We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Villa Colonial
Ranked #109 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Decent”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel (10 nights). It was decent. It was convenient to walk to the Old City. It was overpriced. Neighborhood was not so-so and spotty. Breakfast was not included. Air Conditioner was not working properly. The primary problem was the noise at night because there was a bar, two doors down the road, that played music very loud. No safe available. Good wifi. Great staff and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar that is almost next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    40
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
38
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 9 nights recently. I was a bit concerned as a single female staying here due to some comments on immediate surrounds. Indeed it is not perfect but there were always enough people around to feel safe at night. Busy area during the daytime. My room was at the front and there was building work ongoing in building opposite. Luckily I had my sound proof earplugs with me. Bring them -You will need them. The room was a decent size and I felt good value for money. I found air conditioning cold at night and with one sheet, I had to resort to also getting into my silk sleeping bag! But you will need a room with air conditioning for sure. There is no safe available but there is front door security and I was assured it was safe to leave everything in my room. And it was. It is a 10 min walk to historic centre of town. There are some good restaurants in the area that offer good value for money. I would recommend going out for breakfast. Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Helsbeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Decent place to stay, but I think it is over priced for what you get. It has reasonable wifi and good aircon, but it's location is not the best and there is no breakfast included. The common areas are well done and comfortable, but one tends to retreat to the bedroom where there is good A/C. Staff are pleasant but don't speak much English (but hey, we're in Colombia). It is located about a 5-7 minute walk from the old city. I think it is reasonably safe, if one applies common sense, however the road does appear gringy and there is the odd character walking around. All in all, pleasant stay but over priced. Could probably get something similar with a better location and breakfast included, if you do your homework. Public transport to get here is poor, so one has to rely on cabs. For the rest of your stay, one can get around on foot.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I think the hotel is decent with respect to the quality - I did enjoy my stay. However, the hotel is quite far from the historic center, and the staff speaks very limited English. That created several situations when I had difficult time communicating that I need a cab or when I asked about a good place to eat. Otherwise, nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Before booking this hotel I wasn't sure how safe and good is to stay in Getsemani, the area just outside historic centre walls. Now I can say without any doubts that the next time I would definitely stay there and only there.

Staff is very very friendly and helpful even if they speak only spanish. I booked 2 rooms, however one room we had to cancel on the day of arrival and the staff was ok to do so without charging us for the first night. Very impressed with the flexibility we received.

Rooms are clean and very big but basic.

There is no restaurant, however the street offer very wide range of restaurants. In general, there are plenty of hidden places which serve excellent food, so it is worse to look around in this area.

No complains about the sleeping quality even if there is a trendy night club next doors.

No safety issues.

Overall, I really enjoyed our stay (four nights) at this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tadas_juozonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is a haven of peace on a very busy, noisy road. The rooms are on two storeys, off an internal courtyard and so it is quiet inside them. The rooms are simple, but adequately furnished, and the bathroom is okay but with only a cold shower.
The rooms are cleaned daily and the staff are friendly and speak english. Security is good as the front door is locked and entry is controlled by staff who are on duty 24/7.

There is a small kitchen, but guests tend not to clean up properly. The cleaning staff should clean this area at least once a day.

The area around the hotel is full of basic hostels, cafes and restaurants. But it is not a pleasant area, a lot of premises are run-down, its busy and footways are narrow and in poor condition.
The historic centre is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent two nights at 120 USD/night. There is no hot water, no breakfast included and the matresses are the hardest ever found. It's located in the unsafest and noisiest district of Cartagena. Internet never worked during our stay although this was one of the reasons for which we had booked this hotel. When we complained with the owner about all of the above, he did not replied and did not offer any discount. Really poor for 120 USD!!! Not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#103 of 153 in Cartagena
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#56 of 153 in Cartagena
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Tere
Hotel Casa Tere
#111 of 153 in Cartagena
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simon Bolivar
Hotel Simon Bolivar
#95 of 153 in Cartagena
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#39 of 153 in Cartagena
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#67 of 153 in Cartagena
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villa Colonial

Property: Casa Villa Colonial
Address: Calle de la Media Luna #10-89, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Villa Colonial Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing