We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic good option and well located”
Review of Hotel Sartor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sartor
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Gentle and honest staff,

In the case you need to manage your traveling budget without sacrificing security, feel confident to stay there. I stayed in small room with fan no air conditioning (I personally hate being under AC). All were OK and I saved some traveling money :)

For tourists it is well located, not only because of secure surroundings, but also for being located in nice social area in Cali, so you can get many options around to hang out, to dance, to eat, etc even by walking - when no transport, then more savings ;)

There is always options to pay for luxuries and facilities in big cities but of course it costs.If you looking for fancy hotel then look somewhere else and be willing to pay five times more or higher than this one (~USD 25 per night).

Last thing, Cali its a nice city to visit, full of energy, wonderful people and one of my favorite places to visit.

Room Tip: You can choose options with fan instead air conditioner and deal for multiple accommodation if you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teleduardo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

The hotel and the room itself look OK, but there were a lot of problems with this place. Quite honestly, I was shocked other people have given it such high ratings.

In September 2010, the price for a single room with no air conditioning is only 40.000 pesos a night, but I've stayed in other places in Colombia with similar pricing and they were much nicer. The biggest problem here is that it's almost impossible to escape the noise because there's a central open area and all the rooms are around it. Voices and any other noise carries to all areas. And, there's actually a dog that lives in the hotel, and he can bark at any time.

The bathrooms are very old and need to be completely refurbished. There always seemed to be water on the bathroom floor. Water leaked from the drains under the sink, from underneath the toilet, and even from the shower with the curtain closed. You can't walk in the bathroom with shoes because you'll leave dirty footprints everywhere. There always seemed to be 2 or 3 ants in the bed somewhere. They never were actually on me, but always seemed to be there.

The rooms that cost 40.000 pesos are only suitable for one person. The bed is a twin size, and the sheets aren't the proper size for the bed. The fitted sheet on the bottom was too small, and pulled away from the mattress, leaving the
mattress exposed. In the morning, I found myself sleeping at least part-way on the bare mattress.

The problem with the rooms that don't have air conditioning is that there is a permanently open window above the door with louvers and screen coverings which lets in all noise. When I checked in, the girl told me if I close the main window of the room I wouldn't be able to hear anything from outside, but you can't close the window above the door. I slept with earplugs, but it was still difficult. People walk past your room talking and laughing and the noise comes right in, as if there were no window at all. Noise won't be as bad if you get a room with air conditioning, but the price escalates quickly if you take one of those rooms.

On the plus side, the room does have cable TV with many international channels, including from France and Italy. There's also a phone and hot water. Water pressure and temperature was never a problem while I was there. There's also a free internet terminal in the lobby. The bed was comfortable.

The best thing about this hotel is the location; the Granada neighborhood is the best neighborhood in Cali for foreign visitors. It's close to many restaurants and clubs, plus it's a relatively safe area. In the same neighborhood, I have stayed at Hotel Windsor, which is double the price, but probably was worth the difference. I looked at rooms in Hotel Nevada which I will try next time (they had rooms with air conditioning that cost only slightly more than Sartor rooms that came only with a fan).

The owner and staff were very nice here, but once was enough for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I took a cab for an hour (20'000 pesos) and toured the hotels and apartments in Granada, Cali, Colombia. I chose this hotel.

This hotel is good (single room 40'000 pesos). I negotiated a room with a big bed for 60'000 Pesos (about 30 USD) a night. Some rooms are better than others. You have to choose one that is not on the side of the street if you don't like noise.

I got good A/C plus a ceiling fan. Cable TV and hot water. plus a good table + 2 chairs for eating or computer.

Plus it is 2 blocks from Juan Valdez Granada and all the classy restaurants and also two block from Avenida Sexta and its bars, restaurants and discos (more working class). Yet, you have to know that the nightlife in these 2 areas (and in the rest of Cali and most of Colombia for that matter) is not good if you are alone or with a male friend since women (almost) never go out unaccompanied. They are usually always with male friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The hotel is clean and well located, but very noisy. You can hear everything. For me, the worst part was that they didn't have hot water even though they were supposed to. They told us we had to wait because many people were showering at the same time. We waited forever, and the hot water never came.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria123T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

It's cheap, well located... In the north of cali.........................................................................................

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LeidyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: buenas habitaciones en la ultima planta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Buscar habitaciones que no den hacia la calle para descansar mas tranquilo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank FRANCISCO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cali hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel H21 Cali
Hotel H21 Cali
#77 of 92 in Cali
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuchatel Cali
Hotel Neuchatel Cali
#48 of 92 in Cali
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#86 of 92 in Cali
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#30 of 92 in Cali
55 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jardin Azul
Jardin Azul
#17 of 92 in Cali
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Jaime Hotel
Don Jaime Hotel
#41 of 92 in Cali
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sartor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sartor

Address: Avenida 8 Norte # 20-50 | Granada, Cali 760046, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sartor 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sartor offers excellent budget accommodation in Cali in one of the most desirable areas of the city. It is located within walking distance to Cali's main commercial and shopping districts (Granada, 6th Avenue and Chipichape shopping centre) and a wide array of restaurants and bars are easily accessible from the Hotel. Our rooms have private bathroom, hot water, Cable TV, phone, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access.The Hotel also features a TV lounge with satellite channels, computers with free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Sartor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing