We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, cramped, grungy. Did I mention loud?”
Review of Hotel Marlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marlin
Ranked #106 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

I would rather sleep on the streets of the Getsemani than stay there another night. To begin with, I made a reservation over the phone and both the room and price agreements were not upheld. The rooms are cramped and grungy and the shower curtains should be bathed in bleach. The wifi only works if you are standing in the lobby. The fan was rickety and squeaky and made tons of noise all night. The ceiling was literally patched up with bandaids. The noise from the street and surrounding clubs was so loud that coupled with the fan we got the worst nights sleep of our lives. Unless you are partying so hard that you are just going to pass out wasted somewhere, don't stay here. There are tons of better options around for a similar price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo quiero agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros,ofrecemos disculpas por las incomodidades generadas durante su estadía, por lo que se tomaran inmediatamente los correctivos con el fin de brindar una mejor calidad de servicio,nuestros huéspedes son muy importante para nosotros, agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias para mejorar la calidad y el servicio del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have reserved a Matrimonial room and when we arrived we got a small humble room, not very expensive and with privet bathroom and shower has a nice team of workers, that helps if you ask them. There is a good breakfast every day, the lady that prepares it is also nice, and you can make your own food here and pretty much feel free to do anything you want (that is legal!).
Basically what was difficult is the small rooms that have no real window to the out side street, there are ventilation holes that make the air move but there will be no view for you to look at.The windows are to the inside in most rooms.
There is Wifi down stairs .
Overall- a nice place to stay in, and safe!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo me gustaria agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros y expresarle que estamos muy contentos por el tiempo que se tomo para hacer el comentario, sus opiniones son muy importantes para nosotros, tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios y sugerencias las cuales nos servirán en nuestro proceso de mejora y calidad de servicio, esperamos verla/o muy pronto de regreso y recuerde que siempre tendrá con nosotros el mejor servicio en la ciudad de Caratagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here in January for 1 night. It's well located close to everything in Getsemani and the price was OK (80,000 COP per night). However our room was very small (just fit a double bed and tiny bathroom and nothing else). It does have a balcony area where you can sit and read or do internet which is good (to get your out of the cramped rooms!). I booked online and then tried several times to email them to tell them I wanted to change my booking but they never replied -and when I arrive they had cancelled by booking altogether - so the service isn't great! However luckily they had a room for us. Overall it's a decent place and well-priced if you need to stay a night or two in Cartagena but not if you need to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo quiero agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros y expresarle que estamos muy contentos por el tiempo que se tomo para hacer los comentarios, sus opiniones son muy importantes para nosotros, tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios y sugerencias, los cuales nos servirán en nuestro proceso de mejora de calidad y servicio, esperamos verlo pronto de regreso y recuerde que siempre tendrá con nosotros el mejor servicio de la ciudad de Cartagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We paid COP 100.000 for a private double room, just with a fan and without a window (high season). The fan is noisy, wifi did not work in the room and the toilet seat was missing!! We informed kindly the staff that there is no toilet seat in our room. However, nothing happened, except of a very unfriendly response. They are clearly taking advantage of the fact, that all the hostel are fully booked and guests have to take one of their rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xx_Lene_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo quiero agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros,ofrecemos disculpas por las incomodidades generadas durante su estadía, por lo que se tomaran inmediatamente los correctivos con el fin de brindar una mejor calidad de servicio,nuestros huéspedes son muy importante para nosotros, agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias para mejorar la calidad y el servicio del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hostel is a bargain, it's half the price they charge at Media Luna next door. Staff were really friendly and a great location, only 5 minutes walk to the old town. Get air con if you can, it's absolutely roasting in there without it! Only bad thing is the gimps that hang about on the road outside trying to sell you snide coke which gets annoying but that's not the hotels fault at all.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo me gustaria agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros y expresarle que estamos muy contentos por el tiempo que se tomo para hacer el comentario, sus opiniones son muy importantes para nosotros, tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios y sugerencias las cuales nos servirán en nuestro proceso de mejora y calidad de servicio, esperamos verla/o muy pronto de regreso y recuerde que siempre tendrá con nosotros el mejor servicio en la ciudad de Caratagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with air conditioning and a fan for 70,000 the first night and then 60,000 for the rest of the week...included scrambled egg breakfast. Rooms at the back of the hostel offer a quiet place to sleep. The private rooms have a bathroom with a shower in them. Staff are friendly and you can book tours from the hostel for a discounted price. They have wifi and two computers to use in the lobby. The rooms were cheaper than that of other hostels in the near by area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlwithasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo me gustaria agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros y expresarle que estamos muy contentos por el tiempo que se tomo para hacer el comentario, sus opiniones son muy importantes para nosotros, tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios y sugerencias las cuales nos servirán en nuestro proceso de mejora y calidad de servicio, esperamos verla/o muy pronto de regreso y recuerde que siempre tendrá con nosotros el mejor servicio en la ciudad de Caratagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We arrived after dark to hotel marlin. The service at check in was not very good. No one spoke English, and there seemed to be a lot of confusion at the front desk. Our room was very dark, the a/c stopped working after a few hours and then when we asked for a discount the employee pretended he didn't understand what we were saying...and he didn't fix anything. Then after a lot of going back and forth he started writing out full sentences to us. He agreed to see about a discount. We woke up in the morning with no power in our room. Ours was the only one and once again he pretended he couldn't understand us when we tried to have it fixed. Then the employee left without ever tellin anyone else about the problem...horrible service and expensive. Totally not worth it!! Much better places out there!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo quiero agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros,ofrecemos disculpas por las incomodidades generadas durante su estadía, por lo que se tomaran inmediatamente los correctivos con el fin de brindar una mejor calidad de servicio,nuestros huéspedes son muy importante para nosotros, agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias para mejorar la calidad y el servicio del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Getsemani
#137 of 158 in Cartagena
2 reviews
1 mi away
Coccoloba Hostel
Coccoloba Hostel
#111 of 220 in Cartagena
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Hostal Cartagena - Getsemani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Victoria
Hostal Casa Victoria
#91 of 171 in Cartagena
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portal de San Antonio
Hotel Portal de San Antonio
#53 of 171 in Cartagena
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Republica Cartagena
Republica Cartagena
#21 of 220 in Cartagena
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlin

Address: Calle De La Media Luna 10-35, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 220 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: £16 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marlin 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlin is a colonial style hotel; with comfortable rooms have air conditioning, cable TV and Wi-Fi. It is located in the walled historic center of Cartagena, the hotel's excellent location allows our guests to visit only three blocks, the most attractive places in Cartagena, as the clock tower, Castillo San Felipe Castle Historical Center, convention center, the Zona Rosa, and five minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing