We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Portal de San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Portal de San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Portal de San Diego
Ranked #27 of 158 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hotel Portal de San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The employees were cordials and treat us with respect. The breakfast is a Menu that you might chose from some options and is restrict of that but is really good with a plate of fruits and another choice of food for the breakfast.
I would definitely stay again at this hotel If I go to Cartagena. The other good thing from this Hotel is the localization, inside of Muradas from Cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimundo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    57
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
76
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed two nigths at the hotel for a business travel. It has an excellent location inside the walled city, close to restaurants and other turistic places. Price very competitive including taxes and excellent breakfast (fruit, juice, bread, eggs, coffe). Good service, nice employees but not fluent english. Rooms clean and comfortable, air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is a small hotel, very clean, and the staff are great -helpful and friendly.
It is very well located on a main street in the historic centre, walking distance from many good sights, cafes and restaurants. I also felt very safe here (buzzed in from the street, 24 reception staff). Great stay for a good price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very charming hotel in the old city center. Close to airport 10mn by taxi (5 euros per way).
Receptionists are helpful and give some advice about the things to do in Cartagena.
breakfast (included) is fine. Room is really nice but some problems with the shower (not so much water).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotteuse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

The location of this place is excellent if you want to stay in the heart of
the old town - great for exploring. The staff were very friendly and
helpful - they helped us arrange our onward travel (spoke good English too
- one lady in particular). There is a computer in reception with free
internet and free wi-fi. The room itself was small but perfectly adequate
- warm shower, big comfortable bed, good TV, good safetly
deposit box. The only unfortuante thing was that we were given a room very
close to reception and the communal areas so it was very noisy from early
in the morning (ask for a room on the floor up if possible). Also the
shower cublicle leaked and water ran into the bedroom.

Unfortunately I can't comment on breakfast because we never managed to have
any at the hotel - we were on a tight schedule in the morning, when we sat
down for breakfast we were asked 3 times if we would like breakfast (yes
please), I then chased them as all the staff were just chatting in the
kicthen , but it still took then 25 minutes to bring us a menu for us to
select from, at which point we gave up and went to the (very cheap and
nice) bakery accross the road to grab something quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the floor above reception (3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Great hotel, staff super helpful. Air con is must in Cartagena and it worked great here. Wifi worked fine in our room. Great location. Amazing sushi restaurant just a few doors up on the same street. Inside the old town prices can be crazy but this hotel was reasonable with a decent breakfast included. We got room 305 which had a small window which was great and let in loads of light, all of the rest of the room are very dark. Overall a great stay, I would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 305 is great, has a small window which lets in loads of light. Other rooms all looked very dark...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ogormans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Location is great, right in the middle of the walled city. Two big issues: noisy rooms (you can hear the cars honking on the street) and very hard to get any hot water. Breakfast is quite decent, and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianGonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#44 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#43 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#13 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#55 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel
Centro Hotel
#102 of 148 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal de San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal de San Diego

Property: Hotel Portal de San Diego
Address: Calle 2 36 - 17 | Centro, Cartagena 130012, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal de San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Portal de San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal De San Diego Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing