We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what they offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Villa Colonial
Ranked #106 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what they offer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent two nights at 120 USD/night. There is no hot water, no breakfast included and the matresses are the hardest ever found. It's located in the unsafest and noisiest district of Cartagena. Internet never worked during our stay although this was one of the reasons for which we had booked this hotel. When we complained with the owner about all of the above, he did not replied and did not offer any discount. Really poor for 120 USD!!! Not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    40
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
37
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My friend and I stayed in C.Colonial for 2 nights and we loved this part of the city. The hotel is located in Getzemani, a vibrant area with everything close by. Staff were excellent in providing great recommendations of places to eat and drink, some which were around the corner. The place itself is cosy and welcoming

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had an ok stay here, our room did not have a balcony so no natural light comes in...whicheant you never knew what time of day it was! Borrowed hair dryer from reception, never seen the wire was taped so when using it the wire blew off and there were sparks everywhere, not so much as an apology from reception..when I gave it back thy just kept examine it!!!! Female staff really helpful, male staff did not seem to speak Spanish or English! Location is nice as are common areas...kitchen is tiny and not well equipped! Ok if u wanna eat cereal..don't plan on cooking!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AineM191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place seems great when you check in, even worth the price which is expensive for the Getsemani area in Cartagena. The staff is polite (when speaking Spanish, but they speak very poor to no English, and if you need help with something like directions or arrangements for future accommodations, they suddenly speak neither language if your Spanish isn't perfect), the rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The AC works well and the beds are comfortable.

BUT, it's hard to sleep here. With AC on it's very cold and only a single sheet is provided on the bed, as soon as the AC is turned down even a few degrees the room becomes too humid and hot. It seems simple to ask the front desk for another sheet or blanket, but when asked for anything extra suddenly neither English or Spanish is understood. The bar/dance club next door is insanely loud, people on the street right outside (almost everywhere in Cartagena) remain loud until around 4 or 5 am, and it's all audible from within your room. Even with the earplugs we brought it was too loud.

There is one computer in the lobby. The kitchen is adequate, but small and hot.

Our stay actually wasn't all that bad, but I wouldn't recommend it to others. I also can't get over the fact that the staff comes into your room when you're gone to turn off AC that you've left on to keep your room cool. I don't like the idea of a stranger in my room with my important travel documents, money, and other personal belongings. None of our items were messed with, but it's not good practice to allow staff so casually into people's rooms without their knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErmMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albertoakel, Gerente at Casa Villa Colonial, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Good afternoon, on behalf of the entire team at Casa Villa Colonial, we express our gratitude for your review, it is important to improve our service and fix the negatives issues.

Casa Villa Colonial is a trying to keep in mind the preservation of the environment, which is why our lighting is 100% energy saving. is why our cleaning staff login several times to the rooms a day to check the cleanliness of the room, the bathroom and off electronic devices for energy saving, because while the client is not in the room would be a shame resources are consumed unnecessarily for hours and hours.

As for the bar / disco next door, we started a couple of months ago a legal action to guarantee our customers the peace to sleep. and currently, are developed soundproofing works in this club, all overseen by government entities which have a deadline of July 31 to have completed the work. We understand that is our responsibility, but however we try to provide the best service possible despite these problems.

We look forward to a future opportunity to serve you and make sure to compensate for these inconveniences with the best of services.

Cordial greetings from Cartagena.

Alberto Akel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Such a nice retreat from places that don't care. This hotel pays attention to detail. It's in the mid-range of prices for Cartagena and located in Getsemani which is less expensive than Centro. It's also not so much pressure on the streets to buy, buy, buy. Seems safe enough as there are always pedestrians around even at night.
Rooms are large and there's actually space like furniture to open a suitcase and put things in drawers. First hotel that provided more than 3 hangers. I don't know why there's never a bathmat to keep the floor dry but in 7 places there has never been one. Hot water is unnecessary as humidity in the air and heat require several showers a day and cool water is refreshing. This place is newer so power outlets are adequate for chargers. There's 1 free Computer in lobby and wifi on each floor works in the rooms. There's a kitchen for common use with a gas burner. I'm not interested in cooking but there is a fridge too. They sell water at a reasonable price too.
Nice helpful staff in Spanish. Don't know about their English. Lots of restaurants nearby for anything.
Front door is usually locked. A/c and a fan are a relief. All rooms are away from street so not much noise. Beds are very comfy. Great place. 150,000 for 2 beds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanaquerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Although this is no where near a 5 star hotel, the price is far cheaper as well. I paid 25 dollars a night and got a room with a private bathroom (no hot water in the shower, but in the Cartagena heat, that's hardly a necessity.) What might turn some people off is the lack of air conditioning, but the fan in my room kept me cool all night without it. Once again, this is an extremely cheap hotel. My room was however, reasonably clean, unlike some (more expensive, I might add) motels I have stayed in the USA. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which is good if Spanish is your second language and you have to ask them to repeat themselves often. I don't know how many of them speak English because I always spoke Spanish with them. Although the hotel is not located in a great area, it is an easy walk from the Clock Tower of the Old City and the Muelle de la Bodeguita where most tours leave from. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will probably stay there again if/when I go back to Cartagena.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is slightly more expensive than similar alternatives but is a safe option to book online - What I found most annoying when staying here was every time I left my room, whether for 5 minutes or 5 hours the staff had entered it to turn off the aircon, this happened constantly, I also went to get a takeaway coffee at 7am on the day I was checking out to come back ( their complimantary coffee is instant) a few minutes later to find that in addition to finding the aircon had been turned off all of the bed linen and towels had also been removed from the room which with a 1pm check-out time is a ridiculous policy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#47 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#99 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Tere
Hotel Casa Tere
#113 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#63 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Colonial
Hotel Villa Colonial
#12 of 159 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#13 of 166 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villa Colonial

Property: Casa Villa Colonial
Address: Calle de la Media Luna #10-89, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Villa Colonial Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing