We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the center of Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Portal de San Diego
Ranked #21 of 155 Cartagena B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Right in the center of Old Town”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. This hotel is located right in the center of the old town, where the El Centro part meets the San Diego part within the old town walls which makes it easy to come back to for a break from the heat. The location couldn't be better, good air conditioning, adequate wifi and good breakfast. The staff was nice and i found the price to be good for a hotel in the old town. there are many restaurant/food options, as well as, shopping options.

Rooms on the 2nd floor (reception floor) is more noisy than the ones on the 3rd floor as a FYI.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank simply126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    62
    38
    12
    4
See reviews for
22
81
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Portal de San Diego for four nights recently. The hotel itself is centrally located in the old town - it is no more than 10 minutes' walk (at a VERY slow pace) to any part of the walls surrounding the city. We were helped up the stairs after ringing at the security gate very quickly, and upon check in we were provided with a comprehensive map of the old town, with details of sights of interest, major attractions, churches etc on the reverse. When we were shown to our room we were given help with the aircon, tv, cable, safe etc etc

The room was on the small-side, but there was enough space. Great aircon in the room, but none in the common areas (which are outside); though there were decent fans and it wasn't too bad sitting there in the middle of the day in 90% humidity! Despite being next to the breakfast area and one of the routers, the wifi was not very good in the room - one bar only if we were lucky. Oddly, as soon as we opened the door, the signal was full..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank D01_and_D02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel's location is perfect for a short stay in the walled city. The good restaurants are just a few steps away and a decent bar is right next door. If you like bread, there's a bakery across the street that serves freshly made pan de queso :)

Room Tip: 3rd floor area is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webby_sans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The employees were cordials and treat us with respect. The breakfast is a Menu that you might chose from some options and is restrict of that but is really good with a plate of fruits and another choice of food for the breakfast.
I would definitely stay again at this hotel If I go to Cartagena. The other good thing from this Hotel is the localization, inside of Muradas from Cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimundo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed two nigths at the hotel for a business travel. It has an excellent location inside the walled city, close to restaurants and other turistic places. Price very competitive including taxes and excellent breakfast (fruit, juice, bread, eggs, coffe). Good service, nice employees but not fluent english. Rooms clean and comfortable, air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is a small hotel, very clean, and the staff are great -helpful and friendly.
It is very well located on a main street in the historic centre, walking distance from many good sights, cafes and restaurants. I also felt very safe here (buzzed in from the street, 24 reception staff). Great stay for a good price!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very charming hotel in the old city center. Close to airport 10mn by taxi (5 euros per way).
Receptionists are helpful and give some advice about the things to do in Cartagena.
breakfast (included) is fine. Room is really nice but some problems with the shower (not so much water).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotteuse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#40 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
#18 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monterrey
Hotel Monterrey
#57 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#129 of 151 in Cartagena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balcones de Alheli B&B
Balcones de Alheli B&B
#22 of 155 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal de San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal de San Diego

Property: Hotel Portal de San Diego
Address: Calle 2 36 - 17 | Centro, Cartagena 130012, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal de San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Portal de San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal De San Diego Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing