We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Wait to Come Back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Ranked #61 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannot Wait to Come Back!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Our family has been so incredibly impressed with Casa Canabal that we are already missing it and we just left!
Pros: ease of reservations, English speaking staff, quick response time to emails/phone calls. Breakfast is good and filling with staff willing to accommodate any need you can possibly have. Cleanliness of rooms and hotel is top-notch. Very quiet suite (#210) and had a small terrace and great view of the street below. Fully stocked mini-bar and television down and upstairs. Bedding was superior and beds were comfortable. Air conditioning was our saving grace!
Cons: NONE!

The staff at Casa Canabal have gone above and beyond in making our stay comfortable and welcoming. The area (Getsemani) is very lively and there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. The area is safe and we walked late into the night with no problems. The hotel will gladly arrange travel to and from anywhere you need to go.

After traveling extensively over Europe, the US and now South America, we had the means and choice to stay anywhere but Casa Canabal will always be our "home" in cartagena.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katytexas7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Gerente de Mercadeo at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good Afternoon
Dear Ms. Katy pleases us read your comments expressing his pleasure at staying at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, this makes us reason to continue to strive to meet the expectations of our customers.
See you at the next opportunity to meet them as they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    157
    28
    13
    25
See reviews for
64
278
25
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff. Close to great upcoming bars in Getsenami. Rooms however have no windows which makes it feel small and musty smell. Pools were nice to cool down but not ideal if you are looking for a 'swim'. There was always a few options at breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Director Comercial at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good Afternoon Dear Belinda
Thank you for your review calling our service, unfortunately the hotel infrastructure made his experience was not so pleasant.
We consider your valuable comments; we apologize and hope that in a next trip we can provide an unforgettable experience, which is a benchmark for other guests.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in this home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at casa canabal for 4 nights and were really pleased with our choice.

Firstly Henry the guy who manages the bookings is warm and plesent and instantly makes you feel at home.

The room we had was very spacious, really well spec'd with a great bathroom.

Breakfast was good and the service around the hotel in general was good.

Would definately recommend this boutique hotel. Its also located bang in the middle of bohemian area getsemini, which for me is a must if you want to experience the true cartagena

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Director Comercial at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good Afternoon
Dear Mr. Daniel, it's nice for us for feedback, giving the accomplishment accounts, your rating motivates us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable in the hotel. We love being able to get back into Canabal House, his home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is new and small. The rooms are small but complete and well furnished. Try to book rooms as far from the reception area as possible as it is very noisy. Only the AC drowns out the sound of voices and guests moving around. Most rooms have no exterior (window) view. There is a nice dip pool on the roof terrace. No views from the roof terrace. No elevator. Staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast is good. Situation: walking distance from the old, walled city. Located in a narrow street with nice small local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Gerente de Mercadeo at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good Afternoon
Dear Mr Peter, is gratifying for us to have feedback like yours, then motivate us to improve the shortcomings that prevent having a pleasant stay.
We apologize for providing a room near reception which accumulates noise, thanks to your comments, we are working to solve problems of filtering noise in the rooms on the first floor.
We hope that in your next arrival to Cartagena we choose and so give you the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Casa Canabal for two nights in April 2014 while on a week long vacation in Colombia. We could not have been happier with the experience. We chose Casa Canabal based on 1) positive feedback from the tripadvisor community and 2) price. We knew we wanted to stay in the Old City and preferred to spend $150 USD or less per night.

At first we were hesitant to stay in Getsemani, but after our stay we could not have been happier. While there are larger, more luxurious hotels inside the Walled City such as the Santa Teresa or Sofitel Santa Clara, those hotels were approximately $350 USD per night or more. Casa Canabal offers a wonderful, comfortable experience for significantly cheaper. Also, Getsemani is an awesome location in Cartagena and offers great dining and nightlife. Do not be hesitant about staying in Getsemani - it has a lot to offer and you can easily walk to walled city in five minutes.

As far as the hotel itself, the staff was awesome - extremely helpful and polite. We needed assistance booking transportation to Tayrona and they arranged the pick up for us - no problem. Also, you are able to use bikes for free to explore the city. The roof top pool is an awesome spot to relax. While the pool is small, it is good for cooling off and it was pretty much empty while we were there. There is a lot of space to lounge. Our room was small and had no windows, but it was extremely clean and comfortable. I understand a number of the rooms do have windows so I recommend asking specifically if you insist on having them. The AC worked flawlessly, the bathroom was very modern and the bed was super comfortable. We spent our time in Cartagena exploring, eating and drinking so we did not need a very luxurious room.

Overall, I highly recommend Casa Canabal. It was worth every penny and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Nos agrada leer su comentario donde expresa su agrado por alojarse en Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, esto nos llena de motivo para seguir esforzándonos por llenar las expectativas de nuestros clientes. Los esperamos en una próxima ocasión para recibirlos como se merecen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only for 1 night, I wish it where more... The hotel is really beautiful, unfortunately in a trashy neighbourhood.
But from this hotel you can walk to the City wall.
Great massage btw.!
Only the swimming pool is a bit small, but big enough to cool down in the hot sun!
Would really reccomand!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tijdreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped,

Valoramos mucho su apreciasion, seguimos trabajando en nuestro continuo mejoramiento al igual que nos gratifica escuchar buenos comentarios como el suyo, esperamos su pronta visita en esta,su casa en cartagena sera un placer atenderlo nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valledupar, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is located in the increasingly interesting and dynamic Getsemani neighbourhood. As a result, the tariffs offered are very competitive when compared with similar offerings inside the walled city (which is only five minutes walk away). We decided to spend a little more for a suite, which turned out to be huge space with a large living area downstairs and bedroom upstairs, all combining modern high quality furnishings with colonial style. Staff were all friendly and helpful and breakfast was outstanding. Just wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel also had good quality bicycles available free to guests which was a nice touch. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Es muy satisfactorio para nosotros leer su comentario, que da cuentas al deber cumplido, su calificación nos motiva a continuar trabajando arduamente para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hotel. Nos encantará poderlo recibir nuevamente en Casa Canabal, su casa en Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 155 in Cartagena
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#63 of 155 in Cartagena
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.7 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Tripita Y Media Cra 10. # 31-39, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canabal House Hotel is located in the traditional Gethsemane district, 10 minutes from Rafael Nunez airport and steps from the convention center of the city. Our policy of personal customer service is especially designed for you and where we hope to enjoy an unforgettable experience. We have 18 rooms; Standard rhythms, Superior and Suites. You can also enjoy fine dining in our restaurant, created with local ingredients by our chefs. Disconnect will take pleasure in the world in the Spa, through its rituals, relax in the ambience of the Mirador Terrace and be tempted by our menu of cocktails and spirits at the Bar Lounge. Spaces that lead to know the city of Cartagena de Indias, declared by UNESCO Cultural Heritage and Historic Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing