We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
101
32
9
7
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
32
9
7
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding plannerbeautiful hotelold cityjunior suitenice poolwalled cityperfect locationangievendors
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I would give overall a great review to this hotel. The setting is gorgeous, the food is very good and the staff is kind and ready to help. I found a few things that would substantially improve the quality of the stay. First, the place is gorgeous but there were some cheap looking elements in the room that made it look, well, cheap (aluminum frames for the bathroom door, IKEA like clothes frame instead of a proper closet...). There was a broken mirror in the room that fell right when my daughter went by (no accidents fortunately). And the staff was not very coordinated, which meant we had to insist on a couple of occasions to be served at the restaurant or have something delivered to the room. I know these sound like " high maintenance" comments, but since this hotel is aiming at being top notch, then these things need to be addressed for it to get an " excellent" review.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

As soon as you walk in the look on your face would be one of wow. This is a beautiful boutique hotel in the central historic district. We were greeted with welcome drinks and even though we got their early they were able to accommodate us with early check in. Our room was nice had a view of the pool. The hotel gives us a sense of being taken back to time. The breakfast, dinner and drinks are great. Jose was our everyday waiter it was a pleasure talking with him about food, culture, school, family most important about life. The staff and service at the hotel was great. On two occasion the front desk clerk allowed me to use her phone to confirm a tour and also pick from the hotel to the airport. O would defiantly highly recommend to stay at this place. We would defiantly stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This historic mansion turned hotel boutique is absolutely amazing. We had our wedding cocktail and reception there on September 1, 2017 and also stayed there 5 nights with 20 of our family and friends. The staff are very friendly and kind and provide excellent service. The hotel is very clean and the restaurant offers one of the best dishes in Cartagena. The team at El Marques coordinated perfectly with our wedding planner, production, decoration, and florist vendors among many others. The service during the wedding was exceptional, the place looked beautiful, and all together it was an amazing night. During our five day stay, we enjoyed the beautiful rooms, the delicious food, great service and the location which is prime in the historic wall city a.k.a. "El Centro".

Room Tip: The suite and the junior suites are amazing and very spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aydin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We had a terrific time at El Marques for our 20th wedding anniversary with friends. The rooms were unique, luxurious and romantic. Superb staff, all about enhancing the customer experience. Ah, and the food..! This was one of my best experiences at a hotel ever.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My (new!) wife and I recently had our wedding reception at El Marques, and so reserved the entire hotel for several days. It was fantastic and all of our guests loved it. The rooms were perfect, the staff was friendly, the food far exceeded our expectations, and all of the people who worked there were committed to ensuring that we had a nice, relaxing wedding with our friends. John and Angie, both managers, and the chefs, all get high marks. Highly recommended for an event or a weekend get away. We'll definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The room on the 200 floor closest to the pool, and the room on the 300 floor facing the street, were the best.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claytonsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews