We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a one of a kind volcanic mud-bath!”

Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.60*
and up
Totumo Volcano and Mud Baths Day Trip from Cartagena
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“This is a one of a kind volcanic mud-bath!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a one of a kind volcanic mud-bath!
According to legend the volcano used to spew forth lava and ash until a priest who believed it to be the work of the Devil poured in holy water to banish him. Since then it has been oozing forth mud the consistency of yoghurt so dense that it is impossible to sink. Try it!
I attempted to swim, roll, submerge myself It cannot be done; you just float. Then I receive a relaxing message from one of the attendants inside the crater before going down to the lake to wash off, helped by some local ladies, I had mud everywhere. The extra attention only cost an extra $3000 pesos each. A bargain even at twice the price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    377
    207
    84
    85
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lying in the mud”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

One experience that I will never forget from this trip was a visit to the mud pool at Volcan del Totumo. I did some prior research on this excursion, and read that it would be to my benefit to go later in the day to miss the “mud rush hours.” I hired an amazing translator, Rafael Herrera, rafaeloso89@yahoo.com, and we took a private car instead of taking a tour bus. This was a good decision.

When it was my turn to lie in the mud, I had one of the most unusual experiences of my life, but one of the coolest. Never the less, I was lying in a pool of mud at the crater of a small volcano. The most interesting part to me was that you could float in the mud without sinking. After lying there for a while, I was given an included massage that relaxed me even more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 3FLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It's definitely worth going here. I had a lot of fun with this unique experience. We paid 35000 cop for bus and entrance. Your valuables are stored in a locker. If you want you can give yur camera to a guy who takes about 15 pictures off you. In the end you'll pay him 3000cop. In the bath itself you'll be covered in mud and for 3000cop you can get a 10 minute massage. Afterwards they wash you in the nearby lake where you walk to. You'll pay the ladies another 3000cop. Be aware that they take of your swimware! The mud feels thick and soft. A great expience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It was very uniques experience to bath in a volcano. Space was limited so and they try their best for a VIP servie. After you come out you literally walk to a nearby creek to bath where there will he women to help you do do.Its a very small community that thrives on this tourism

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must-do!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

This was certainly a unique & fun experience! The volcano itself is relatively small in size but the mud is very therapeutic and works wonders for your skin. However, you have to take change to pay the guys that give the massages in the pit, the guy that takes pictures (with your camera) from the top of the pit, and for the ladies that "wash" you in the nearby lagoon. The lagoon's water is very murky and has an abject smell but it is the best way to get rid of the mud. Definitely recommend this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank glara28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano) also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Volcan de Lodo El Totumo (Mud Volcano)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing