We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Fernando Real Hotel
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Cali
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“BEWARE of this hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in two different rooms. There was a power outage in the area and the hotel power plant was working badly. All the smoke from the Diesel power plant was entering the hotel and our rooms. We were only changed to another room in the fourth floor at midnight (after 4 hours of intoxicating with diesel smoke) and anger from us.
Next, the a/c of one of the rooms was spilling water and our computer got wet.
Another day one of the room was left without ding service, UNBELIEVABLE!!

Carpets are old, hot water on tub is unstable and changes temperature. Requested soap 2 different days and no soap on my room.

Bed was good, cable TV really, really suck, they need to change provider.

Staff is very polite, all but a reception guy, Andres at night, very rude. We sopke tot hotel Admin and got anything from them....meaning they don't value the customers, but only the hotel rate $$.

First and last stay in this hotel. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone that goes to CALI, COlombia.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, request the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
10
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B'ham
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After travelling for some months this place stands out as a real gem.
The hotel is in a good location, clean, upmarket (remember what country you are in) and above all else very safe.
It is a good hotel but what makes it special are the front desk staff and the bell boys.
Jose and Muricio are by far the most helpful guys you could ever meet. Both fluent in English they helped us organise Salsa classes, find the best places to tour and helped with our onward joirney too.
Jose went above and beyond the call of duty many times. Even trying so sort oir flight out on hos morning off.
We would not consider staying anywhere else in Cali as a result of their service.
The maids and lady who cooks breakfast are great too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I traveled to Cali for a couple days on a business trip. I really enjoyed my stay at San Fernando Real - the rooms were fairly tidy (there were a few very tiny bugs crawling in my room, but not really a big deal), free wifi, and a good breakfast.

But what did it for me was the incredibly friendly and super-chilled out staff. They got us everything we needed, loved chatting with us, and really made an effort to make us feel at home. One of them even came out and partied with us at the hottest salsa club in Cali! Stay in touch my friends, hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews. The rooms are clean, so is the pool, the breakfast buffet is good, especially if you're into Colombian breakfast (perico etc).
Staff is very friendly, and they do state right from the beginning that there is a disco around the corner for those guests who are looking for some fun and a dance without having to cross the city.
I've stayed at this hotel a few times already, and would always go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadr218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I dont understan why they put those bad reviews about this great hotel.
I gues is b/c the city was doing the Mio which is the new transportation system in the city (nothing to do with the Hotel).

+ Free internet
+ attention is very good
+ if you dont like the club just let them know and they will take you to a room on the other side of the hotel.

Great hotel

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Mckein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

The hotel has many hidden problems. First the hotel never told us about the night club attached to the hotel which stays open until 3:00 AM and if your room is in the same wing, don't expect to get any sleep. When we got there we had to ask to have the yucuzzy cleaned, it was very dirty. The next day we had to ask to be moved to the other wing of the hotel, since we didn't get any sleep the night before. The staff is friendly, but pass on the breakfast and ask for a discount instead, the breakfast was terrible. Get everything in writting, they quoted us $179,000 pesos per night the fist time I called and when I called to confirm a week later, they changed it to $230,000 per night. To make things worse the owner told them to charge us $290,000 per night when we checked out, she said the $230,000 was a mistake by the check in person and we would have to pay the $290,000 per night price. So they ended raising our price by $110,000 per night by the time we checked out. So needless to say I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!! BEWARE!! IF YOU DO STAY GET EVERYTHING IN WRITTING.

  • Liked — The staff was very nice but the owner is not trustworthy.
  • Disliked — The noise from the nightclub and the owner!!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank latinman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 July 2006

The manager Rigoberto is very friendly but is never around to help out or answer questions. The room I stayed in was dirty and I found old underwear under the bed. Nasty! There was no hot water during the day. There is road work going on to construct the metro and the water is turned off every day with no back up. There is a wide range of much better appointed and well run hotels in this range. Not recommended! Good luck

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cali hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#36 of 90 in Cali
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piaro In
Hotel Piaro In
#45 of 90 in Cali
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imbanaco Cali
Hotel Imbanaco Cali
#31 of 90 in Cali
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Metropolis Plaza
0.8 mi away
Jardin Azul
Jardin Azul
#15 of 90 in Cali
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Granada Real
Hotel Granada Real
#82 of 90 in Cali
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Fernando Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Fernando Real Hotel

Property: San Fernando Real Hotel
Address: Calle 5b 1 36- 40 | Lado Occidental Del Estadio de Futbol Pascual Guerrero, Cali 760042, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Fernando Real Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your San Fernando Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Fernando Real Cali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing