We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dann Carlton Cali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dann Carlton Cali
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Cali
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here one night following a wedding reception in one of the function rooms. While the wedding was lavish and spectacular, the room and service were pretty disappointing to be honest. I'd booked a triple room for myself and two kids but on entering the room in the early hours, found there were only two beds. My youngest is not that small now and I do resent paying steep room charges to effectively bunk down in a massive room with faulty air conditioning (it was fairly cold but we couldnt switch it off!) Breakfast beside the pool was lovely. In short, there are far better places to stay in Cali, for less money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine850_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    77
    36
    16
    16
See reviews for
27
40
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flinton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a romantic overnight for us -- to celebrate an anniversary. We have an apartment in the area and ended up going home about 1:00 am because there was a loud party going on in the hotel that had the whole place vibrating.

The service was fine and the room clean -- though it did smell a bit musty when we first got there. The building is older but mostly well maintained. Something that really bugged me was that you have to pay for a wash cloth! We had a $200/night suite and still had to pay about $1.50 for a washcloth from the mini-bar/compliment selection. What is that about??

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor which didn't have too much of a view. OUr room was on the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyKate007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I was there for a meeting, everything very good, the rooms are roomy, big baths, everything good

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mapaulinavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great location and excellent rooms, was my first impression. Then, when I met the staff and went upstairs to have breakfast by the pool in the last floor, I felt I had done the right choice!

I used one of their business rooms to hold meetings with some clients and received very professional service from the staff. Its rooms are very clean (have stayed there several times) and spacious, with all the gadgets needed (wireless high speed internet, desk, roomy bathroom...). There are many nice restaurants nearby and most attractions quite close, even within walking range. The area is very safe and you can easily enjoy a good evening walk by the river, which is right across the hotel.

An advice, don't get confussed with the Dann Hotel, next door and run by the same administration. The Dann carlton is a notch higher and better, though the other one is not bad. Try the typical restaurant at the Hotel Obelisco, which has nice riverside tables and the best EMPANADAS (typical food from Colombia)... just a couple blocks from there. (that hotel is also good!)

Room Tip: Perhaps the higher ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

I stayed at the Dann Carlton for an extenden weekend and my general rewiew is good.
It's very well located, near all the good restaurants and dancing places.
The rooms are well cared for and the service is excelent, including room service.
The restaurant, located on the 4th floor is small and almost over the pool. I didn´t like that ind it discourged me from swimming.
Breakfaast is included but you don't want to be late, for the quiality and quantity of the food starts to decrease after 9:00 a.m., and so does the service. After that hour, you don´t get coffee or chocolate offered, and the cook that makes eggs dissapears.
The weekend rate is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfpulido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

We usually stay at the Intercontinental in Cali, but it was unavailable for our dates in November 2007. We'd often noticed the Dann Carlton across the street, so we booked it and will probably never stay anywhere else. The Dann Carlton is small and comfortable and the staff could not be friendlier. The prices are low, around $100 per night for two people with breakfast.

The rooms are a bit tired but this seems par for the course in Cali. Everything is clean. The patio restaurant around the pool offers a good buffet breakfast but we did not try any other meals there. The "spa" and "health club" aren't much though there appears to be a massage therapist on duty every afternoon. There are the usual amenities such as a hair salon and a business center.

Our only frustrations were the incessant "checking of the mini-bar" which is some sort of neurosis in Latin American hotels, and the very slow check-out process.

  • Liked — Staff, location, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Some edges are frayed and the check-out process is way too slow.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mbisbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cali hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Cali - Un Hotel Estelar
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
1.0 mi away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cali Marriott Hotel
Cali Marriott Hotel
#1 of 88 in Cali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
5.5 mi away
NH Cali Royal
NH Cali Royal
#6 of 88 in Cali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dann Carlton Cali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dann Carlton Cali

Property: Dann Carlton Cali
Address: Carrera 2 Norte 1 60, Cali 760001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dann Carlton Cali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dann Carlton Cali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Carlton Cali Hotel Cali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing