We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Pretty Good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de la Chicheria
Ranked #66 of 167 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Location: It located in a brilliant part of the old city.
Price: great price for what you get.
Amenities: Everything that you need.

General - whilst the rooms and bathrooms are a little tired they are completely functional and are comfortable. The staff/ owners are welcoming and full of great information including local eateries, transport etc. The pool and common area are just what you need after a day of walking around and sightseeing. Cartagena is HOT

Room Tip: We had the double ensuite room that opens onto the pool. IMO, that's the best one.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matwilliams19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

I was very happy with my choice in Cartagena. There are not a lot of truly budget options, but this is a good one. It is right in the walled, old city and is walking distance to everything (everything is walking distance to everything, really). The hostel itself is very nice; all blue and white with two small courtyard pools (one with fish, one for dipping into). There are a coup,d of hammocks and a nice living room area for hanging out, using the computer or watching tv. There is also a big table for eating or hanging around at.

I stayed in the private room with the shared bathroom. The room was ok. It is nothing special - just two beds pushed together, but it was clean and had good AC. There are 2 bathrooms: one for boys and one for girls. The bathroom didn't feel super clean, but it was fine. The shower was nice. The kitchen also didn't feel super clean, but i only used it for storing stuff in the fridge. (I should say, it may not be that anything lacked for cleanliness, but maybe things were just a bit shabby. Either way, it wasn't a problem.)

By the way, the room with the private bathroom looked really nice. if i was going back, i would stay in that room.

There was a computer for use and free wifi. There was always someone on hand to chat with or help arrange travel plans. The people that ran/worked at the place were so nice and welcoming. That was probably he best part.

It's not the best place i have stayed, but i think that for Cartagena, if money is a concern, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I loved this hostel and stayed during two different visits to Cartagena. The location is perfect - right in the old town but not too close to the noisiest areas and within walking distance of everything. The staff were lovely and friendly, the dorm is comfortable and the living area is cozy. Not for those who want to party but ideal for travellers who want to be based in the old town, with good amenities in a quiet environment.

Room Tip: Ask for a blanket as it can get quite cold at night with the AC on
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meanderingcailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights in la casa de la chicheria in the dormitory and loved it. Location is great, in the old town. Place is clean and nicely decorated, beds are comfy, wifi is working well, price is good. Above all, myriam is very welcoming and helped us to organise our day trips to islas de rosario and the volcan, as well as our transfer to Taganga. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneburgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It was a really quick business trip, but in general in enjoyed the hotel a lot, is an old restored colonial house, part of it is a hostel, there were a group of backpackers in a room with bunk beds. Miriam was really helpful before the arrival and Mr David in the night shift was very attentive also. Mi room was really nice and interesting with lots of nice details. Cartagena is hot and humid, so the air conditioning was absolutely welcome. The bathroom is also really interesting and nice with a big shower. If you are looking for a typical hotel room this is not for you, this one has little imperfections but that is what made it so interesting. The location es very good also , is close to the walls of the old city, so you have to walk 3 or 4 blocks to get to the restaurants, but is so beautiful around that it doesn't matter, I walked for a couple of hours and enjoyed looking around, having some food, taking pictures, looking at the students coming out of night college. I definitely recommend la casa

Room Tip: the main room is very nice
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nereo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nice, quiet, great location, great service, nice people, super clean... Is not a party hostel so you can actually rest, the staff makes you feel that you're at home, so far is my favorite Colombian hostel !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmegunl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013. Apparently the budget accommodation in Cartagena is generally pretty poor and this is one of the best of a bad bunch. For Cartagena it's probably quite a good option, but compared to hostels in other parts of Colombia it's overpriced and not very good, which is why we moved on after only two nights.

The positives are the air conditioning in the bedrooms - it's essential in that climate - and the location in the old town. The pool is OK to cool down in, but it's tiny. On the downside, the bunks in the dorm are piled three high, there is only one shared bathroom for men and one for women so you sometimes have to wait, and there were quite a lot of ants and other insects wandering all over the kitchen and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
0.1 mi away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#84 of 155 in Cartagena
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
#69 of 155 in Cartagena
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Chicheria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Chicheria

Address: Calle de la Chicheria No. 38 - 34 | Centro, Cartagena 6600560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Chicheria is a luxurious open plan house, located in beautiful El Centro. It's a colonial house with modern facilities - rooftop terrace, pool, fully equipped kitchen and a bbq area that is the perfect setting for a dinner party with new friends. All bedrooms are air-conditioned. We offer our guests exclusive access to activities including wake boarding lessons with a professional, private catamaran charter cruises, and access to a privately owned casa on the Rosario Islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De La Chicheria Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing