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmjc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We enjoyed our stay at country , very nice place, clean ,modern .service was excellent , the breakfeast buffet was very good , the pool is nice , but the water was on the cold side ,the pool dosent get enough sun . We paid 65 us a nite, We were going to stay at the hotel Royal but for 15 us more a nite ,the choice was easy ,the royals a flea bag . The hotel is in a good location of Baq , you can walk to the Villa Country Mall and all the clubs on 79 st our within walking distance .

  • Liked — modern , clean , nice rooms , price very reasonable , close to nightlife
  • Disliked — pool was water cold
  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boston05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

The Country International Hotel in Barranquilla is an excellent place to stay for the price. A smaller luxury hotel, it was far more quaint than Dann Carlton but just as elegant and nice. The property is in a better location in the city and is walking distance from everything in Barranquilla. It is in the city of Barranquilla. The rooms are air-conditioned and there is a pool and a "free" breakfast buffet. The buffet has a large selection of fresh fruit, cereals, and yogurt. There are atleast 7 kinds of breakfast breads offered at buffet, two warm dishes, a soup, and made to order eggs. The hotel is highly secure and there are all the services available at 5-star hotels in South America. Internet, business center, cab service, room service. Just ask for Harold Gonzales the Manager. He speaks perfect english and can help you make your plans for Barranquilla. Perfect place to stay.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank divawanderlust37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barranquilla hotels
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Versalles Barranquilla
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Barranquilla Smartsuites Royal
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
Hilton Garden Inn Barranquilla
#1 of 58 in Barranquilla
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
Hampton by Hilton Barranquilla
#4 of 58 in Barranquilla
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#2 of 58 in Barranquilla
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#23 of 58 in Barranquilla
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country International Hotel

Property: Country International Hotel
Address: Carrera 52 # 75-30, Barranquilla 080020, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Atlantico Department > Barranquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Barranquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country International Hotel is a great place to enjoy local hospitality during your next visit to the beautiful Colombian city of Barranquilla, offering 72 rooms makes your stay a pleasant and productive stay in a warm and nurturing environment that create the comforts of each one of our rooms and environments. The service, the friendliness of its staff and its strategic location close to major dining, shopping and banking areas, are some of the reasons that make us the premier choice for your stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing