We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They messed up my booking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Banff, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They messed up my booking.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I came to the hotel two weeks beforehand to see the rooms and make a booking for when my girlfriend arrives. After two months of not seeing her, I decided to book one of their best junior suites, so that we have a great view of the sunset over the city of Cartagena. Upon my arrival, they put me in a different room, at the other side of the hotel, where the sun doesn't shine at all. Very unhelpful at the front desk. I am very disappointed and frustrated, as this is why I came here two weeks ahead of time to make sure everything was setup the way I wanted it. NOT IMPRESSED!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robbie-AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    493
    190
    64
    29
See reviews for
591
387
27
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is good. This tower is kinda new and modern. The rooms are big and clean. Service is not that fast at breakfast even though it is a buffet and waiters don't really have to do anything. Breakfast is ok but after a few days it's kinda repetitive and you get sick of it. Food is kinda of expensive, even the buffet option for lunch and dinner. The property is big and they have great beach access and cabanas. Also, they say that the beach is the cleanest of Cartagena. The rooftop pool is also amazing, the view of the ocean is just breathtaking. Also the pool is quieter than the beach, where people try to sell you massages, sunglasses etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at 3 hotels in Cartagena over Christmas. This was by far the best of the 3 and it was the least expensive. I also stayed at Premium, and Hotel Almirante. Pools close at 8pm which is the latest of the 3. Don't eat at the place on the south side, way overpriced and not good. The Pinia Colada was the best I have had anywhere and the cost of $18,000 is comparable to everywhere else. The slide is open from 10-6.

The beach was the best of the hotels and security was there to make you feel safe. The beach vendors were horrible and for that reason alone I would not go back to Cartagena for a caribbean vacation, I would suggest Roatan Honduras and its only 2 flights from LAX.

The rooms were wonderful. I had a beautiful upgraded walk in shower with plenty of space for 2 people

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great Hotel, rooms very comfortable, a very good alternative for a family vacation. Many alternatives for relax, specially the swimming pool and the bar on the 10th floor. Very good alternative of food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedeAL_EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really liked the Hotel, very friendly staff, rooms are beautiful with balcony and a great ocean view. Perfect Pool and great breakfast!
It's easy to go to Cartagena, maybe 10 minutes with taxi.
People here speak limited english, so it was perfect our friend spoke Spanish, otherwise not that much fun in Cartagena when you dont speak Spanish.
What I did not like was the beach, dark sand, but the rest was great!
So when you want to see Cartagena, it's a perfect Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicemanaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel is really beautiful.. everything looks new and the rooms are really comfortable. Staff is really nice and friendly. Every waiter or waitress, maids and even the taxi drivers were super nice to us and they are always willing to give us some advice on where to go or how much to pay for a trip or for a souvenir. The only issue we found was that the food quality was not really matching the prices the hotel asks for. But if you take the package that includes breakfast you can surely eat abundantly and then just pass the day without feeling hungry and maybe just have one big meal during the late afternoon in the "ciudad amurallada" or in the restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franaya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was recently at this hotel (Dec 2013) and will say that it is a very clean property throughout the resort. Service at the bars and restaurant was what you should expect from a hotel such as this one. Service staff are very polite with limited English as a second language. Travelers should not be complaining about a language barrier as you are in a Spanish speaking country. They will try too serve you as best as possible and that is satisfaction for me. If you arrive late like I did do not expect food as the restaurants and bars close at 11:00pm. For an all inclusive resort this bothers me a little. You have a small refrigerator in your room but they will charge you everything you take from it. When returning to your room simply stop by a bar and get extra water bottles or soft drinks for your room.

The hotel is located in a quiet area and about 8 kilometers from the old city. It will cost you 12,000 pesos which is about $7.00 both ways.

Cartagena beach not Varadero or Punta Cana beach. The sand is mostly dark and compacted. The water is brown which is not the most beautiful. As soon as you step on the beach you will be solicited by all kinds of people selling whatever they have too sell. It is almost a Wallmart on the beach. Sellers do not take no for an answer but they are polite. I accept this as they need to survive. If you have extra room in your suitcase bring clothing that you do not use no more and give them to the locals on the beach. It is extremely appreciated by them.

Room Tip: I was in block B7-room 310 which is located on the third floor almost above the pool. Very satisfied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyluc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 153 in Cartagena
2,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#34 of 153 in Cartagena
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 153 in Cartagena
1,891 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#20 of 153 in Cartagena
914 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#31 of 153 in Cartagena
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar

Property: Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Address: Anillo Vial | Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a luxury resort located on the seafront in the north of Cartagena de Indias on the beach La Boquilla. It offers 5 swimming pools, 3 bars: Aqua Lounge, Sports and Infinity; a Spa and wellness, fitness and business center. There are clothing and coffee stores, plus free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar has a minibar, flat-screen TV and a balcony overlooking the sea, the city or the Cienaga de la Virgen. The Columbus Al Forno restaurant is a gourmet dining area where you can take a number of international dishes. The gourmet "ERRE" restaurant by renowned chef Ramon Freixa, awarded 2 Michelin stars at his restaurant in Madrid, it offers spectacular views of the ocean on the 10th floor of the tower. It features stylish decor and is ideal for business lunches or romantic dinners. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a 5-minute drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the Wall City of Cartagena. 24-hour front desk and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Americas Torre Del Mar Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing