We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #11 of 163 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“great Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had spent 2 nights here as part of a package tour and then returned for a further 4 days on my own. I experienced 2 rooms this way. The rooms were not large but were clean and cleaned daily, towels replaced and bed made up ( same sheets). Both rooms were air conditioned and had ceiling fans. What I really liked was the location in Getsemani and the very friendly and helpful staff. The owner & her son speak english ( my spanish is very poor) but all the staff were helpful and accommodating. What capped it was late checkout (1.00) which they extended to 3.00 for me at no charge as I had a late flight out and needed a cool retreat and shower before heading to the airport. Friendly, welcoming, helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    88
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
83
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel you can find in Getsemaní. My boyfriend and I had spend several nights at other places, and were running desperate to find something better, since most places here in Cartagena is either way over priced, dirty or as we feel the biggest problem in this city is - they are very unfriendly. After searching the web and walking around the city for two days we were so lucky to find Hotel Villa Colonial. Prices here are very reasonable compared to everything else in this city, and just as you walk into the hotel you are always welcomed by the lovely staff. They are the most friendly people we have met in Cartagena. They let us use their kitchen, which was an important factor for us , since we are on a special diet, and we got the nicest room with a view over the terrace where we could eat breakfast and sunbathe every morning. Our room was cleaned every day, we even got clean sheets every day.
The location is great, right in the heart of Getsemaní, in walking distance to everything. By living outside of the walled city, you get to experience more of the real Colombia, which we think is great. I felt very safe here, and did not have a problem walking home after dark, or taking a morning run in the park. This is definately the place to stay while in Cartagena!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amelliya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here almost a week. They have multiple places which are very close to each other. We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. We had a room on the second floor, next to the balcony with fan for 70,000 pesos (around $35) which is great value for the quality you get. They have a kitchen so you can prepare your own food and breakfast as it is not included. They have 2 computers in the main lobby which function quite well. The only issue was the wifi which did not seem to function often for some reason. Overall, a great place to stay in Cartegena which is my favourite city in Colombia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Evaluation is for a ground-floor fan-room with a medium-large, good Samsung flat-screen-TV.
My conclusion might sound worse than I actually thought it was, but here are the facts:
room was overall clean but with some stains on the bedsheet (which I don´t mind too much),
room did smell unpleasantly scruffy, even though they had put some desodeorant to counter that. I did see a tiny cockroach/cucaracha which also didn´t bother me too much as I´ve had much worse. What DID bother me, was, that the room was hot and there was no real ventilation
of fresh air. Room was cleaned the first day -although bed-sheet not changed- but wasn´t on the second day - I had left the room between 8 and 11 a.m. and than again after five p.m., and it seems that just missed the room-cleaners hours. What for me showed the real attitude of
the place was, that when I got back in the evening, the fan had been turned off (which I had left on, hoping it would help against the heat and the smell) but neither the towel changed, the bed made nor new toilet paper (which was out) put in place. When I reported it to the night-shift doorman, he was so kind as to change the sheets and towel and give me new toilet-paper. So, some of the staff were friendly some not so much...
Resume: for expensive Cartagena it´s a financially good deal - the place is overall nice, and I´m sure the air-con-rooms upstairs are a much nicer experience.
The room I had is only recommended for not-so-picky budget
experienced travellers,

Room Tip: Definetely not ground-floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalhobolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as this was the decent but affordable place in Cartagena.
It is in Gestemani, a 10 minute walk to the middle of town
But, quite lively. Rooms are small and claustrophobic due to the lack of windows - but thats true of any rooms in Carta.
Staff, quite friendly and helpful. The owner lady and her son - who is the only english speaking person - very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed over there for New Year's.

Cons:
The hotel is ok, but the rooms are small and outdated. On top of that, the bathrooms from different rooms connect at the top and you can hear absolutely everything that goes on the other room. No hot water, but it is Cartagena and you probably won't miss it. A bit out of the way of the downtown scene, but close to the Fort and the rest of Getsemani. Good enough for young people or someone looking for a place to crash.

Pros:
The staff, Mrs. Marta and family, are absolutely ADORABLE and will go way out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Katerine, one of the managers, is also super sweet.

When we arrived, a group of 15 young Dutch boys arrived the same evening, making our stay unbearable because of the noise. Mrs. Marta promptly gave us a free "upgrade" to another one of their properties, across the street. That one (Casa Villa Colonial, I think) is like a private house with 4 rooms, that share a kitchen and a living room. Much nicer and quieter. They also gave us access to the pool in yet another hotel they own nearby. They also arranged several tours for us at a reasonable price.

My veredict? If you are traveling with friends and don't mind a bit of noise (and lack of privacy), it is ok and affordable. Place is clean and the food is good. If you are looking for something more cozy and romantic, I would recommend Casa Villa Colonial or the other one, with the pool. In any way, they are extremely nice people that work very hard to make your stay good. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hotel Villa Colonial,

After a big mistake where they double booked our rooms nothing to complain. I could recommend a room with a/c cause there is no natural airflow in this hotel. They have free wifi with is great althoud it is nit really stable. The location is great in a real backpackers district and not far from the old city center. The hostess was really freindly and they have a nice roof terrace.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiaan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#59 of 155 in Cartagena
424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#18 of 155 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#46 of 155 in Cartagena
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Pueblito Playa
Hotel Pueblito Playa
#60 of 155 in Cartagena
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#72 of 155 in Cartagena
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Property: Hotel Villa Colonial
Address: Getsemani, Calle de las Maravillas no 30 - 60, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing