We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cartagena: not what we expect from a restaurant of this chain”

La Bodeguita Del Medio
Ranked #539 of 683 Restaurants in Cartagena
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cartagena: not what we expect from a restaurant of this chain”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited this place hoping to find some good Cuban food for dinner unfortunatelly the meal wasn't good, the traditional rice w beans had certainly been reheated a couple times and had no taste at all, meat was just OK, waitress saw we didnt eat the rice but didnt care at allthar explained why the place was completly empty and 2 women who went in gave up after quick glance at the atmosphere and cold service... I cant recommend Cartagena's Bodeguita, according to my husband the one in Budapest is a completely different story.
* very good mojito anyways

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    39
    36
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice decor and food, poor service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This small restaurant is well located, there is nice atmosphere with Cuban music and decor. The food was really good but the prices are quite high given that this is not a gastronomic restaurant. We were a little bit disapointed by the service which was not friendly and helpful at all. However we would come back to taste again Cuban cuisine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nothing amazing”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Smelly, small, bad service and moody employees. Nothing to do with the real one.

Excesive cost - benefit. Drinks were lower than average ( we ask for their mohitos). Food was simple and just fine. The place havr some old cuban pictures, enhanced by cuban salsa. Howerver its a tiny spot with just a few tables. I still wonder where the kitchen was.

All around, tipical turist place with a high price for a low overall quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Colombia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice, cozy, a bit too leftish...”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The place does its best at being Cuban, communist and having good food, and it does it pretty nicely. They have Cuban music (Son Cubano) and very nice food, and it's pretty cozy. We've been there many times with my wife and always go again. Definitely one of the more interesting places in the Cartagena Walled City.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank carlosfpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check the pictures on the wall”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We visited this restaurant for a late lunch or early dinner. We wanted to try the ropa vieja. We were the only persons and the service was really good like the food as well. Of course, the restaurant like the most in Cartagena is a little more expensive than other areas of Colombia. This restaurant would not be my first choice but the mohitos and ropa vieja were really good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tavonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodeguita Del Medio also viewed

Bolivar Department, Colombia
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Bodeguita Del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing