We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food and flexibility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Ranked #26 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, food and flexibility”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a great time. This is not Colombian high season so the service was amazing, relaxed and everyone had a smile. We had a large group some had newly renovated rooms others not. Still mine was not renovated and was fine. Rooms are large with a view to the pools and ocean. They all have a hammock in block 6-7. Not sure about the others. It has a nice tropical feeling.
The breakfast buffet was great, ample fruit, local fare and healthy stuff. Service great. Tried different restaurant. Lunch buffet was good but expensive. Some of the other restaurants have specialties and were well priced and excellent. Portions are large and good for sharing.
Can not say enough about the service. Drinks by the pool are expensive but good- mojitos, coconut-limeade and more.
The hotel is a 5-7 dollar taxi drive from the old city. Not much to do close to the hotel so the best bet is to stay in or better to go to the old city at sunset. There are activities for kids ( some of our group used them and found them OK), there was live music at night in different areas. Several great pools to select.
Beds were excellent and many extra pillows supplied. Easy to use safe box for valuables was supplied in each room.

Room Tip: Our group used blocks 2,6,7. I would prefer Block 7 facing the single pool not the tower pools. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ento14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    544
    211
    72
    44
See reviews for
852
323
28
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

i have staye several times in this hotel

you have two hotels for the price of one .. you can stay in las americas casa de playa that is cheaper and use las americas torre del mar ...

both hotels are very nice with lots of pools . but las americas torre del mar is newer .
i love the breakfast buffet it has a lot of variety fruits ,cereal, eggs, breads , erc.

Service is really good an friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room locate in the middle is closer to las americas torre del mar where the pools are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at this Hotel three years ago and the decline is evident. The service is becoming very poor. Employees are unfriendly. They take security to the extreme that we were unable to organise a business meeting because of their "policies".
Food was very poor. Very limited choices (very few were Colombian food). The buffet was expensive and of poor quality. The rooms very poorly cleaned.
Unfortunately, the quality of this hotel is going down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Very unfriendly service, as many other reviewers noticed already. Save your money for another place where you are treated better. Stay away!!! They also had a problems with locals as they don't let them walk on their own seaside. No surprise they getting down and down on tripadvisor

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
731 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

20 minutes from the airport and you are already in the hotel. Check in is only at 3 so plan accordingly. You can hit the beach right away if your room is not ready. I had a nice room in the 8th floor with an ocean view. The room was very airy and well lighted , but some few problems-the balcony door didn't lock and there was a gap in the connecting door so you could hear the neighbors and they can hear you as well. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I had a drink at the sports bar but it was totally deserted in the afternoon. I ordered the Papas con Chorizo and it was not great but fillimg.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Casa de Playa at Las Americas has the best beach in Cartagena, a very nice building that is very appropriate for the Caribbean climate, nice restaurants, and in general, helpful and cordial staff. People in Cartagena are generally helpful, cordial, gracious and very pleasant. Most rooms have been redone and they offer beautiful views of the sea from the lovely balconies with "hamacs." You can have a wonderful stay except when you have to deal with the reception area. On arrival, even if the room is ready, they make you wait until 3 pm. They do not appreciate any questions. If the key is not working well, they reprehend you. If you have questions about city tours they will not offer any assistance. You often see them talking to each other while there ale lines of people waiting for them. Staff at the beach, at the pool, at the restaurants and in most places are cordial, helpful and easy to deal with. A small effort on the part of management to train and supervise the reception staff would go a long way into making the stay in Cartagena really wonderful.

Room Tip: Block 4 has renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were orginally booked at the Casa De Playa and when we saw the room we were very dissapointed. The unit had cracked walls, floor was dirty, bathroom was old, etc. They showed us another unit in Casa De Playa and it was still the same but the room was much cleaner. We asked to move to the newer units (Torre Del Mar). They accomodated us and we moved to a very nice unit with an oceanview. They were very accomodating and I appreciated their willingness to move us. They have great food and different selections/restaurants on site. Thanks Las Americas for accomodating our request to move to the newer buidling. Please rennovate the older side and I think your reviews will be much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
0.4 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 155 in Cartagena
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 155 in Cartagena
2,202 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#33 of 155 in Cartagena
1,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 155 in Cartagena
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa

Property: Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Address: Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Americas Casa de Playa hotel is a tropical resort located on the Caribbean Sea in the northern of Cartagena de Indias. It offers 2 swimming pools, 2 bars: La Isla and El Chicho; mini golf course, tennis court and the kids club "Star Captain". There are boutiques, jewelry store and free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa feature private balconies with hammocks, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, free WiFi and satellite flat-screen TV. The Hotel has the Meson de Don Cristobal restaurant where guests can enjoy a variety of traditional and international dishes and between the resorts garden has the Fogon del Navegante restaurant, where succulent steaks and grilled seafood are offered, accompanied by fresh salads . Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa is 5 minutes drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the walled city of Cartagena. It has reception service 24 hours and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing