We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My family and I stayed there this past June and left very disappointed. We chose to stay there as we have small children and the amenities for the kids where important. The amenities for the kids where the only plus. After checking in we needed to move rooms due to foul smell, broken furniture, and cleanliness issues. Took hours to get in a new room. While waiting we ran into two other groups also trying to move rooms. New room was far from expectations as well. We had daily service issues in the restaurants. Food was average on the buffet...However if you chose ala carte, it takes forever to get your food. It seemed as if the staff did not like guests to order ala carte as our server seemed upset that we wanted to. I am sure there is better than this in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIDMK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

My wife, myself, and 7 month old baby stayed here for 2 nights in late April after spending 5 nights in old Catagena. We were looking for some beach time at the end of a trip. The resort is clean and tidy, if slightly dated, with adequate rooms and reasonable value for money. The pool area is very good, and the resort is very well set up for young kids. Beach is probably best in the area, nice sand, and well maintained. Water shallow and nice for swimming. It's not the aqua blue Carribean sea of popular perception but nice enough. The dining optinos are a little disappointing and I would recommend going into old Cartagena if not with kids, otherwise food was adequate, typical resort fare. Breakfast was good. we asked for a late check out as flight left early evening and we had a baby and management really looked after us, without extra charge. A nice touch and one which prompted me to write this review. Not GREAT value for money but recommended, especially if with family

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Not a friend of Resort-style hotels, my little kids obliged me to stay at the beach instead of one of the nice boutique hotels in the old-town - and somehow it wasn't that bad at all!

The hotel is well managed and (this being our second stay) so far everything has worked very well. Check in doesn't take ages and the staff is friendly (although lacking a bit of a peronal touch).

The rooms, on both occasions, were correct and clean. Despite being a really big hotel, the clever distribution allows for some sense of privacy and each room has a view to the beach. Also, there was never too much noise and sleep quality was good.

The beach is certainly the main asset of the hotel: it is semi-private and well kept. It's a flat beach, ideal for little kids and it lies directly in front of the hotel. Also, there are two pools, one of which can get a bit busy with kids but that's ok if you're travelling with a family.

The a-la-carte food is quite ok, the buffet option less so (not bad but rather average). Breakfast is served on the main terrace and ok.

We took advantage of the hotel shuttle that connects with the old-city at reasonable intervals (taxi is also a good and rahter cheap option) and spent our afternoons in the beautiful old town.

In summary: probably the best option if you're obliged to stay outside the old town, especially when travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Try and avoid this hotel and go for something more recently upgraded. Incredible humidity in the rooms (it is the season, however noisy aircon leaves damp everywhere). Breakfast limited. Nice beach. Overal showing its age

Room Tip: get a room on the first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moritz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

So if you're traveling with children (we were) it's a great hotel. You'll have to drag them out of the pool or one of the countless activities available to them. If you're not traveling with kids, I'd go downtown or to the old city.

I really expected much more available for the adults as well but it just isn't there. If you'd like to do anything, other than hotel activities, be prepared to spend a lot of time in a cab. It's a great private beach, but you pay for that in the long run by being away from everything. If I go again, I'll be staying downtown where everything is, probably the Hilton.

The food in the hotel is fine - nothing spectacular and there's really only one place to sit a grab a drink at night in the hotel.

As for the rooms, we had a suite. It's was just good. Not a lot of space, a cheesy tile floor - it just wasn't very comfortable. The grounds are wonderful, the staff was great. All in all a nice experience, particularly for the little one, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This hotel is great. Nice private beach. Breakfast is really good. Staff is friendly and nice. I hosted my Wedding in this hotel. Seventy-five % of my guests stay in Las Americas. Everybody like it. Close to the old and modern city. Nice open concept.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claragil2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had a really nice time. Staff were corteous and helpful.
The hotel is well mantained with spacious rooms.
The pool area is fantastic, children had a lot of fun.
The beach is quiet and clean.
Staff gave good suggestions regarding day-trips, restaurants and shows.
The only draw back is that you will need a taxi to go to the historical area in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azulado_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#30 of 158 in Cartagena
736 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#26 of 158 in Cartagena
2,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#37 of 158 in Cartagena
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa

Address: Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: £72 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Americas Casa de Playa hotel is a tropical resort located on the Caribbean Sea in the northern of Cartagena de Indias. It offers 2 swimming pools, 2 bars: La Isla and El Chicho; mini golf course, tennis court and the kids club "Star Captain". There are boutiques, jewelry store and free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa feature private balconies with hammocks, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, free WiFi and satellite flat-screen TV. The Hotel has the Meson de Don Cristobal restaurant where guests can enjoy a variety of traditional and international dishes and between the resorts garden has the Fogon del Navegante restaurant, where succulent steaks and grilled seafood are offered, accompanied by fresh salads . Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa is 5 minutes drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the walled city of Cartagena. It has reception service 24 hours and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing