We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are better ones in the same street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Baluarte
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“there are better ones in the same street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

location is great. but a room with private bathroom costs the same as media luna hostel that is really near and it has pool and better acomodations. it also cost twice the price the hostel that is in front (la española) that has also kitchen and the only difference is the shower. I dont have any complain at all about the service but for half the price you can stay in a similar place and for the same price you can stay in a better one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    96
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
21
92
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed a handful of nights here and whilst the hotel was 'ok' I simply cannot recommend it due to what happened to us. We had been paying on a night by night basis, as we were not initially sure how long we were going to stay. Upon check out as we were leaving they stopped us in reception and said we still owed them a night's accommodation. They promptly produced a little book showing the outstanding amount. We explained there must be a mistake, that we had in fact paid in full already and that the girl on reception for previous days must have just not written it in the book. Could have been an honest mistake, so they called her and she denied any knowledge of receiving payment! (Of course!) We are then threatened by the hotel owner that she will CALL THE POLICE if we don't pay!!! What can you do in this situation? Face a lengthy interrogation with the police who would probably side with the hotel and its local owner or pay up? We were absolutely furious, but in the end we paid just to escape the situation, but what sort of unprofessional and ridiculous system they must have! If you stay here ASK FOR A RECEIPT after each payment. I don't know if this was a mistake by the girl or if she pocketed the money herself, but either way we felt robbed and harassed by the staff, and totally powerless to contest them. Never have we been so badly treated in any other place we have stayed.

Oh and don't even think about using the terrace to sit and enjoy a drink in the afternoon/ early evening (we brought our own as there is no bar in the hotel) The horrible lady owner (grumpy, unfriendly and condescending) stomped over to tell us that we are not allowed!! Overall this place just has a nasty vibe, unfriendly staff an would NEVER stay here again after the way we were treated! I'm sure they will read this and concoct a story to contradict ours but this is the whole truth.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LatinAmericaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Gorgeous courtyard, spotlessly clean and great location. Nice communal areas with hammocks and plants. Air con (essential in Cartagena!) and fan in our room and small en suite bathroom. Provided a welcome refuge from the heat of the town!

Avoid the waxing service - took hours and not a good job. Had to pay full amount in advance before arriving at hotel which seemed unusual.

Breakfast available at adjoining cafe though we didn't try this. Nice, polite, friendly staff but not forthcoming with information.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lp1Lp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

So the location in Getsemani is great and we got to know the local area which we loved. The hotel was not up to scratch at all. Based on the previous reviews we were really excited and felt we had found a great value place, unfortunately we were really wrong. On arrival we were asked to pay for our 6 night reservation in full, which we did. The rooms are TINY - we are not big people at all, we are very fit, but the toilet was so close to the shower you have to sit diagonally on it to use it! The place was really dusty and they were doing random construction which would start and end at strange hours - lots of banging which would wake us up. The worst bit was when we told them on the 2nd say that we wanted to check out early because we weren't happy and would like to give them 48 hours notice and checkout on day 4. They told us that 'administration' were unable to process a refund for nights 5 & 6. We thought this was really unfair as we had given them sufficient notice. After then, they only put people who couldn't speak any English on reception and we were not allowed access to the manager, so they were avoiding dealing with us. Read a bit further into previous comments and you will see that other guests have been treated this was also by the hotel. There are plenty of other lovely places in the streets surrounding this place, I.e. off the media Luna road - check them out for yourself before you make a decision on this place. They all looked lovely and advertised rates were comparable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailing_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great location near lots of bars and restaurants only 5 minutes from 'el centro' I really liked it here. Very clean and even though there's lots happening nearby its nice and quite. Slightly more expensive than some of the others on street but also with better shade which makes it cooler which was lovely. Only one hammock though which is a shame. Cafe at the front was average at best - nip over the road for better options/value.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steveslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were happily suprised when we walked into this hotel. It is filled with colonial charm. It has a nice courtyard and several beautifully furnished common areas to hang out in. We had a room with air conditioning and private bath. The rooms are small (we considered it cozy) but very well maintained and very clean. Every time we walked through the hotel we saw the maids cleaning somewhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful with advise. We highly recommend Hostal Casa Baluarte.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Graton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked this at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the location is very convenient. 5 mins walk from the old city on a street with plenty of good options to eat and drink. The cafe next door is very pleasant for breakfast/coffee, the place opposite has a lovely lunch menu and La Gaucha round the corner is great too.

Yes, the rooms are a little small and smell of damp and there isn't hot water, but value for money, I doubt you'd find a better option in Cartagena. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#27 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 168 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Baluarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Baluarte

Property: Hotel Casa Baluarte
Address: Calle de La Media Luna 10 - 81 | Getsemani, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 168 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Baluarte 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Baluarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Baluarte Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing