We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Portal de San Diego
Ranked #29 of 185 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2014

my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, the location is excellent we walked everywhere within the walled city, very helpful and polite staff they gave us a map and told us where to go, yummy breakfast made to order fresh fruit eggs coffee and juice, our room was small but very clean, free wifi didn't work in the room only in the lobby

Room Tip: room on the 3rd floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matimartinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Positivo: Excelente localização pra quem quer andar a cidade à pé. Fica na rua onde estão as casas de câmbio, pertíssimo da torre do relógio, de praças, etc. O café da manhã era bom, todos os dias tinha uma tigela com frutas mas que eram sempre as mesmas: mamão, banana ou melancia. Tinha também café, leite, chocolate, suco e você podia escolher uma opção do cardápio que era misto quente (dois) ou algumas opções de omelete. Se quisesse mais de uma opção era cobrado a parte. O atendimento é muito bom, deixaram a gente fazer o check in antes do horário, sempre estavam dispostos a ajudar com dicas de passeio, como se localizar, além de estarem sempre à disposição para atender a qualquer reclamação ou pedido.
Negativo: O Hotel na verdade parece mais uma pousada, por causa do estilo da cidade que é bem histórica. Não tem elevador, somente um lance grandinho de escadas para chegar na recepção. Nos colocaram em um quarto de frente para a área onde o café da manhã é servido e isso foi péssimo porque as moças que preparavam o café começavam a arrumar as mesas por volta de 6 da manhã! Resultado, sempre acordávamos com o barulho. Dica: Solicite um quarto no segundo andar e de preferência longe da rua que também é barulhenta. A limpeza dos quartos deixou bastante a desejar. Na verdade, elas não limpavam, só tiravam o lixo e arrumavam a cama. O box do banheiro tinha uma fresta que vazava água e molhava o banheiro todo, tivemos que colocar uma toalha pra estancar a água. Escolhemos esse hotel dentre outros com o mesmo preço e comodidades principalmente pela água quente. A maioria dos hotéis não tem água quente. O problema é que a água quente que o hotel oferece é pura enganação! Demora um tempo pra água esquentar e quando esquenta fica pelando de rancar o couro! Se você tentar abrir a torneira de água fria pra temperar, a água fica gelada! Enfim, não existe meio termo. Não indicamos o hotel pois acredito que devem existir opções melhores por um preço semelhante ou um pouco mais caro.

Positive: Great location for those who want to walk the city on foot. Is on the street where the houses are rates , right near the clock tower , squares , etc. . The breakfast was good , every day was a bowl of fruit but they were always the same : papaya, banana or watermelon . Also had coffee, milk , chocolate , juice and you could choose an option from the menu that was mixed hot ( two) or some options omelet . If you wanted more than one option was charged separately . The service is very good, let us check in before the time , were always willing to help with tips on walking, as it is located , as well as always being available to satisfy any claim or request .
Negative: We actually looks more like a hostel , because of the style of historic city which is well . No lift , just a beefy flight of stairs to get to reception . Put us in a room facing the area where breakfast is served and it was bad because the ladies who prepared the coffee began to arrange the tables around 6am ! Result, whenever we woke up with the noise . Tip : Ask for a room on the second floor and preferably away from the street which is also noisy . The cleanliness of the rooms left much to be desired . In fact , they are not cleaned , just took out the trash and got ready to bed . The bathroom stall had a crack that leaked water and wet the entire bathroom , we had to put a towel to stop the water. We chose this hotel among others with the same price and amenities mainly by hot water. Most hotels do not have hot water. The problem is that the hot water that the hotel offers is pure deception ! It takes a while to warm water and heats when it is piping hot from becoming rancid leather! If you try to open the cold water tap to temper the water is cold ! Anyway , there is no middle ground. Not indicated because we believe that there must be better options for a similar price or slightly more expensive .

Room Tip: Escolha quartos no segundo andar e longe da janela.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianaPivoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A friend and I stayed here for three nights (we originally booked two, but extended once we were there). It is an adorable basic hotel - clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. The rooms may be a bit small, but for us it wasn't an issue as we were out and about most of the time. The location is fantastic and can't be beat! Additionally, the staff are wonderful and answered our many questions (note: they are mostly Spanish speaking so getting details in English may be harder). The hotel even stored our luggage and gave us towels after we'd checked out so that we could spend a day at the beach.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for five nights on our honeymoon in September 2013. The hotel isn´t cheap at US$95 per night; however, the rooms are tiny. In addition, we had a lot of issues:

1. Our room was right beside the breakfast area (like all 2nd floor rooms) so we were woken at 5.30am every morning.

2. The wifi was terrible and never worked properly.

3. The air-con broke on the first day and covered the floor in water. Following this, the cleaner turned it off every day so when we got back to the room and turned it on, it poured condensate water all over the floor.

4. There was a power cut on the third morning (not the hotel´s fault but kind of compounded our bad experience)...the hotel offered no compensation.

5. We had no hot water for our entire stay and when we finally complained on the third day, the hotel did nothing about it ("the guy who fixes it isn´t here..").

We then complained again the next day and although they set about fixing it then, they acted like it was our fault for not complaining on the first day (also worth noting, when we took a shower the next morning, it, in fact, was still not fixed)...

Never once did anyone apologise for the fact that we had 5 cold showers in a row, they just kept telling us we should have complained sooner, ignoring the fact that three full days after we complained, the problem still hadn´t been fixed...frustrating.

6. When we checked out and asked for a discount or some sort of gesture toward our stay, they gave us US$20 discount off a US$500 bill...insulting.

Now, the staff were nice and helpful and professional, but (and it´s a big "but") noone took responsibility for fixing our water or the "customer care" side of things. We stay in a lot of hotels and we are most definitely not "complainers"; however, the staff became quite disinterested and stoney-faced when we finally complained.

The hotel is clean, the breakfast is good and the location is excellent. If you get a room on the third floor you´re likely to have a good experience. Unfortunately, we didn´t and the measure of a good hotel is not necessarily when things are going to plan, but how they respond when things are going badly for a guest...in our case, the hotel failed in this regard and we will not be recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor or alternatively, find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bairbre-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. This hotel is located right in the center of the old town, where the El Centro part meets the San Diego part within the old town walls which makes it easy to come back to for a break from the heat. The location couldn't be better, good air conditioning, adequate wifi and good breakfast. The staff was nice and i found the price to be good for a hotel in the old town. there are many restaurant/food options, as well as, shopping options.

Rooms on the 2nd floor (reception floor) is more noisy than the ones on the 3rd floor as a FYI.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank simply126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Portal de San Diego for four nights recently. The hotel itself is centrally located in the old town - it is no more than 10 minutes' walk (at a VERY slow pace) to any part of the walls surrounding the city. We were helped up the stairs after ringing at the security gate very quickly, and upon check in we were provided with a comprehensive map of the old town, with details of sights of interest, major attractions, churches etc on the reverse. When we were shown to our room we were given help with the aircon, tv, cable, safe etc etc

The room was on the small-side, but there was enough space. Great aircon in the room, but none in the common areas (which are outside); though there were decent fans and it wasn't too bad sitting there in the middle of the day in 90% humidity! Despite being next to the breakfast area and one of the routers, the wifi was not very good in the room - one bar only if we were lucky. Oddly, as soon as we opened the door, the signal was full..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank D01_and_D02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel's location is perfect for a short stay in the walled city. The good restaurants are just a few steps away and a decent bar is right next door. If you like bread, there's a bakery across the street that serves freshly made pan de queso :)

Room Tip: 3rd floor area is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webby_sans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Heredia
Hotel Boutique Casa Heredia
#118 of 159 in Cartagena
16 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#56 of 159 in Cartagena
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Los Puntales
Hotel Casa Los Puntales
#17 of 185 in Cartagena
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 185 in Cartagena
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
Hotel Puertas de Cartagena
#26 of 185 in Cartagena
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#6 of 185 in Cartagena
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal de San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal de San Diego

Address: Calle 2 36 - 17 | Centro, Cartagena 130012, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal de San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Portal de San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal De San Diego Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing