We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was going great and then it was spoilt.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Ranked #71 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was going great and then it was spoilt.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were roomed in one of the recently converted rooms on the 9th floor, so the it was great as it also had sea view. The toilet was not refurbished, therefore didn't match the room's standard. Also we had buffet breakfast included which was better than expected, with a good variety. On the service side, all was going well until the 4th night that there was a wedding on the floor on top of our room. We complained about the noise as we couldn't sleep. Lots of promises to do something and assurances that the party would end soon, none of which materialised. All other customer service experiences were good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DValyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    221
    143
    38
    22
See reviews for
158
226
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Imagine a 2012 mercedes benz but with a 1999 old interior; in other words..rooms are less than desirable. Our room AC had to be fixed twice. The amount of wear and tear in the bathroom is just breath taking and dangerous if you had kids. Ceiling lights with some rust, I guess the staff believes because the hotel is in front of the water is ok not to paint. Rooms also looked like a college dorm ( at least mine and nothing looks like the pictures posted on their website). Construction project going on next building. Breakfast ok if you like boil sausages and watery ham..but in their own defense the cooffe is good and you may also have omelets made by order. Staff, well depends on who do you get..from adequate to not introducing themselves at all. I took several pictures to prove the staff that our room was in a deplorable condition but their response was.." lets fix the AC first then we'll see if we can talk to our manager" I was still hot in my room on top of everything else and when I ask the technician outside what's going on; he told me the unit or piping was to old and it was leaking. Waited forever for the manager in the loby..I got tired suck it up for another night and left Cartagena. Some would think perhaps they are used to high living standards in the North..Well, we are actually both Latinoamericans and love to travel to Colombia and never had such a bad experience like with this hotel. Enjoy your stay!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arroyonaranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I organized a week long convention for 66 people in this hotel, inclusive of lodging, meals, and the salon, or main meeting room in September 2013. Overall we were pleased with how things went. I wanted to add a special note that the meeting coordinator Esther, and Hotel Manager Mario bent over backwards to help our stay be pleasurable and workable.
The maids, maintenance, and service staff in the dining area were always willing to help and make our stay enjoyable. We were satisfied with our experience, and for the price we have no complaints. Thanks Regatta and staff!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Caribbean Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tshdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were able to book this hotel at the last minute and stayed 2 nights. The rooms are large, bed is comfortable, good AC, decent breakfast buffet and located across from the beach in the Bocagrande area.
I didn't like that you would hear construction early in the morning, as they are building next door and they had the electric off for FOUR hours one day! Unbelievable as it was hot and this is a high rise building so no elevator service! The only compensation they offered was a courtesy pass on the "Hop on, Hop off" bus. The problem with the courtesy pass that was given is you could not "hop on and hop off!"
Very few of the staff speaks English, Roberto being the exception, who was helpful. "Concierge" of no assistance. Several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very pleased with the large room, breakfast, and location. Beds were comfortable and AC worked great. Had a lovely beach view and the pool was a great place to cool off.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekguy1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Was there a in April 2013. We got a room on the fourth floor that smelled awful. They were renovating the whole floor and started working before 07.00. We got to change room three day later. They hardly understod any English except for the Bell boy. Bad logistics! They had to be three in the reception to be able to take a decision. They were not helpful to my female colombian friends.They are buildning a new hotel next to the Regatta so be aware of noice. Slow elevators. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor on this hotel. The air doesn't circulate on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyWStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Despite the hotel at first glance look very nice, located in fancy Bocagrande and just some steps away from the beach I must say that the staff is unpleasant and even rude. Be careful with the hidden charges specially when ordering something to eat in the room, the room service is three times they say in the brochure, and the prices are not the ones they say in their menues. If you ask for details on the bill they will ignore you, eventually they will print the detail of the bill but even the detailed bill is confuse. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be well treated and have in general a pleasant, relaxing experience in Cartagena.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 153 in Cartagena
1,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 153 in Cartagena
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Lux Hotel
Atlantic Lux Hotel
#65 of 153 in Cartagena
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
#28 of 153 in Cartagena
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regatta Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regatta Cartagena

Property: Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Address: Avenida El Malecon Carrera 1 No. 5-82, Bocagrande, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Regatta Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel for business trips, family vacations, honey moons and much more... We are located in Bocagrande in front of one of the best beaches in Cartagena (just a few steps away). We are now part of 'by L'alianXa' an hotel chain at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regatta Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing