We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have been to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movich Casa del Alferez
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This hotel is beautiful. The food was great and the staff excellent.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Xicanoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

Great hotel. Prices were resonable and everything was very clean and quite.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. We were there with about 15 of our friends and stayed two nights. Everyone had positive comments of the hotel.

It is not recommended to go far from the hotel at night especially as a couple or alone. But this could be said of some major cities in the US as well. I never felt uncomfortable walking down to the local ATM a few blocks away.

Very friendly staff with very few able to speak English, my Spanish skills were about as good, lots of pointing and smiling and you get what you want and they aren't put out too much by my limited language skills.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for leaving you comment about our Movich Hotel, we are working hard to improve everyday and you comments helps us achieve better services.

Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Check-in a bit slow, confusion about reservation as first cancelled and then rebooked at a better rate. After everything was sorted out they apoligized and offered an upgrade to an executive room. Nice room with hardwood floor and jaccuzibath, very comfortable bed.
Location is great, 5 minutes away from the Zona Rosa with trendy bars and restaurants. Good breakfast buffet, decent choice of juices, fruit breads and eggs. I not really into eggs and asked for pancakes. They were not part of the buffet but they made them anyway by special order, excellent service !
Checkout slow, allow at least 15 minutes for that. That is the only weak point of this hotel. Furthermore they did nothing with my Accor A-club platinum status, I guess they were not too familiar with this new loyalty program.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDH-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

I had the pleasure to stay at Casa del Alferez a couple of times between March and April 2009. The hotel has recently been rebranded as a Mercure hotel.
It is located in the Granada district, walking distance to a large number of restaurants and bars. The hotel is not very large, and has a fairly homey feeling. The rooms are of good size with hardwood floors and jacuzzis in all bathrooms. The TVs are small and old, there is WiFi in all rooms. Rooms in the last floor have elevated ceilings.
I felt the service to be very adequate with odd requests acted upon promptly. Staff was very polite. The amenities of the hotel are limited, with only a small gym on the top floor (very basic and no air conditioning). Breakfast had a wide selection in buffet style in addition to made to order eggs.
Overall I felt the hotel was very good, and would recommend it for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marwan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

If your not staying at this hotel you are at the wrong place. The staff is great and the location was perfect. Bars and restaurants right down the steet of high quality. If you stay here you will not be disapointed but more surprised by the comfort for the price.Next time i go to Cali this is the place to stay with no regrets.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMUSTPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

I have stayed at this hotel in May 2008 and decided to return to the same place in October. It is a truly wonderful hotel with spacious rooms. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. I love the breakfasts which are served until 10:30am. Taxis are always available to take you to other parts of Cali. There is a shopping centre nearby although I preferred going to Chipichape which is a 10 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mattsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for leaving you comment about our Movich Hotel, we are working hard to improve everyday and you comments helps us achieve better services.

Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We planned our trip to cali in a bit of a hurry, I contacted The reservations department of this hotel and they were very good with us, they offered us an excellent rate ($160000 COL PESOS) per night, for this you get free breakfast, 30% disc on laundry, 10% disc on local phone calls, free internet (wi-fi) . When we got there we had the most excellent service that you can imagine these people always go the extra mille for you without a doubt (they book us a holiday to cartagena for our honey moon), the rooms are absolutely clean, and pretty (colonial style) some afternoons we got free fruit salad as compliments of the hotel, the laundry service was fast and very very good. We will definitely come back to this beautiful hotel with its very exciting area (lots and lots of great restaurants).

We visited many restaurants but we will recommend, Lola sabor latino, Carambolo, Pizza Gourmet, Gallery café restaurant in fact the entire area boats gastronomic appeal full of beautiful places representing many countries with delicious food and a service that is second to none!!

We went to a little beauty salon called Spa manos y pies (spa hand and feet), the owner martha was always very attentive, she gave us both me and my husband a really good and relaxing 1 hour massage for a very modest price $20000= each, (£6 each!!!!)compared to other places in the area where we found almost the same service for $150000= (£44=)!!!

My husband also went to Parque de los Poetas to have his shoes polished again another excellent service for only $3000= (£0.88 pence!!!!!!) then he went to for a barbers shave which lasted for 1 hour and again brilliant experience (Barberia Nueva York) and it was $7000= (£2.05=)!!!!
On the downside, cali hasn't got much to offer in the way of entertainment (I'm not a disco person!!! nor is my husband) we managed to find a one wine bar in granada calle Cava Pan y vino with excellent choice of wines; and the nearest cinema is 5 milles away, is worth it though as you can watch movies in english!
We went to the bar in te intercontinental hotel and we had to request our change since the waitress "assumed" that we were going to double tip her!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank princesa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Casa del Alferez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cali hotels
5.9 mi away
NH Cali Royal
NH Cali Royal
#7 of 92 in Cali
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Now Hotel
Now Hotel
#6 of 92 in Cali
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movich Casa del Alferez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movich Casa del Alferez

Address: Ave. 9 Norte # 9 - 24, Cali, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cali
#8 Business Hotel in Cali
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cali
Price Range: £59 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movich Casa del Alferez 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Granada, one of the must exclusive areas of the city, is surrounded by shopping and touristic places. Only 5 minutes away from the city's downtown and 9km from Alfonso Bonilla Aragon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movich Casa del Alferez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Casa Del Alferez Hotel Cali
Cali Hotel Santiago De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing