We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Barlovento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barlovento
Ranked #31 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Too expensive for value”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel was not as good as the pictures & reviews.

Pros:
1) Located beside a 24 hour grocery store.
2) Rooms facing inward are relatively quiet. (Rooms facing the street are noiser.)
3) Includes breakfast. (They serve eggs but there is never anyone there to make them- they are watching TV at the bar. Also, once the food is gone, they do not replenish it!!)
4) 2 blocks from the beach!

Cons:
1) The interior is much older than it appears in the photos.
2) When we had our sheets changed, they took our duvets & replaced with only fleece blankets.
3) Under contruction. Hammering & drilling at 9am. Because of this, it seemed everyone was staying on our floor!
4) Pool area is very poorly represented in the photos. The bar was closed over with a black tarp.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards & not on the floor where everyone else is staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SrtaADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBarlovento, Gerente at Hotel Barlovento, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Respected sir,

We are grateful for your comments, because they help us to improve every day, taking the necessary corrective for it. We answer you, the cons:
1. We are careful to put real photos, not we raise false expectations, or have problems with our guests.
2. Usually the beds are always dressed in the same way, unless the host state otherwise, either verbally or facts. With this information we didn´t know what happened to you.
3. As we were doing remodeling in the pool area, we had notices so advertised. For this reason it was closed the pool bar.

Hope gives us the opportunity to serve again.

Sincerely yours,


Belinda Cueto Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    128
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
76
111
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calistoga, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was a good find! Although for the cost, the rooms seemed a bit basic, they were also spotlessly clean. The location is great for bocagrande--near the beach, two grocery stores and a fun cafe. Honestly, though, what made the experience were the people working there. They were always extremely kind and and attentive. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cakemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Decent 3-star property, the staff is friendly and tries to be helpful (but had no useful tourist information at all, and didn't seem too knowledgeable about basic things like taxis, didn't make wake-up calls, etc.). A/C works well, hot water works nicely..

It's a 10-minute taxi ride to the old city (not really walkable), and walking distance to a basic beach. Decent buffet breakfast with eggs to order. Prices in mini-bar reasonable. Good value for the money though probably I would have preferred to stay in the old town (couldn't get a reasonably priced room owing to high-season).

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are pleasant and don't get street noise, but get some pool noise and also nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I spend a while trying to think of something good to say about our stay at this ripoff hotel. The only positive is that there is a Juan Valdez around the corner that makes really good coffee!

Sadly the negative list is quite long...

The price was 275 mil pesos (about $140) a night for a basic double. We were stuck for options during peak time between Christmas and New Year, so booked 2 nights based on reviews here. For the money the hotel is very poor. We stayed in 2 other completely delightful 'cases' in Getsemani for about the same about. The Barlovento is extremely ordinary. The room is ordinary - nice view of a car park - noisy/old fashioned air con - small uncomfortable bed - disastrous pillows - almost empty minibar

The service at reception is truly atrocious. We waited 30 to be checked in. The 2 people on the desk were tired and rude. In the end we were unable to check-in properly as they had run out of paper for their credit card scanner.

When we checked out they attempted to incorrectly charge an extra 10% for IVA (local sales tax) that does not apply to non-Colombians. Again they were rude when I explained that it didn't apply. Again it took about 10 minutes to sort this out. I was only happy once we'd jumped into a taxi to head to Casa Santa Ana.

Avoid staying here. As I say above there are many truly awesome places nearer to town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TomCHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My family and I stumbled upon this hotel through a friend of hers while we were on vacation in Cartagena. It is a treasure. The staff was very professional, courteous and friendly and many spoke at least some English. The were very helpful with recommendations of restaurants, things to do and places to go. They went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The room (Junior Suite) was a cute little loft. It was clean and cozy with great views. When we go back to Cartagena, we will certainly stay there again. The swimming pool was small but who needs that when the boca Grande is only 2 blocks away? You can also take boat trips out to various islands for the day. The hotel staff can help you arrange that.

Room Tip: Junior Suites on the top (6th) floor have the best view - cute lofts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Cozy room, free wifi in the room, nice flat LCD TV with cable, friendly staff. Quiet place.
Outside the walled city but 5 minutes by taxi (5 to 6.000 pesoss = USD 3 to 4)
One block away from an avenue with everything you need (restaurants, money exchange, coffee, drugstore, etc). The breakfast could be a little better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicardoJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stumbled upon the Hotel Barlovento and absolutely loved it. We are seasoned travelers accustomed to Marriott properties, so our standards are fairly high. Here are all the details I think you would want to know, in no particular order.

The hotel is very clean in all aspects. They had very few rooms available during the week we were there, so we had to stay in a small room with 2 single beds. However, when we actually go to our room, the beds had been pushed together at my request, and was fine. The mattresses were good, but as always, we travel with our own pillows. I'm not sure if all the rooms were this small, but we really didn't mind that. We were happy to have hot water (which is not that common in Cartagena), a mini-fridge, cable TV, and wireless internet in the room. The internet was just OK, as the connection seemed to disconnect often. They also have an older PC in the lobby that anyone can use to access the web for no charge. The room had all the expected necessities like soap, shampoo, shower cap, shoe shiner, etc. I do not recall seeing a blow dryer or iron. We also found the room to be fairly quite from the street noise, but you could easily hear any conversation or noise in the hallway. The hotel has a very small pool, but it is also very clean.

The room charge (about $160/night in high season, and maybe half that in low season) included breakfast. They have a simple buffet of eggs, bread, fruit, juice, cereal, etc. They do have room service, although we did not use it. We did eat lunch in their restaurant (I think it's called La Fragata) and it was exceptionally good. I had pasta with an olive oil/parsley/garlic sauce that was phenomenal. Also, their fresh squeezed juices were some of the best we have had anywhere in Colombia, and we have been there often.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, friendly staff, good food, hot showers, and location. It's just 2 short blocks from the beach, and one block from the Avenida San Martin, where all the shops and restaurants are. It was a good value for the price, and we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaeljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Cartagena Marbella
Hotel Ibis Cartagena Marbella
#38 of 149 in Cartagena
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 149 in Cartagena
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Club Hotel
Playa Club Hotel
#46 of 149 in Cartagena
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Concept
Hotel Blue Concept
#73 of 149 in Cartagena
177 reviews
4.2 mi away
Varanasi Hotel Boutique
Varanasi Hotel Boutique
#32 of 149 in Cartagena
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barlovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barlovento

Property: Hotel Barlovento
Address: Bocagrande, Carrera 3 # 6-23 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 1300, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barlovento 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the magic and historic Cartagena de Indias on the Caribbean Sea, one of the most beautiful cities in the world, you will find the Hotel Barlovento a unique place where you will be in a modern a comfortable surrounding and will receive a warm service, where your stay for business or pleasure will be an unforgettable and pleasant experience.OUR ROOMSOur modern rooms are decorated in a traditional and unique style made of guadua type of Colombian wood in a cozy environment, where you can enjoy a pleasant and total rest.The Hotel has 4 Junior Suite and 44 standard rooms in simple or double accommodation at yout disposal.OUR LOCATIONSHALLSFor your business meetings, conferences, capacitations and social events, the Hotel provides The Sotavento Hall with a maximum capacity of 70 people. It is equiped whit audiovisual help and a human team whit great experience to guarantee the success of your events.A LECTURE HALLIdeal for small meetings and interviews whit a maximum capacity of 6 people.RESTAURANTOn the inigualable ambiance of The Fragola Restaurant, you will enjoy the taste and unique style of a variety and delicious cuisin made whit the touch of mediterranean flavour.POOLUnder the candent sun of the Caribbean Sea nothing more relaxing and refreshing than to taste a variety of exotic and tasteful tropical cocktails and delicious tapas alongside a warm swimming pool.OUR COMPROMISEThe Hotel Barlovento compromise is to ensure theat yor next stay for business, vacation or pleasure be and unforgettable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barlovento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing