We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well for us”
Review of Casa Viena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Viena
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worked well for us”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here January 2014 for 3 nights in the 3 bed dorm room with A/C. The room didn't feel like a dorm room though and was rather spacious with a little couch and desk. We paid 28.000 pesos (roughly $14 USD) each and considering the great A/C, the price seemed more than fair. Within the room we each had our own lockbox that you set the code to open yourself (no personal lock needed). There are two small bathrooms at the end of the hall with showers (only cold water). Beer, soda, and water were sold for roughly $1 each with free coffee, two small laptops for general use, wifi (a bit spotty at times), and a kitchen area upstairs with all you need. The room and general areas were all kept very clean by the staff.

The location is in an area with numerous other hostals, small hotels, bars, restaurants, juice bars, etc. Plenty of action all around during the day and night. Felt super safe in the area. Was within easy walking distance to the old, walled part of town.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscrowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    43
    33
    21
    16
See reviews for
2
57
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great for backpackers. Clean, cheap rooms with lock boxes and friendly staff. Dimas in particular was a fountain of knowledge. Even if you're not staying here, drop by for help booking tours, activities and stays on the Islas de Rosario (the stunning islands an hour's boat ride from Cartagena).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LD_DGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

When backpacking with a limited budget, u expect the worse. But casa viena surprised us with its cleanness and the effort of the staff to keep it like that. There are safe boxes in the rooms, free coffee and wi fi. If u have a larger budget, of course stay at a better hotel but if u r looking for hostel, this place is good enough.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugu_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Casa Viena is very much - you get what you are paying for. If you expect an up market 5 star experience you need to look else where and pay the money. Casa Viena is a great place to meet people, and an excellent back packer Hostel. It has been part of the South American experience for years and if you want to be part of that adventure stay there. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Over the years I have often stayed there, great location, great value for money and - safe.

Room Tip: The back upstairs rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights and even though we got a free upgrade to a room with a bathroom we didn't like the place. Staff was friendly and the place was old but clean, dunno what it was maybe the layout of the place, just it wasn't cozy. Paper thin walls will keep u awake at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

wanaka
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Viena, the girls managing the place now are super nice and very helpful for any queries one has. The hostel is well situated close to the old town and in a vibrant neighborhood of its own. They supply safety boxes, wifi, kitchen facilities and a hangout space. All compact, but tidy and well kept.

Room Tip: ask for a room with air conditioning as it is too hot to sleep otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at Casa Viena as we had read good reviews on it online.
This place is owned by an Austrian but he no longer manages it and I believe is looking to sell it. Either way he needs to dispose of his manager ASAP.
The place is filthy dirty and disgusting.
We booked a private room with private bathroom.
On arrival they were digging up the street and drains which was certainly not the hostels fault. It smelt but we understood it was out of their control.
However, the dirty room was not out off their control. It was disgusting. It smelt and I found more pubes than I've ever come across.
We were in room 8 which had a 'balcony' - more of an iron railing with plants facing the 'roof terrace' more of that in a moment.
The room had air on but the bathroom did not - quite normal here.
The bathroom was built so breeze blocks were at the top looking out at the 'roof terrace' opposite so my partner could see everyone else when showering!
The shower was tiny and only wide enough for me - I'm a size 10 UK so guess from that what you will! It was also full of dirty shelves and more pubes! I did not use it!
The bathroom was also up a step and due to the lack of room and the bathroom door opening into our room my boyfriend hit his head twice trying to get out of it!
We encoded to try the 'roof terrace' - think more of a rusty metal ladder up to a greasy rotten outside area. There's no view. There's washing everywhere. A thick layer of grease and dirt on everything. Oh and by the way this couples as the kitchen - good luck not getting a disease in there!
Back downstairs I sat on a sofa to check the Internet which you cannot access on the 'roof terrace'. I had to move to let stone past and realised I had been sat on someone's toe nail clippings. I was nearly sick and we left!
Disgusting place. If you have any concern for hygiene be warned.
I have rated a 1 so it registers but would give a 0!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#11 of 188 in Cartagena
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
#8 of 188 in Cartagena
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#6 of 188 in Cartagena
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#28 of 188 in Cartagena
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#14 of 188 in Cartagena
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#7 of 188 in Cartagena
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viena

Property: Casa Viena
Address: Calle 30 53, Cartagena 130014, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viena is a very warm and peaceful hostel ... With a staff ready to help you in whatever it takes to give you a pleasant stay in our hostel, accompanied by information, guidance, organization and tourist advice .. We have private rooms and dormitories with air conditioned We are in the coolest area of Cartagena (Getsemani), strategically close to everything ... Walking you can reach all the interesting places, walk for streets and enjoy the happiness of his people is the most interesting Casa Viena offers a wifi, coffee during the day, safety boxes in the rooms, internet, book exchange / guidebooks, kitchen laundry services, lugagge store..Also we provide you all the services and facilities about what you can do in the city and in Colombia (tours, transport, information and advice on trips and excursions to San Blas / Panama. .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing