We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive & Romantic -- The best way to spend a weekend in Cartagena”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Quero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Quero
Ranked #3 of 160 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive & Romantic -- The best way to spend a weekend in Cartagena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I first heard about this hotel through a friend and was a bit skeptical staying in a small boutique hotel. As soon as we entered the hotel we knew we made the right choice...the atrium when you walk in and the lounge areas on the main floor. they even have a toucan in the entry way. i wasn't sure what to expect in the room but was surprised with a flat screen tv and a bose stereo system. our favorite part was to spend the afternoon on the top floor pool deck having a daiquiri watching the sunset. great location to spend the day touring..can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justinbmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    20
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
84
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

As experienced travelers, we did a significant amount of hotel research before booking our trip to Cartagena (friends, online reviews, website, and travel agencies). There are a growing number of boutique hotels in Cartagena (I have stayed in a few of them including Aqua, Pestagua and El Marquez) making it harder and harder to find true hotel gems. Casa Quero, in my opinion, is that hidden gem in Cartagena...a hotel where we can honestly say "It Felt Like Home."

Upon entering Casa Quero, we were greeted by the “Casa Quero Family" who ensured, day by day, that we had a truly magnificent stay. The ambiance of Casa Quero is magical. The rooms were spotless, beautifully decorated and included all the amenities of modern hotels. In addition, our room had a charming balcony filled with flowers. The rooftop pool is unique with its 360 degree views of Cartagena. Breakfast (included in the price) was delicious and beautifully served. Casa Quero also has bikes for its guest (at not cost) to explore the city (which we also did). Lastly, my wife and I did the “Interactive Kitchen” at Casa Quero where we cooked delightful Caribbean dishes with one of the top chefs in Cartagena. By the end of our stay, we knew each and every one of the employees by name (and they knew ours).

Casa Quero is a unique experience…and experience we recommend to those who want to truly capture the essence of Cartagena.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaviRpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and fell in love with the city and this beautiful hotel. There are only seven rooms here so you are guaranteed personal attention and privacy. It is romantic and tranquil with an unbeatable staff. I visited some of the other hotels and restored quest houses in the city, but Casa Quero is the best of them all. Great food and huge, comfortable room. Peace in a very busting city

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We were originally at the hotel next door, which is nice, but had no closet space, and the rooms felt way tiny. Our hotel walked us next door when we complained to Casa Quero and we moved there immediately.

Much more spacious - they must have taken over 3 or 4 old homes to re/do this place, but it is AMAZING. They offer Jr. suites or full suites and either has plenty of space,plus a nice sized dining room , lots of outdoor seating and many lounge like areas for getting some sun, reading, or visiting.

The food was nice for breakfast and the staff was very attentive. The young woman who manages the place is very pleasant and bilingual too.

Our friends that we met at the first hotel came to visit us and they were jealous of all the room we had at Casa Quero! Plus is was a mere 30 bucks more for our Jr. Suite then the room had been at the other place.

Casa Quero is really a darling place, with LOTS of room, so you do not feel like you are living out of a suitcase, and great service, and great staff. You cannot beat it!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Quero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Quero

Property: Casa Quero
Address: Carrera 9 53 | centro hitorico, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Quero 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century Colonial manor house, Casa Quero was part of the legendary Count Quero estate. When converted into an exclusive and intimate boutique hotel, none of the historical values of this Colonial jewel were lost. Located inside the historic walled city of Cartagena (declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site), this elegantly restored property offers seven charming and intimate bedrooms on four levels, each spacious and distinct in décor. Well-lit rooms are traditional in style with modern amenities and delightful views of the city from the charming flowered balconies. Enjoy a swim in the rooftop pool with its breathtaking panoramic views of the Hill of la Popa and the dome of San Pedro. Take a bike ride through the historic city and return to a relaxing spa treatment. Lastly, take part in the unique cooking classes where guests, alongside award-winning chefs, can create amazing seafood dishes and capture the essence of Caribbean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Quero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing