We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dripping with charm”
Review of Casa Quero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Quero
Ranked #3 of 157 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galloway Twp, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dripping with charm”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Bed and Breakfast is in a great location. To say it is lovely and clean is an understatement. But it is the staff here that makes Casa Quero so exceptional. They were so extraordinarily helpful. They went absolutely above and beyond for us when we encountered a few travelling issues. This is a beautiful gem of a hotel, and should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelisdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    20
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
90
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY, USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed five nights at Casa Quero in March, in the Junior Balcony Suite.

Arrival: We arrived mid-afternoon on a Saturday, choosing to have the hotel car and driver come and collect us at the airport. After a 10-minute drive, we were in the heart of the old city at the steps to Casa Quero. Upon entering, we were given a delicious and refreshing fruit juice while we were checked in. The lobby is beautiful: it's outdoor/indoor with a nice area where breakfast is served, along with several couches and a fun little toucan.

Room: Our room was very spacious, with an extremely large semi-outdoor shower. The bed linens and all fixtures were top-notch, including a very strong air conditioner. There are about six rooms in the hotel, but it's very quiet; and there was only one other couple there during our stay, so it felt very intimate.

Pool: The roof of Casa Quero is one of the best parts of the hotel: it's equipped with a wonderful pool, several chaises and a couch. It's the perfect place to spend an afternoon after sight-seeing or to have a cocktail at dusk. We spent time here every day.

Service: I would rate the service at Casa Quero as some of the best I've ever encountered at any hotel anywhere in the world. Everyone from the check-in person to the chefs were extremely courteous and helpful. We had lunch and dinner made for us in the hotel -- made to order, whatever we wanted; in fact, we requested something based on Juliette's suggestion and she went to the market to purchase the ingredients. The staff are not at all intrusive, yet are still at your disposal. If you speak Spanish, it's probably helpful. They helped us book our trip to Islas Rosario and gave frequent advice.

Other: The hotel has bicycles which we used a couple times and were greatly appreciated. The location is right in the heart of the old city and convenient to all the restaurants and areas of interest. Daily breakfast is perfect: fruit, eggs made to order and a fresh juices. All the food features delicious Colombian specialties.

Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recommend staying here, and will definitely stay here again when I go back to Cartagena. The room rate might seem a bit high, but it is well worth it. Casa Quero is a fantastic retreat, made for a great vacation and was a wonderfully memorable overall experience.

Room Tip: Balcony Junior Suite was perfect for us as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelMfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

probably would be 41/2 stars if i could have done that ...the rooms are spacious and lovely.. so well appointed.. the beauty of this place is the staff who works here.. i was working on a speech and luisa at the front desk helped me translate it into spanish.. she obviously likes what she does and she is happy to help.. the breakfast was simple and delicious.. the rest of the staff was polite, helpful with a great attitude... and it is right in the old part of the city.. our only complaint was that there was only a shower and no bathtub to wash the heat of the day off... but they were happy to upgrade our room and we are completely satisfied here

Room Tip: the grand suite is so much better than the junior suite and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Casa Quero is a lovely B&B-style hotel in an excellent location in Cartagena's old city. The service was tremendous, and no request is too small or great. Luisa was happy to arrange a walking tour of the city with an English-speaking guide (among other activities), Angela was always ready with ice water and cold towels when we came back from walking around the hot city streets, and Juliet cooked some of the best meals we ate in the city.

We would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone visiting Cartagena, though there are a couple caveats to keep in mind:

--There are a few English speakers on staff, but knowing some Spanish would be helpful.
--The hotel has a number of stairs, and no elevator, so unfortunately it's not for anyone with mobility issues.
--The bikes aren't in great shape, which tends to be par for the course when it comes to free bikes for use at a hotel.
--We had some issues with internet in the room, but they really tried to help us (and of course, hopefully you're not in Cartagena to spend all your time online!).

All that said, this was really a five-star experience. Definitely the best small hotel at which we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtisDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at Casa Quero for five nights in March. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the extremely friendly Luisa, who provided us with a warm hello, fresh juice and innumerable suggestions for our time ahead in Cartagena. Throughout our stay, Luisa and Yaquelin and the rest of the wonderful staff made us feel at home, cooking us delicious breakfasts, helping with reservations, and making sure we saw the best of the city

We stayed in Junior Suite Balcones, which was very spacious and had great light. The small balconies opened onto an interior courtyard, and the room was very quiet. The bathroom in particular was spectacular, with an enormous and sky-lit shower.

Casa Quero's pool and hammocks were great for relaxing, and we frequently had the space to ourselves.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience at the hotel. With its central location in Cartagena's charming old city, it provided easy access to all that we wanted to see and served as a wonderful place to return to each afternoon and evening. We highly recommend the hotel and would happily return again.

Con gusto,
Emmy & Michael

Room Tip: Junior Suite Balcones was spacious, full of light and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

At our arrival at Casa Quero, the personal welcomes you with fresh squeezed lemonade, and fresh towels, great attitude and a big smile.
The place has the ambience of a mansion that has been modernize taking care of every detail.
The traditional breakfast is abundant and delicious. Ask Conce to teach you how to make the Colombians eggs arepas (Awesome flavor)
The place is very quiet, if you are ready to relax I will recommend it in a heart beat. And walking distance from every corner and restaurants inside the old City.
I believe that if you are going from Miami, is better to stay inside the forts, the beach is not that clean, and numerous streets merchants.
The old city is Magic, full of carriages, and no traffic; romantic, colorful and musical. Cartagena is a place to go at least once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gisela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Casa Quero is a beautiful place run by caring and helpful people. We could not have been happier with our recent stay.

Louisa was our host for much of our two-day visit, and she greeted us at the door of this historic property as we were handed cold wet washcloths and strawberry smoothies. We relaxed in a large and welcoming lobby area while Luisa completed the paperwork.

She and another hotel employee proudly showed us to our rooms. Our daughters were very impressed with their smaller suite, and my wife and I were very pleasantly surprised by the large suite to which we were assigned. It had ceilings of at least 30 feet, a huge and attractive bathroom, a very comfortable bed, an alcove featuring a religious statue, and modern TV and stereo features.

The room's shutters opened to a flower-adorned balcony that overlooked the street. One word of caution: there is plenty of noise from the street during the night, especially when parties erupt at the youth hostel across the street. The hostel parties usually ended around 11, which wasn't bad.

Outside of our room on the hallway side was a pleasant covered outdoor seating area with comfortable chairs, a coffee table and hammocks. We used this area for relaxing a couple of times during our stay, as we did with a larger lobby/relaxation area downstairs.

Location-wise, this 200-plus-year-old building is right in the middle of the action. Several good restaurants are within a few blocks, some lively plazas are closely, and you can walk to any area in the old walled city without having to use a car or cab. I was impressed by the way Luisa would walk us out to the street and make sure we saw where we needed to go to get somewhere.

I wish the hotel's website had more information about the history of the building. It seems like it was a residence that included a chapel, but we don't know for sure.

Louisa was very willing to help with ordering taxis and vehicles. We were disappointed, however, that a car the hotel arranged for our five-hour trip to near Tayrona National Park was far too small for our family of four and our luggage.

The hotel is very secure, with large wooden doors which can only be opened from within after you ring a doorbell. The staff would greet us at the door each time we returned. We felt very safe in all the places we walked in Cartagena's old city area.

Rooms at the Casa Quero include made-to-order breakfasts, which for us usually consisted of eggs, ham, Colombian breads, juice, fresh fruit and coffee. I noticed, however, that other guests ordered breakfasts consisting of rice and shrimp, so the are obviously other options. Our Spanish is very limited, so communicating at mealtime was sometimes a problem.

The restaurant area is only open at breakfast, but they allowed us to sit there and have pizza from a place across the street on our final day right before departure.

Cannot say enough about the clean, beautiful atmosphere of this place or the helpful attitude of the staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Street noise is an issue for rooms to the front of the hotel. Though rooms to the back seem as if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Quero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quero

Property: Casa Quero
Address: Carrera 9 53 | centro hitorico, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Quero 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century Colonial manor house, Casa Quero was part of the legendary Count Quero estate. When converted into an exclusive and intimate boutique hotel, none of the historical values of this Colonial jewel were lost. Located inside the historic walled city of Cartagena (declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site), this elegantly restored property offers seven charming and intimate bedrooms on four levels, each spacious and distinct in décor. Well-lit rooms are traditional in style with modern amenities and delightful views of the city from the charming flowered balconies. Enjoy a swim in the rooftop pool with its breathtaking panoramic views of the Hill of la Popa and the dome of San Pedro. Take a bike ride through the historic city and return to a relaxing spa treatment. Lastly, take part in the unique cooking classes where guests, alongside award-winning chefs, can create amazing seafood dishes and capture the essence of Caribbean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Quero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing