We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hostel should be”
Review of Hostel Kasa Guane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Kasa Guane
Ranked #5 of 54 Bucaramanga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Hostal Kasa Guane is everything a hostel should be. It has nice clean rooms, big hot showers, a great rooftop bar and common area, friendly helpful staff, located in a awesome area of the city, all for a great price. There was always plenty to do and lots of other travelers around to have a good time with. If you are looking for a quite out of the way place Kasa Guane might not be for you, but for everyone else it's all you could ask for.

Bucaramanga is also a great city. It doesn't seem to be on the radar of most travelers but I think that might soon change. It is very clean and modern. It is full of students and young working people. It might not have the history of Bogota, but it is very lively and full of energy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prindle150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hi Prindle150,

Another positive review, thanks so much for taking time to let us know your thoughts about Bucaramanga and Kasa Guane. It's so nice to hear so many people appreciating the city like we do and we think you're right that things are only going to get better. Thanks again for you're lovely comments about our hostel.

All the best and we hope to see you soon.

Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed in a private room, although the primary accommodation is dorm rooms. Great place. Multiple wifi routers give a strong signal wherever you are in the facility. Very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect for restaurants and shopping. The staff are ultra helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hey NealR2000,
We really appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always do our utmost to maintain the highest levels of cleanliness and know that it's all about a comfy hostel where the small details matter. Hot showers and good WiFi everywhere in the house are right up there. To hear that you 'cannot fault' us is great to hear. Thanks a lot for the review.

All the best

Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two days and really enjoyed our experience!
The staff were super helpful, friendly and accommodating! They let us check in at 6am after getting off the night bus, then let us have a shower before our night bus to Bogota :)
Rooms were good and clean- bathrooms were also very clean - and hot water :)
Kitchen and free coffee is a great treat!
Rooftop patio is great for beers at night/eating dinner or salsa lessons!
Good location - short walk from clubs, banks, places to eat and bars..
Thanks for a wonderful stay in Buca :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroDoyleAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hi CaroDoyleAus,
It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thanks alot for letting us know and we hope to see you back here one day.

All the best

Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here just for a night and it did the job! Reuben, on reception was really laid back and helpful. We had a private room, which was big, good fan on wall, needed cos it was v stuffy and hot. Shared bathroom was fine, clean, not sure how it would manage if it was busy with full dorms (there were only a couple but while we were there so it was fine). We didnt need to use the kitchen so not sure what the story is there. Location is great, near to some lovely places to eat, shop and almost immediate arrival of taxi to airport. Rally liked the vibe in Bucaramanga and left wishing we could have stayed another day! Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hey nickig,
It's great to hear such positive things about our hostel and the city that we live in. We'll make sure Ruben sees this review and we hope you come back one day to stay a few more days and feel the full vibe of the city.

All the best

Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a private room and had a great time with the staff and other guests. The room was spotless, the facilities were great and lends itself to being a sociable place. We chilled out on the roof with the pool table and the bar, hung out in the TV room and watched movies and had coffee in the kitchen with other travellers and their tales. Tim and Milo were a great source of local knowledge and ponted you in the direction for food, sights and activities. Great stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hey Steve A,
We're glad to hear that enjoyed your stay with us and the vibe of the hostel. It's really nice for us to be getting such nice feedback from our guests so thanks alot for letting us know.

All the best
Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I came to Bucaramanga for an exchange program that would last 8 months.
Being homeless in the beginning i decided to go to (KGB) for the first days, to get some rest and get to know the City.

Hostel:
Since (KGB) is the only hostel in Bucaramanga my expectaions were not too high.
But as soon as i entered to the reception i was welcomed by one of the spanish speaking hostel owners, the welcome was really warm and you could immedialtly feel that you are not in a normal traveller "gringo" hostel. (KGB) offers you a family feeling. I slept in a 6 Bed dorm with a private balcony and a shared bathroom. Everthing was very clean, and for the first time after a while i had a good sleep on a comfy matress. The (KGB) has a nice rooftop with a bar and a pooltable. Bathrooms are clean and laundry service is offerd aswell.

Rooftop:
In the weekend the rooftop of (KGB) is changing into a lively bar. If you are looking for the standrad travellers small talk you are wrong. (KGB)´s bar is allways visited by local hostel friends and their friends.., and you will be seen as a friend as well. Atmosphere was allways very relaxed and i never had a problem to meet up with local people. If there is something going on in Bucaramanga the staff will let you now and organizes a group of people going there, inclunding themselves. Also german beer is served at KGB !!!

Location:
KGB is located in Cabecera, which is one of the safest neighborhoods in Bucaramanga, going out at late night and coming back is no problem here.

Staff:
The staff mostly speaks english and is very helpfull, you are more treated like a friend than a customer, which i really appreciated.

Activities:
KGB offers a lot of activities, like playing tejo going for paragliding or visiting local culture events. If you are interested you wont get bored.

I really enjoyed my time at KGB and will defentliy come back, i can recommend it especially to stay more than just one or two days to get to know it and the sourrounding as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Simzik, That is without doubt the most thorough review we have ever had, we love the sub-headings. Thanks so much for taking the time to write it and for you nice comments. We hope to see you back in Bucaramanga soon.
All the best – Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I've been living in B'manga for 8 months now. The first Three weeks i stayed in Kasa Guane - i could have easily stayed there longer! Kasa Guane is a clean, friendly and not too big hostel located perfecly in the center of the city. I love Bucaramanga for the fact that it is not so touristy like other cities in Colombia. With their bar area on the roof top they (kasa Guane) understand it perfectly to exactly put the emphasis of the hostel on what B'manga is all about - meeting locals.
Kasa Guane is not just your average clean and friendly hostel, but it will aslo provide the chance to meet up with locals and get to know the city "of the beaten track". No matter if u come to B'manga for 1 - 2 days or an extended period of time ... - come to Kasa Guane and check it out. Greets Rudi

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasaGuane, Owner at Hostel Kasa Guane, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Christain R, Thaks for the review. We know you have come to love Bucaramanga as much as we do and it is great to hear that you love the hostal too. You are already being missed. We hope to see you back here one day.
All the best – Team Kasa Guane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucaramanga hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Doral Suites
Hotel Doral Suites
#34 of 38 in Bucaramanga
15 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Chitota
Hostal Chitota
#5 of 23 in Bucaramanga
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cacique Matanzu
Hotel Cacique Matanzu
#1 of 54 in Bucaramanga
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bucaramanga Cacique
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
#6 of 54 in Bucaramanga
10 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Colonial Plaza
Hotel Colonial Plaza
#27 of 38 in Bucaramanga
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Kasa Guane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kasa Guane

Address: Calle 11 # 26-50 | Barrio La Universidad, Bucaramanga 680002, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > Bucaramanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bucaramanga
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasa Guane is Bucaramanga's original and friendliest backpackers' hostel. Located in the popular university district,with many cafes, restaurants, bars and sports facilities within a few minutes walk from the hostel. The city is perfect to explore on foot, and is known as "La Ciudad de los Parques" or "City of Parks". You are never far away from a nice spot to chill out, kick back reading a book or simply relax with a beer watching the world go by.The hostel is set in a large, newly renovated, two storey house with clean spacious rooms and social areas. There is a 24 hour reception four 4 bed dorms, one of which is female only. There are choices of private rooms with or without multi-channel HD cable TV, all rooms have en suite bathrooms as well as a triple room and a family room. All the rooms have new silent fans and comfortable beds with new orthopaedic mattresses for a quality nights sleep. On the third floor we have a large rooftop terrace with private bar and pool table where we have regular functions, language interchange evenings, theatre groups, live music and pretty much anything that helps to create a good mix of both travellers and Colombians in the hostel. There is free Wi-Fi in the whole house, free towels, lockers and free coffee. We also have a laundry service for guests. Please note: Check in at 14:00pm Check out at 12:00am Cancellation Policy 1 days Only cash as payment upon arrival (Breakfast not included) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Kasa Guane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing