We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Mi casa es su casa"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Casa Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Casa Mara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Mi casa es su casa"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Casa Mara is located in Getsemani, although an older barrio directly adjascent to the historic old city, it lies within the old city walls and has a rough rustic charm and is residential (especially the street Casa Mara is located on), which is refreshing, in contrast to the old city which is only inhabited by tourists, more expensive hotels and street peddlers. The area is relatively safe although exercise caution as always in Colombia. Casa Mara is a real "Casa" in hotel terms, not a backpacker hostel (no dormitory style rooms, although it looked like they can sleep up to 4 singles in one of the rooms), it offers free wifi, good air conditioning, ensuites in all rooms and access to a kitchen, a jacuzzi and not to forget the lovely pool as centerpiece. Casa Mara is a quiet sanctuary away from the hustle of Cartagena, Getsemani and Calle Media Luna (a busy thoroughfare) a hop and a skip around the corner which hosts several typical backpacker hostels which attract the usual backpackers as well as plenty of cafes and restaurants of various levels. We mostly ate at Cafe Luna Nueva around the corner which similar to Casa Mara offered excellent value albeit less quirky/trendy decore than some options attached to hostels but worthwhile for the backpacker wishing to escape the "backpacker bubble" and get a better value breakfast (we felt ripped off when we tried the other options) where locals will also be seen eating. Diana of Casa Mara was very hospitable, spoke English and arranged for food delivery and tours/transport for us upon request. Casa Mara also offered a laundry service and has a drinks fridge and shared computer at the main desk. We stayed in room 1, a spacious room directly adjacent to the pool yet private enough for a young couple. I could also recommend room 9 on the first level overlooking the pool (we didn't see inside so can't say more than this) which offered good privacy by all appearances. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
10
39
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hostel was perfect for our stay in Cartagena, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, spacious and have air-con and there's a kitchen if you want to cook. The best thing about it is the lovely pool in the court-yard where you can cool off in the sweltering heat!It is not fancy but really good value for money, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor has a jacuzzi outside and a seating area and its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed here with 2 friends of mine for 3 nights and it was perfect. It's nothing fancy but it's clean and everything we needed, and the service was amazing. It's also only a short walk to the old city and a quick cab ride to Hollywood Beach. Diana, who runs the place, was the sweetest woman-- answered all of our questions and really took care of us. I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Cartagena!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colombia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I stayed in the hostel casamara for 4+3 nights. I actually wanted to return there after my Taganga-trip as it was so nice.
It is located very close to el centro and all the services of Getsemani are right behind the corner. The Getsemani area might feel a bit shady in the beginning, but I never felt myself unsecure...even I did a lot of nightlife:)
The hostel itself is very secured with the nighttime guardian. The rooms were kept very clean and the swimming pool was very nice in the heat of July. I warmly recommend this hostel to everybody looking for a calm place to stay in the middle of Getsemani husstle.
After all these uplifting reviews you should remember it is a hostel, not hotel ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hostel is quite dated and the owner has in recent years, prices increased by 50% making it a bad choice. Near the hostel are much better options to find more reasonable prices. Besides the hospitality is also low in Casa Mara. What once must have been a fun hostel is an e expensive, not really friendly place and become dated.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Fantastic place to stay in a prime location. Beautiful old building in Getsemeni, near to the old city Cartagena. It has three levels of rooms, and is complete with a swimming pool, reading area and roof top spa. The owners are really nice people and keep it extremely clean. There are no crazy parties or excess noise, which is great however it is walking distance to all the bars etc if you want.

Secure building with a night watchman. I have stayed here numerous times – best deal was 100,000 for a huge double room with massive bathroom complete with Tina (bath). They also have a restaurant around the corner with great value breakfast – 7,000 for cereal, fruit and café / hot chocolate and toast.

Bring my parents over in may and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicks_medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We spent 4 nights in Cartagena. The first 2 nights we spent at Santa Cruz Hostal which was located in the center but was a very spartan room (hot shower, aircondition, but no windows and very small).
We looked for a better place in Getsemani and found this lovely hostel. We spent 2 nights at Casamara in room #1 which is the biggest and the most comfortable. The room is big. There is no hot water but you really don't need it in this climate. The pool in the middle of the hotel courtyard is small but very useful to cool off at night or during the day. The location is very good: 100 m from the Media Luna street where all other hostels are. The difference between this hotel and others is that Casamara is quiet and very secure - the door is always locked, and because there are only 10 rooms, the staff knows all guests. The manager (owner?) is Diana and her husband who are very friendly and helpful and keep the hotel in a very good shape. They also have a small restaurant on Media Luna street (Media Luna restaurante) with affordable and delicious meals.
Everything is very close: la muralla (the center) is 10 min. walk, the fort is also 10 min. walk, the bars of Media Luna are 2 min. walk, and the discos of Getsemani are 5-8 min. walk. The BEST place for night entertainment is Cafe Habana which is 1 block from the Casamara street: life salsa music - supposedly the only life salsa band in town.
Getsemani is a bit run down but it seems that all the neighbourhood benefits from the tourism so it is rather unlikely that you might run into trouble with the locals.
We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Villa Colonial
Casa Villa Colonial
#107 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#4 of 166 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#12 of 166 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#18 of 166 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#2 of 166 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#14 of 166 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Mara

Property: Hostal Casa Mara
Address: Calle del Espiritu Santo #29-139 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Casa Mara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 10 rooms in this hotel have all the comforts to make you feel at home. Some of the features you'll enjoy are internet access , cable TV, shower. The hotel boasts Wi - Fi in public areas , laundry service / dry cleaning, room service. Guests seeking exercise or leisure will be pleased to find garden at the hotel. Well located , a dedicated staff and quality services make this hotel a favorite among viajeros.Los guests can enjoy peace and tranquility in the pool Casa Mara offers all its guests. Guests can also relax in the hot tub and admire the charm of this beautiful home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Casa Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casamara Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing