We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best option for Cartagena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Diego 974 Suites
Ranked #14 of 161 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best option for Cartagena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

For the love of all which is holy, stay here!! Hands down, this hotel is a gem and when looking at the other hotels around, it's a steal of a deal. Right in the middle of the old city, it's easy access to the some of the best restaurants, and sights. It's walking distance to the ramparts, the ocean and bike rentals. The junior suite we were in had all the amenities we wanted with more. (The front desk even gave us some fresh coffee to brew, which was a nice treat each morning since they have a coffee maker). The suite have plenty of large couches, big flat screen TV's, LOTS of space to roam around and both bathrooms are very modern; marble, large walk-in showers with waterfall spouts, with the latest faucets and of course, extremely clean. Our suite had a nice patio outside which had a two trees providing a natural rooftop cover. The entire hotel is very modern, contemporary and just feels fancy. The kept the pool open late for us, and brought us towels. Highly recommend staying in the pool and watching the sunset! The only downside is that they don't serve breakfast in the morning, but there are so many options around the old city, it's not an issue at all. Plus. most of the suites have a full functioning kitchen, and getting food around the old city is easy, making breakfast in the morning is very simple, and easy. The entire staff was very relaxed, easy going and always ready to help. The concierge even helped us book day-excursions to the roasario islands and snorkeling. There was plenty of hot water, each room had an AC which worked. I will come back here for sure.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing, large with lots of amenities. Try and get a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Went Back to Cartagena after 10 years, couldn't have picked a better place for such a trip. Perfect location, amazing staff, beautiful rooms and so spacious. I felt safe, all needs met, from the front desk, office, housekeeping all very polite, helpful and well mannered.
I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Traveled to Cartagena with family and friends and needed apartment style accommodations for our large group. The junior suite is large with multiple couches; though they are not pull out couches, they can fit an average sized adult to sleep. The hotel was very relaxed about the number of people in each apartment with no additional charges, which was greatly appreciated. The hotel staff and security is very nice but English can be limited. Housekeeping services including laundry were very good. The hotel is conveniently located walking distance from many excellent restaurants and shops. While not a luxurious hotel, it served our needs very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

STAY HERE! This place is amazing. It should be ranked number 1 in Cartagena. This place is pure luxury, outstanding, everything I expected and much much more. You enter into this massive lobby, all in white, huge mirror in the middle. Our room was beautiful and massive! One bedroom, living room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, two balconies. The cost was dirt cheap compared to other hotels of the same stature in other countries. We payed about $300/night. There are two pools. One that is more private and a rooftop pool.

The service was amazing also. The front desk arranged tours for us. We decided to hire a private driver to take us to the volcano and to playa blanca. Prices were great also!

This hotel is quiet, we saw just a handful of guests during our 3 day stay. We didn't mind at all. Sometimes it's good to come back to a quiet hotel after being out in the craziness! (We are in our late 20s fyi)

Only con is that there isn't a restaurant/bar but the front desk can order outside food for you or you can just head out to eat.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here with our daughter for several nights during the OAS conference. it was a great find! The apartment suite include a separate bedroom for us. The kitchen was well-stocked and our daughter felt comfortable in the very spacious living room.

The hotel was fully booked for the conference and we could not originally extend our stay. The manager Janier worked with us to find us alternative accommodation. Eventually, they were able to let us stay the extra night.

A native of Cartagena, Janier took pride in helping us learn about his city. He went out of his way to help us in any way possible.

It was humid when we were in the city, so we were glad to be in such a convenient location. We also took advantage of the rooftop pool -- a wonderful way to end the night or cool off during the dya.

We found the hotel to be sparkling clean, modern, conveniently-located and an outstanding value for the money!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan27410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thank you to Tripadvisor for pointing me to this hotel. Every review is spot on to exactly what we found. As a seasoned world traveler it's always interesting to see the actual site with your own eyes when you arrive. As others have said when the taxi pulls up in front you think....oh dear, can this be possible from it's very simple facade on a narrow street (across from the womens prison, no less), Have the door opened for you by the ever present doorman and Voila.....the hotel is magnificent.
We were a group of 6, with 3 of us arriving a few days before the rest. I had booked a 2 bedroom (#302) apartment and it had a huge master suite with a walk in shower that could easily hold all 6 of us...no kidding here... A king size very comfortable bed and a desk, a very large flatscreen TV,plus 2 huge closets. The other bedroom had 2 twin beds and 2 closets plus another huge flat screen tv. The second full bath had the same huge shower, all tiled with a rain shower head. The living room was big enough for them to put a king size bed in the corner for the rest of our 6 person group and did not reduce the usable space one bit. The kitchen had just about everything you would need to prepare a meal while on vacation but yes the knives aren't sharp and yes there isn't a blender for those special rum drinks and yes the ice maker in the fridge didn't work, but gosh we're on vacation so who really cares. The patio which is partially walled for security got a bit hot in the sun but was so lovely at night. My only REAL complaint was the parking lot next door to the hotel property had a rooster who started crowing at 6 AM and didn't stop until the heat of the day, then started back up about dinner time. There were times I seriously considered having rooster for dinner but being the animal lover I am decided perhaps he was right in crowing that Cartagena is so special you never want to leave. All in all the Hotel was magnificent, unlike so many others I have experienced in my travels. Well worth every penny and then some....but shush don't tell the owners I said that....LOL.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment near the front of the hotel as it's a huge place and those in the rear have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmargules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Top location in the old city with loads of bars and restaurants in easy, safe walking distance. Very large apartments - we had both a one bed and a two bed over the 3 week stay as we had a visitor stay with us. Pool on the main roof is lovely. Nice and helpful staff.

However, kitchens are poorly fitted out (dishwahers not fixed to cabinets, minimal cooking equipment, blunt knives, etc) and the "service" varies and is not thorough - some days towels replaced, others not - some days toilet paper provided, others not etc) Also the washing machines were often out of use and the TV's all had a random selection of channels available! There is no "hotel guide" saying what facilities are available and none were described on check-in.

A bit more maintenance, a tiny investment in equipment for each apartment and some domestic staff process and training and this could easily be a 5/5 rated property.

We had a great time in Cartagena overall and would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building - the pool on the roof is much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cracker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego 974 Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego 974 Suites

Property: San Diego 974 Suites
Address: Calle 39 del Campo Santo # 9-74, Cartagena 575, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Diego 974 Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of San Diego 974 Suites combines colonial and modern architecture, creating 13 Junior Suites, Suites and Master Suites with a contemporary environment in the midst of a place with centuries of history. Spaces of one, two and three bedrooms with kitchen, living room and terrace, fully furnished to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Diego 974 Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing