We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spontaneous Colombia Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I recently took a spontaneous trip to Cartagena, Colombia that was amazing, and I had always wanted to go. Good thing to note- JetBlue flies directly to Colombia from New York City in 4 ½ hours.

Not only was my trip relaxing, but also I was able to experience a new place and all that it had to offer. Cartagena is an absolutely beautiful city with flower-lined streets and incredibly friendly people. The city was the first Spanish colony on the American continent and one of the first sanctuaries of freed African slaves in the Americas.

I stayed at the Ananda Hotel in the old city/walled city, which was extremely well kept, quiet, and the food was amazing. One of my favorite things about the hotel was their roof top pool, which was also quite and peaceful.

I also spent some well-deserved time at the Sofitel Hotel Spa and had several wonderful massages by a woman named Sonia. This was literally one of the most gorgeous spas I have ever been to. I also ate there, which was also fantastic.

The massage that I enjoyed the most was called “SO” and it was an exhilarating and soothing body massage that used signature techniques that shapes and tones your silhouette.

One experience that I will never forget from this trip was a visit to the mud pool at Volcan del Totumo. I did some prior research on this excursion, and read that it would be to my benefit to go later in the day to miss the “mud rush hours.” I hired an amazing translator, Rafael Herrera, rafaeloso89@yahoo.com, and we took a private car instead of taking a tour bus. This was a good decision.

When it was my turn to lie in the mud, I had one of the most unusual experiences of my life, but one of the coolest. Never the less, I was lying in a pool of mud at the crater of a small volcano. The most interesting part to me was that you could float in the mud without sinking. After lying there for a while, I was given an included massage that relaxed me even more.

If you are planning a trip, the experiences that I listed are a must. Of course, part of traveling is making it your own, and don’t forget to relax every chance you get.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3FLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Internet Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi,

We are really happy and prod as you spent a quality time in Cartagena and also in Ananda Hotel Boutique.

Our roof top is one of the main places to spend a great time at our hotel and we are glad you like it.

We hope to have you here soon.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ananda is a small luxury hotel in the heart of Cartagena! Is an oasis! The staff is nice. Didn't like the breakfast! They should have more variety! And please give the gests more options particularly on fruit juices!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank worldsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review and your stay at Ananda Hotel Boutique. We enjoy your stay and also we are happy you had a great time. We already sent your recommendation to the restaurant in order to improve our service all the time.

Have a great day.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel was an oasis in the middle of the city. Once you enter from the busy street, it's peaceful and friendly. There is a pool on the lobby level and a cool water jacuzzi on the roof which has a spectacular view. The breakfast and lunch was delicious and the room was modern. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hi,

We are glad you had a pleasant time at Ananda Hotel Boutique. All our hotel is a place to discover every single moment.

Our jacuzzi and our pool are one of our main attractions and all our guests have a great time there.

We are looking forward to have you here soon.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Ananda is a small elegant boutique hotel with terrific style and excellent effort to mix beautiful spanish architecture with modern touches. It is in a great location in the walled city part of Cartagena. There are many hidden corners and alcoves to explore including a roof top pool. Some rooms are truly outstanding, others just very nice. Dining in the courtyard is a great way to start the day. The new restaurant, Carmen, is one of the best we've ever been to anywhere in the world. We ate 3 dinners and 2 lunches there (as well as every breakfast) because the menu was so enticing--had something new each time (including appetiser and desserts) and each dish was indescribably delicious. Only strange thing was that the reception staff didn't mention their own restaurant...we discovered it ourselves...Don't miss this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeG4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We are extremelly happy you enjoyed your stay at Ananda Hotel Boutique. Every corner of our hotel as you mentioned is a very pleasant site and you can have differente enviroments at the hotel.

We hope you visit us any time soon and feel the same experience all the time.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Loved the finishing of this hotel, felt in Asia for their attention to details. It was a fairly good breakfast and great crowd. I love the fact that it doesn't attract the same attention than the Sofitel.
I highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: My room 21 was quite remote and chilled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you loved Ananda hotel boutique and had a great experience.

We are looking forward to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We went to this hotel for a girl's weekend out. Very well located inside the wall city, walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants. The hotel is just beautiful!! great space, lovely decoration, very modern and good taste. They have a jacuzzi in the top of the building with sun beds perfectly made for relax. It's very recommended to spend a romantic getaway or just enjoy with friends. The breakfast was delicious. Lovely place, I will come back soon for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We are already looking forward to have you here soon. Ananda hotel boutique is special for couples, familiy, friends or business as we have different enviroments.

Hope you come back soon and enjoy all our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and it was perfect. Lovely rooms around the restaurant in the middle courtyard. 2 nice pools and very good food at breakfast and at the restaurant in the evening. Not a big hotel so was very peaceful, especially during weekdays. Also in a great location in the old town, near a very tasty ice cream parlour!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Hi,

We are glad you had a great week at our hotel. Ananda is a very paceful hotel so you can enjoy and relax the magic of the city.

We have a great location so you can walk around and spend a great time in Cartagena and then come back to the hotel and have a great time to sleep.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 159 in Cartagena
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 159 in Cartagena
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 159 in Cartagena
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 159 in Cartagena
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 159 in Cartagena
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#30 of 159 in Cartagena
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £170 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing