We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal La Casona de Getsemani
Ranked #103 of 179 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Acceptable but nothing great”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The good:
-Value for the money was there, getting a private ensuite double in a good location for C$100K.
-Room was clean and well taken care of.
-Air conditioning was cold.
-Location in Gestemani is good with lots of budget restaurants and bars nearby.
-Quiet. Not much outside noise, partying, and couldn't hear the street.
-Felt safe. Neighborhood was decent. Entrance was locked or guarded. Door locks secure.
-Comfy beds. We slept great!

The mediocre:
-There is no hot water, but it wasn't freezing iced-cold either. We prefer hot water, but found the 'cold' (more like tepid) water there to be very tolerable.
-I suppose it was nice to have breakfast included, but it was a bit of a joke here. Its just coffee, assorted fruit, and two slices of bread. Not toast, but two slices of plain old white bread. Get a toaster!
-The staff was okay. Not too friendly, but not rude either.
-Room and bathroom seemed to be oddly configured and cramped.

The bad:
-Wifi. If you need solid, reliable, fast wifi, don't come here. Its perfectly fine if you just need to check your email or poke around online, but not suitable for anything more. Dropped many times for lengthy periods and when it did work, it was very slow.

Room Tip: If your picky about your fruit, get to breakfast early as the better pieces seem to go first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    34
    10
    24
See reviews for
16
36
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed 8 nights in a private double en-suite room after the Air BnB accommodation a few blocks away in Getsemani turned out to be a total nightmare.

Casona's location is pretty good, right in the heart of Getsemani, close to lots of cheap and fairly good restaurants and bars. The standard wasn't amazingly great, but was the best of anything we could find in the area for a similar price. It seems nowhere other than the big expensive hotel chains have hot water in Cartagena, so we made do with cold showers for the week. (It's not so bad in the really hot weather, but I really don't think it should be considered a luxury/premium!)

Our bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and one downside of the location was a fair amount of noise from nearby bars, including one street party on a Sunday night that raged until 5am! (not the fault of the hotel) On the plus side, our room was cleaned and we were given fresh towels and sheets EVERY DAY! Although I would gladly have exchanged this service for a few hot showers...

Our room rate included breakfast, which was nice but very basic, consisting of fresh fruit, juice, a tiny bread roll and tea/coffee. Depending on which staff member was working that day, we were sometimes able to blag an extra roll and a whole banana.

For the most part, the reception staff were kind and helpful, but one particular young night porter seemed to think it was perfectly acceptable to have his friends over every night he worked, and they would listen to music and watch films on the TV in the reception/courtyard area on full volume.
We had to repeatedly ask him to turn the volume down until he complied, another guest took to shouting at him even more often to get their point across of being a paying customer who expected to be able to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

You can get air conditioned dorms for 25000 pesos, which is a great price in Cartagena. The staff is friendly and there is a cute patio where they serve a complimentary fruit, bread, juice, and coffee breakfast. I've stayed here and many other hostels in Cartagena and this one is, by far, my favorite!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

this Little place took me by complete surprise after spending 38 hours on a very rough boat trip from san blas.got the room w/private shower for $30 and the staff was over the top when it came to helping you.there must be 1000 hostals in this city but sometimes you just stumble on a Little nugget.i recommend you at least give it a look

Room Tip: its in the economical district but well worth checking out amongst the hoards of options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eWorld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Location great as its in the heart of gestsemani. Staff super friendly but there were stinky sewer works and our ac broke on the second night. Decent rooms and a good communal area.breakfast is average just fruit and bread with coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed in a different hostal for one night, but it charged additional $COP 20,000 for AC which you will need in Cartagena, so we moved to La Casona. I found it was reasonably priced, it was three of us, so we opted for a private room. Rooms were small, but clean. Very basic hostel, but adequate and a short walk to the old city. If you are looking for a reasonable place that is clean and relatively inexpensive, this place makes sense if you are a group looking to book a private room. Do opt for an air conditioning, it will be a good investment. Staff did speak decent English which was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A private room cost us COP$68,000 (without aircon - it was 79k with aircon, but we did not need it). I thought this was overprced for what the place was.

The rooms were clean enough, a little small though. All of the rooms overlook the courtyard, which means that if there are party people staying and sitting outside, then it will be noisy inside.

The price includes 'breakfast' which was just watermelon and papaya - not really worth having.

The wifi did not work inside the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#19 of 179 in Cartagena
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Victoria
Hostal Casa Victoria
#74 of 156 in Cartagena
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Getsemani Hostel
Getsemani Hostel
#110 of 179 in Cartagena
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#12 of 179 in Cartagena
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Micaela
Hostal Casa Micaela
#32 of 179 in Cartagena
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Green House Coffee Bar
Hostel Green House Coffee Bar
#88 of 179 in Cartagena
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Casona de Getsemani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casona de Getsemani

Property: Hostal La Casona de Getsemani
Address: Calle Tripita y Media, Cra. 10 No. 31 - 32, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 179 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal La Casona de Getsemani 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal La Casona de Getsemani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Casona De Getsemani Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing