We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #9 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful, but expensive”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this charming boutique hotel. There are two nice pools; one in the courtyard and another on the roof with fabulous views and breeze. The restaurant has amazing food and excellent service. For the price, we were a little disappointed in our room as it was dark and had mosquitoes in the bathroom. The location was ideal and we felt safe walking around the old, walled city. Watch out for additional (unnecessary) charges when you check out. Overall, we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a room that does not have an open air bathroom.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monicagomez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear monicagmez1,

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account in order to improve and to be the best that we can be every day.

We hope to have you Home in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!





Diego Manrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    96
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
83
276
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel- great location for exploring the old city- great pool to swim in and relax by during the day, the breakfast was included and there were several options and lots of fresh fruit / juices - on site service for massage and manicure - our room on the bottom floor did smell a little musty but was spacious and lovely bathroom - beware to check laundry costs before accepting as it could be a very expensive experience - all in all a great stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JEHudson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear JEHudson123,

We’d like to thank you a lot for your words. Comments like yours certainly incentivize us to keep trying our best every day. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted.
We hope to have you Home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.


Have a very good day!





Diego Manrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at a nearby hotel in Cartagena - one that didn't have a pool. On our last day, our hotel arranged for us to spend the day at Ananda's pool. We walked in and were warmly welcomed by the staff - everyone was incredibly gracious. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the pool area was gorgeous. We had a beautifully presented lunch by the pool, and then went up to the jacuzzi on the roof. No other guests happened to be around that day, so we had the entire place to ourselves. Every person on staff we encountered was kind, and made sure to tell us that they were very available to us. As hotel visitors and not guests, we were incredibly impressed. Absolutely can't wait to go back to Cartagena and stay at Ananda. Great location, beautiful property, delicious food, wonderful service. Truly could not ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEnnui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear TheEnnui,

Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us in those wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you with us, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!


Have a very good day!





Diego Manrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Loved it. Close to restaurants. Secure. Great breakfast. Spacious rooms. Great city views from the roof. Very clean and overall a great place to stay. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Book early. Busy place. Love the hotel. Don't miss the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris2014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Cris,

Mis mas sinceros agradecimientos, por compartir con nosotros su experiencia, en la hermosa ciudad de Cartagena.

Esperamos poder acogerlo en una próxima oportunidad.

DIEGO MANRRIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon (wish it had been longer). Our room was bright, airy & clean. The pool was a great size considering it is in a courtyard. Breakfast was delicious, particularly the quinoa granola. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel one night too & the food was beautifully cooked. Couldn't fault the service our entire stay. We were sad to leave this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJBWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear GJBWindsor,

It was a privilege for us, having being part of such a special occasion. Comments like yours certainly incentivize us to keep trying our best every day.

It was very nice of you to take the time to share your experience with us.

We hope to have you Home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.


Have a very good day!



Diego Manrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The word Ananda means bliss and the hotel is true to its name, we felt absolute bliss staying here. The house is beautiful, but above everything else, the staff is amazing, wonderful people, friendly and ready to help! The restaurant is delicious as well (owned by Carmen from Medellín) - the breakfast was wonderful (try the tropical pancakes). We also got time to enjoy the jacuzzi and the pool area, very peaceful and fun. Thank you Diego and everyone at the Anandá, we hope to come back very very soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keekeeseetah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Keekeeseetah1,

Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us with such wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.

Have a very good day!


Diego Manrique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Ananda Hotel has very pleasant, helpful staff and looks beguilingly pretty. It is not well managed. When we arrived, the key that resembles a credit card didn't work and neither did the safe. We were then taken to another room which was much less attractive and smelt a bit musty. Its safe didn't work either. The wash-basin was an extraordinary design, plug less and incredibly shallow. Its designer had never thought of using it. The lavatory took at least 25 minutes to re-fill. We found the bathroom exasperating! Breakfast took a long time but the food was carefully and nicely prepared. The staff were so courteous and pleasant that I feel very mean writing this but perhaps they will read it and find a better plumber.

Room Tip: Examine the bathroom before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Eva Julia T,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments. This information is vital for us to keep growing and adjusting all details necessary to acomplish our mission of creating wonderful experiences for our Guests.
We´ve taken note of all your appreciations and you can be sure that we will work hard to correct all of them.
We hope you can visit us again the next time you come to Cartagena!

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 153 in Cartagena
1,828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 153 in Cartagena
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Property: Ananda Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing