We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cartagena, not the hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Ranked #25 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love Cartagena, not the hotel.”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We just came back from spending one week at Las Americas, from Dec 29th to Jan 5th. This was an all-inclusive package through Nolitours. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were handed a list of what we "could have". This list was limited and not at all like an all-inclusive package elsewhere. There was much confusion among the staff as to what we were allowed to have or not. Our Nolitours rep, Rafael, was not in a position to help nor argue with the hotel on our behalf as his comprehension of our package was limited.
The hotel is lovely but not a 5 star. We requested two rooms as there were four of us. One room was perfect with a renovated bathroom. The second room assigned to us was unacceptable with a portable air-conditioning unit on the floor of the room and a despicable bathroom. We rejected that room and were shown to a better one but it still had faded and cracked tiles on the floor and a bathroom in need of a renovation.
The beach is beautiful and Cartagena is very close by to visit. The free shuttle bus is great. The security on the beach is exceptional and even though we did walk away from the hotel area, we felt very safe.
Here are the stressors which prevent me from recommending this destination to others:
-not knowing if you will be charged for something which is supposed to be included
-not knowing if you can order a la carte or not and what will be the outcome
-always being asked for your room number, signature, name etc.
-having to ask for a second glass of wine or water or coffee because the waiters never offer
Overall, the trip is what you make of it but, knowing now what we know, we will spend our vacation money elsewhere, where they know how to run an all-inclusive and make you feel welcomed.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you are given, ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VoyageursToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    543
    211
    72
    44
See reviews for
852
322
28
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent four days at Las Americas over the New Year holiday. We stayed in the older section, with the open air lobby, which gave it more of a resort-like feel. Enjoyed the daily breakfast, the many pools, and easy beach access, which you will not find easily in other Cartagena hotels. Liked the fact that we could go between the older and newer sections, as we enjoyed the new gym and the 10th floor pool for adults only. Being that my husband is Colombian, I never find troubles while traveling, with him speaking the language and bargaining with the locals. We talked to a few travelers who had some troubles with the all-inclusive, so we felt bad about their negative experience, but encouraged them to go outside the resort to get a feel for the city. Las Americas is a great get-away that gives you the conveniences you won't find as easily in the walled city of Cartagena.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psulovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Las Américas Resort for your trip. We are glad you had enjoyed your visit. We are real concern of all the comments made by ours guests, and we used them to improve ours services and products.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our new infrastructure, especially the pool and the gym.

For any other information you want, you can follow us on Twitter: @ HotelAmericasCo or on our Facebook page: Hotel Las Americas - Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I went to Las Americas on a package all-inclusive trip with Nolitours. The resort recently started having an all-inclusive option, and seems to be experiencing growing pains. For example, although our package said all drinks were included our Nolitour representative (Rafael) told us we would have to pay extra for any drinks that weren't beer or rum-based drinks. Eventually (after many guests complained) we were allowed to have all drinks included. However, throughout the week we and other Nolitour guests continued to have charges to our room for things that we supposed to be included in our package.

In addition, the resort seems to be in some sort of transition period. Many of the restaurants have multiple menus, sometimes they're open for dinner, sometimes not (there are no hours posted), sometimes we were charged for food or drink that was supposed to be included. All in all it was confusing.

Other cons: the walls are extremely thin (we could hear every word that the people next door to us said), you have to get up extremely early to reserve a chair by the beach (they were usually all gone by 7-7:30am) and most of the employees speak little to no English (the majority of the hotel's clientele is Colombian).

The absolute worst part of our trip was New Years Eve. The resort held a massive outdoor concert on the beach immediately outside the hotel rooms. The concert was not for hotel guests, and it would have cost us $200 each for a ticket. Our Nolitour representative told us the concert would go until 2am, which was bad enough. However, the concert ended up going until 4:30am, with music so loud that it shook our room - sleep was impossible. This to me showed how inconsiderate Las America's management is, and how totally indifferent they our to their guests. The hotel wanted to make some extra money on this concert, and didn't care at all that this would keep its guests up all night long.

We did have a good vacation. On the pros side, Cartagena is really beautiful, and the resort (which is about a 20 minute drive away) has daily shuttles into the city. The food's not bad, though there's not as much of it as you would expect in a traditional all-inclusive resort in Mexico or the Dominican. The resort is right on the beach and is nice (though crowded) and safe. The employees were, for the part, quite friendly. I would consider going back to Las Americas - however, I would wait a year or so until they've got all their management issues sorted out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WonderingCanadian416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear guest,

We are working hard on improving our all inclusive plan in order to full fill your expectations on our hotels services. We made some changes on the menus of our resturants and bars, and we are including new and better services for our guest of this plan.
We also changed our policies of the New Years party so we will have special fares for our guest in this special day. We normaly have big events on the hotels beach, so we offer to our guest earcovers that can be request to the reception staff.
In order to have a better service on our beach we have already set new “kiosks” so more of our guest can enjoy it without having to wake up early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is not only overpriced, they seem eager to squeeze every penny from the guest's pocket. I requested drinking water after my workout in the gym, and they told me they would charge $2.50 for a small-size bottled tap water (on top of a $225 for a third rate room). Same thing at the breakfast buffet. I drink several glasses of water first thing in the day, but there was no water in sight. I had to ask for it, and they made it sound like a very special and unusual request. What a Sahara!
I have spent my Christmas vacation here several times (Casa del Mar), but this is certainly the last. Rooms show their age, the bathroom was plain and lacking even a small luxury. They were renovating several areas in high season, without warning or compensation for the inconveniences. Service is slow, my room was made very late, and waiters seem to disappear all at once in the restaurants.
Having stayed recently in a luxurious all-inclusive resort in Punta Cana, where two people can have good food and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks (and, yes, water) available all day for just $200 per day, I know where I'll spend my next vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gundisalvus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

People are friendly, food and restorants are decent, rooms are ok, beach is good and service is average. Nice place to go eith kids? They have excelent bus shuttle to downtown. This hotel used to be a better class before, but now, they are change target. If you are looking fro quiet and peacefull place, this is not the option.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albertoColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Just returned from a week in Cartagena with my wife. The food was very good and consisted of mostly traditional Columbian flavors, you won't go hungry. There were restrictions on the menu for the all inclusive both for food and drink if doing a la carte, but the buffet was very satisfying for all meals. Far from 5 star gourmet but very good none the less. The rooms are standard, but for the time we spent in it, they satisfied our needs, and were always cleaned by the time we returned from the beach. The staff are great, and speaking Spanish would certainly be to your advantage. Claudia at the bar is really good. As far as nightlife goes, the Old City is where to be in the evenings. There are some amazing restaraunts and the people watching is great.
We did a private tour with a gentleman named JJ. It was well worth doing it this way rather than on a bus with 40 other people.
A wonderful place to go, and a fantastic country to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coops_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed with 1 year old. Hotel has lots of amenities (waterslide, kids playground, minigolf, decent beach, huge pool,...)
Gigantic hotel, with full service. Slightly old exterior, but rooms were very nice. Staff nice.

The food is average (in main restaurant next to pool). Avoid the restaurant in the newer part (Torre delMar) in top floor. Hardly ever had such a bad meal - across the board bad.

Beach OK, but not great. I wouldn't go to Cartagena for a Beach stay... Seems Sta Marta or Rosario much better.

The price (250USD for a double) is too much for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
0.4 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 155 in Cartagena
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 155 in Cartagena
2,199 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#33 of 155 in Cartagena
1,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 155 in Cartagena
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa

Property: Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Address: Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Americas Casa de Playa hotel is a tropical resort located on the Caribbean Sea in the northern of Cartagena de Indias. It offers 2 swimming pools, 2 bars: La Isla and El Chicho; mini golf course, tennis court and the kids club "Star Captain". There are boutiques, jewelry store and free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa feature private balconies with hammocks, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, free WiFi and satellite flat-screen TV. The Hotel has the Meson de Don Cristobal restaurant where guests can enjoy a variety of traditional and international dishes and between the resorts garden has the Fogon del Navegante restaurant, where succulent steaks and grilled seafood are offered, accompanied by fresh salads . Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa is 5 minutes drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the walled city of Cartagena. It has reception service 24 hours and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing