We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Hideaway...Sexy and Inviting”
Review of Tcherassi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tcherassi Hotel
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Secret Hideaway...Sexy and Inviting”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We were lucky enough to stay here for 3days/2 nights. The hotel is 5 mins from the airport!! You can't beat that. Fly in and be by the pool within 10 mins. This is one of most prettiest hotels I've been to. You walk through a beautiful gate and arrive at a place of beauty. You feel the sense of chicness and serenity.

The staff greets you as soon as you are at the door. A welcome drink awaits you as you are checking in. We felt welcome every second of our stay. The staff from the front desk, to the bartender to the waiters at the restaurant were there to make you feel at home. The hotel made you feel more like a guest at their home than another customer coming and going,

Amaury and Mary (front desk/concierge) are such nice people. They helped us endlessly. One day we needed some medicine from the pharmacy and they helped us to have it delivered instead of us wasting time going ourselves.

Breakfast is included. Do not miss it! I had one of my best omelets here. Service is great and they remembered what you had yesterday, so it made it even better. They are very personal to say the least.

Rooms were very modern and HUGE. The bathrooms were beautiful with skylights. The walls of the bathroom were exposed bricks with a wash of gold. Just beautiful without being harsh or gaudy.

There are three pools, one upstairs (very private) and one on the first floor by the bar and restaurant and one by the spa. They are not large, but nice enough to stay cool and just lounge around. There is also a room with your own private pool.

Oh yes, and if you really need to be connected to the outside world, there is no business center. They loan you a laptop to use within the hotel. Now this was really NICE!

On our last night, we had dinner in their restaurant. Vera. It was absolutely delicious and well priced. Again, service was impeccable.

I highly recommend this place for couple, girlfriends, friends and whoever would enjoy a beautiful vacation in a home away from home atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniceInMyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    31
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
99
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Midwest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This hotel could have what it takes to be a 5 star hotel. We loved the location and amenities of the hotel itself. Unfortunately it lagged the staff to run this hotel efficiently. We stayed for 4 nights, so long enough to give them the benefit of the doubt. Particular issues:
- Any international hotel should have room documentation in English - none at this place
- NO 24 hours room service
- Slow service for the restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner)
- Hotel closes doors at night, upon returning at night, needed to wait in street for well over 5 minutes before opening the entrance.
- We traveled with a family for a special celebration, you would think this being a boutique hotel, that some kind of acknowledgment would be made from the hotel management!

In all this place holds great promise, just the service level needs to improve, not a 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWP_Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCHERASSIHOTELS, Manager at Tcherassi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to learn you loved our amenities and hotel itself. Please note we now have both English and Spanish in-room documentation. VERA Restaurant has been very successful and we have addressed any service delays. We also added a video intercom to facilitate late night entry to the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Cartagena de Indias. Warmest regards, Tcherassi Hotel + Spa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

6 american couples traveled together to Cartagena. We could not have piked a better place. Everything about it was great. Terrific staff, lovely interiors, delicious restaurant. It is a historic home converted to a hotel. I highly recommend it. Worth every penny. Make your reservations early, they only have 7 rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoteroS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

What an amazing place, the italian restaurant (VERA) is awesome, excellent service, decoration, music !!!!!!
The suite is huge, beautiful open bathroom and what can i say about the private pool, the BEST !!!
Cartagena is one of the most beautiful places in the world, and this hotel is at the same level.
Congratulations to S.Tcherassi and the staff
definitely ill go back any time soon

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My wife and I stayed for a short visit to Cartagena. The staff at Tcherassi Hotel were warm and very helpful. They have a great chef who prepares delicious breakfasts and we were very pleased with the room in terms of amenities and layout. Our only suggestion to the hotel is to be more proactive about researching restaurant recommendations and locations--it may have been a minor language issue, but we got incorrect directions once and steered toward a restaurant that had recently closed on another occasion. Overall, we give the hotel a very strong recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sto. Domingo
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Tcherassi Hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever been to. We were book in LM Hotel, but due to a big group the offered to change us to the Tcherassi Spa. At the beginning we were disappointed, but after some research, everything changed. Excellent service from all personnel, from the doorman to the maids. Food was very good, but we only had one dinner and three breakfasts. There are lots of great restaurants in Cartagena.
It's not a cheap hotel, but you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2009

One of the most impressive small exclusive hotels that I have been to. Just breath taking. The colonial house is just superb,the service, the spa... don't know where to start. And the CITY!!! Cartagena is one of the kind!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 155 in Cartagena
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#69 of 155 in Cartagena
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel LM
Hotel LM
#35 of 155 in Cartagena
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tcherassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tcherassi Hotel

Property: Tcherassi Hotel
Address: Calle del Curato No. 38-99, Mansion Calle Sargento Mayor No. 6-21 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tcherassi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive two year restoration and renovation, a 250 year old colonial mansion comes to life in the heart of Cartagena's old city in fashion designer Silvia Tcherassi's first hotel. With seven unique rooms and suites, The Tcherassi Hotel + Spa reignites the magical setting of a bygone era while delivering all of the modern amenities and comforts discerning travelers have come to expect today. In addition to oversized, luxurious guest accommodations featuring high ceilings, rich wood floors, private balconies and large open bathrooms, the hotel boasts a full service spa, 40-seat chic Italian restaurant and lounge overlooking a vertical garden with over 3000 local plants, four pools and a roof deck with 360 degree views of both the historic city and the sea. The search for inspiration and relaxation is easily achieved as over 30 staff members cater to each guest's every whim. Although The Tcherassi Hotel + Spa is an oasis within itself, it is the perfect place from which to enjoy the vibrant colors and culture of Cartagena de Indias ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tcherassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing