We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little piece of paradise”
Review of Karmairi Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karmairi Hotel Spa
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Wedding ceremony.. awesome.. reception... outstanding... but the honeymoon at Karmairi,,, Spectacular! My new bride and I were treated as King and Queen.. the wait staff was cordial and attentive.. they seem to have more people working there than guests (the hotel was fully booked when we stayed). The room was perfectly clean and intimate (and we stayed in a basic room) and had an very nice "almost" outdoor shower. the view.. well... Paradise!

The spa pampering, impressive (we did the couples 3hr session) and the food delicious, combining regional flavors with hints from Peruvian and other latinamerican cuisine. Make sure and try the included breakfast arepas!..Cant wait to come back to have many more Maracuja Mojitos..
Check with hotel for times for the included transfers from the city, it will save you money and put you in a clean and spacious vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi,

We are very glad you had a great time at Karmairi Hotel Spa. We try to keep a high standard and the best service, so you can enjoy and relax at our hotel.

We also appreciate your review regarding the restaurant and bar. We do our best in order to improve our flavors and drinks all the time.

We are looking forward to have you here soon.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    78
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
230
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good points: We were impressed with the service. For example, I needed access to the Internet but had not brought my laptop, being a holiday. There weren't any computers for guests, but a maid thought of the solution - for me to use a spare laptop from the office. The restaurant had an interesting menu and a Peruvian chef, so great ceviche. Portions are small and prices typically high for Cartagena, although the vegetarian menu provides an interesting and in expensive alternative. Our superior room was ample and a good place to chill out in air conditioning during the midday heat. Lots of comfy sofas and chairs on the deck from which to watch the sunset, and good cocktails including Hendricks and Fever Tree. Useful free shuttle to and from the old walled city. No kids - no one under 15 allowed. Mid week room rates good value.

Not so good points: Lots of mosquitoes at sundown so spray well. Restaurant portions are small. Cheapest rooms are very small. Very expensive spa treatments, even for Cartagena. The beach is not private, but relatively undeveloped and largely free of hawkers.The beach near the hotel is littered with bottles and rubbish from picnics.

Room Tip: Standard Premium have much more space than the small rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisinbogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi,

First of all tank you for your recommendations. We already talked with the different departments and we hope we can come up with a solution for each item.

We are glad you had a great time at Karmairi Hotel Spa and we hope to have you here again in order to have an unforgettable experience in Cartagena.

Looking forward to hear from you very soon.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The limonata de coco was amazing. All the drinks had fresh fruit juice and the breakfasts were ample, creative and varied. I greatly enjoyed the body scrub and massage at the spa. The service was consistently friendly and responsive. Rooms were clean and even our small one was lovely. The beds were really good. The beach isn't the greatest there, but we could walk and sunbathe without any vendors bothering us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello,

We are glad you enjoy our drinks, is one of the main things we like to show in our hotel. We would like to have you here again, so we hope to hear from you very soon.

Karmairi Hotel Spa is the firs option in Cartagena for relaxing and Spa that is why we have te best service and treatment here.

Have a nice day.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel September 13-15 of 2013.

The bad: We arrived at around 3:30pm (during the hottest time of the day) in around 85F temps and nearly 100% humidity.
The front desk person was initially just a regular guy doing a regular check-in. No 5-star like welcome here.

The headache started when we were taken to room 208 only to realize that the air conditioning unit was not working. The temperature reader showed 34C when we had programmed the a/c unit to be at 19C. The room was a boiler, so, we called the front desk within minutes to have someone fix the a/c unit.
After waiting 10 minutes no one had shown up. I went downstairs to find out what was going on.
Finally a tech person came to the room shortly after, took a look at the a/c unit, and stated “it is not working”.
By then we had been waiting in insufferable heat to get a decent room with a/c for over half an hour.
I asked to speak with the supervisor to complain about the room we were given with a broken air conditioning unit.
It took the hotel management another half hour to give us an upgraded room. We had to wait a total of around 60 minutes to get a decent room, and I had to argue with the local staff which seemed unresponsive at first in order to solve their problem.

Other bad stuff: The clock in the first room was not set properly.
The “welcoming drinks” served to us were 75% ice cubes, 15% foam, and 10% actual drinking liquid. I don’t think the Karmairi staff realizes they are doing themselves a disservice by serving these “welcoming drinks”.
There is no hot water in the bathroom sink, if you are used to shaving with hot water, tough cookies.
My wife was bit seven times by mosquitoes while we were hanging around the pool area in the afternoon.
The hotel breakfast portions are ridiculously small.

The good: the hotel upgraded us to a better room after the a/c unit fiasco. We were also offered complimentary drinks while we were waiting in the heat for the second room to be ready.
The hotel pool area is very nice, and so is the beach area, which includes beach beds. It is a shame that you can’t be out in these areas after 5pm without wearing bug repellent – you will be eaten by the mosquitoes.
The bar staff was good. As a hotel policy they try to memorize the names of every guest, which is a nice detail.

I honestly feel we did not get our money’s worth at this hotel.
This is a typical case of a hotel operation that charges very high prices while they sell you this image of a 5-star hotel destination, but the reality is far different –again I am not saying this is a bad hotel. I am saying this is NOT a five-star hotel. In fact, it is not even a four star hotel.
For the money we paid here we could had stayed at other nicer, large nearby hotels, getting a lot more value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Mauricio ,

Firs of all thank you for your review. We sorry about the bad things happened to you. I already sent all your review to each department involved so they are making changes in order to provide the best service to all our guests.

We hope to have you here again and see for your self all the changes and have a pleasant time at Karmairi Hotel Spa.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

from the moment you arrive its exactly what i'd hoped for in. no hassle checking in, you're seated with a refreshing welcome drink by the pool as the receptionists checks you in.
rooms are very clean, perfect size for an exclusive getaway. only 14 rooms, so you won't run into many people!
private beach and staff was attention, gracious and very accommodating! will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi,

We are really proud and all our staff is very happy as they are always with a smile and able to give you the best service in Cartagena.

Our hotel is a very relaxing hotel and as is small we can take care of all our guests all you all deserve.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After staying for 3 days in the old city (glorious!) we came here for 2 days to really chill. What a great decision! The food was excellent. The ambiance of the whole place is like a spa. So relaxing. Speaking of the spa - I did a few treatments, and they were great. The beach was wide and empty. The water was gorgeous and warm. We stayed in two rooms - the first was really small. When an upgrade was possible, we got it, and the room was great. Not an ocean view, but we spent so much time in the patio and beach areas, we didn't miss it. Truly a wonderful find.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi,

We are really happy that you scape from Cartagena and have a pleasant and relaxing time at Karmairi Hotel Spa. The hotel is very peaceful so you can have a quite time enjoying all our areas and beach.

Hope you can come here again and have a great time again.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a belated but sincere posting for this wonderful hotel, which was a welcome retreat after a few nights in the Old Town, and combines the beach with proximity to the city, yet without the congestion. The rooms were wonderful; the food very good; and the service, excellent. I was impressed by how many Columbians came to the hotel for a weekend retreat. The white-on-white pool area with its multiple levels and sections was beautiful, and the somewhat-limited pool was nevertheless delightful. While the beach has some limitations, its proximity with access by cab from Cartagena - - as opposed to a boat/ferry to the island beaches - - was preferred, especially with our time limitations. We did not take the shuttle into the city, as we questioned its reliability from other TA postings and, as indicated, initially stayed a few nights in the city beforehand. Be advised: it is in a secluded area; the road into it is sparse and not recommended to explore; and I recommend stocking up on bottled water and snacks in Cartagena before visiting the hotel. Also, if you buy shucked clams or oysters made into instant cerviche from the "vendors" with coolers on the beach, be sure to negotiate and agree on a price before placing an order, as they charged me triple what a Columbian couple paid in a nearby beach tent,

Room Tip: If the room was available, we found getting a compiimentary upgrade was possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Internet Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi,

We are glad you had a pleasant time at Karmairi Hotel Spa. We try to improve every single day with your reviews and comments.

Our hotel is waiting for you any time you want and have a relaxing time here.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
7.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kohsamui Casa Hotel Del Mar
Kohsamui Casa Hotel Del Mar
#96 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
#25 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
7.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 151 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel LM
Hotel LM
#36 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmairi Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmairi Hotel Spa

Property: Karmairi Hotel Spa
Address: Km 3 Via Manzanillo Del Mar, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:5 star — Karmairi Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Using our main resource, water, Karmairi Spa show a comfortable space full of relaxation and healthiness, where our guests can find themselves and enjoy Cartagena. Come and enjoy our private beach and all the spaces that Karmairi Hotel Spa has for you. Enjoy the Caribbean in Colombia with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karmairi Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karmairi Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing