We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved this house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candil de los santos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candil de los santos
Ranked #74 of 147 Hotels in Cartagena
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved this house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in this house for 6 days while attending my daughter's wedding March 2014. There were 10 of us and we couldn't have been happier. Its hard to tell from the pictures but the pool is on the main level along with the kitchen, eating area, 3 sitting areas, and 2 bedrooms. The 3 remaining bedrooms are on the second level. This was great since we had someone who has difficulty navigating steps. We spent all of our time on the main level by the pool. Although the pool is in the sun, there is plenty of covered area around it to sit and a nice breeze kept us very comfortable. We even had a party the day after the wedding at the house with 40 people, and there was plenty of room for everyone. The staff was great and very helpful and the house is in a great location. We all kept saying "this house is perfect!" The only down side was our plane didn't leave until 8:00 pm and we had to leave because more guests were checking in and they had to clean the rooms. So they kept our bags in the front room and we did some shopping and then sat in the lobby of the Sofetil Santa Clara until our car arrived. And actually, that just reconfirmed that staying at Candil de los Santos was a better choice for us than staying at the big hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

we went with our family and rented the whole house.
Beautiful, organised, cozy, the staff is great, always helpful and friendly and perfectly located.
we had the best time there.
Thanks guys!

Monica y Andres.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monicalopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Well-located charming house with cozy patio and enjoyable pool.

Service was nice but provided by housekeepers, well intended but not professionally trained.

Room was good in size, although furniture was old and in need if repairs, safety box was not working and there was no hot water running during the whole weekend (we were told that the heater broke but they did not offer any type of discount or alternative compensation for this).

Breakfast was bad, although we were the only guests in the house we were never asked if we were ok with what they were planning to prepare. Fruit seemed to have been diced and refrigerated previously (just diced papaya and banana), juice was good but eggs were scarce and we were never offered alternatives.

It's a very good option to stay in Cartagena but it's just too expensive for the service you get in return, we felt as if someone lend their house for our vacation and not in a boutique hotel (which can be great for an airbnb experience but not at this price level).

I've been to other boutique hotels in the city and the experience was more professional and according to the price and expectations.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alvvvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 5 days at Candil de los Santos in September 2013. Robert and the whole staff provided us with a wonderful experience, perfect recommendations, beautiful breakfasts and surroundings that are peaceful and very special.

The hotel/house is perfectly situated just off of San Diego Plaza and offers tranquil, luxury surroundings and a lap pool to relax by during those humid afternoons. As a couple or with friends, Candil de los Santos would make a wonderful hotel for yor stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here with 10 other friends for a wedding july 2013. Staff was amazing, all the rooms were amazing. I particularly liked all the bathrooms - with huge ceilings and/or views of the courtyard. We had some people over for a pre-wedding pool party, and they were so jealous of our house! The staff went shopping for us and prepared snacks for the afternoon on the days when we were hanging out at the house. The pool was so refreshingly cold as compared with the hot streets of Cartagena. The house is very conveniently located to the Sofitel Santa Clara so it is always easy to go over there to grab a cab or use their spa. Cannot recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms on the top floor, though they are a little smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwolf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Found this place through Internet research and am glad I did! This colonial house is absolutely fantastic and in a great location.

We were a group of 6 people and we ended up booking the entire place. Pool was awesome and we had some great pool parties :)

Rooms are fantastic, each with its own full bathroom. There is a safe in each room which is helpful for travelers. Location is great and there is a grocery store and lots of restaurants in close proximity. There is also a Sofitel a few steps away where you can hail a cab anytime day or night if needed.

Robert was a great host and explained everything we needed to know about our stay. Dayo and his wife were great and cooked some excellent meals for us. Communication can be a bit of a barrier if you only speak English, but that is part of the experience I guess! There is also a house cat so keep that in mind in case you don't like cats. He is pretty lazy anyways.

Overall a great stay and I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Cartagena!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed in Candil de los Santos with nine friends for a wedding in March 2013. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The place was exceptionally clean and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We would make special requests for breakfast, meal times and grocery pick-up, and they always accommodated us. I also found the manager, Robert, to be quite easy to deal with and willing to help us on a moment's notice.

My favorite part of our stay was the house itself. I do not think the pictures do it justice. Cartagena can be quite hot, and the outdoor area includes a covered and a sunny area where the whole group can hang out together.

If I go back to Cartagena, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKrasnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#65 of 147 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#57 of 147 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Toribio
Hotel Santo Toribio
#61 of 147 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 147 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Banderas
Hotel 3 Banderas
#43 of 147 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#27 of 147 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candil de los santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candil de los santos

Property: Candil de los santos
Address: Calle Campo Santo N. 9-36 | Barrio San Diego - Old City, Cartagena 13001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 147 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Candil de los santos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candil de los santos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing