We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, clean room, nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Ranked #63 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good service, clean room, nice pool”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Armeria Real was a great, safe choice for a first time trip to Cartagena. Staff was helpful and accommodating, food at the hotel was amazing (especially the ravioli). Room was well-designed and clean, beds were comfortable and showers had good water pressure. Sweet little balcony off the bedroom in our "family suite", which suited two couples perfectly, despite being able to hear each footstep, etc., taken in the room above us. Great rooftop pool with water views and San Felipe Fort. Overall a solid stay- we were quite happy with it!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better. Street noise along Calle 26 starts early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaneof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    66
    31
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
78
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The restored colonial building is, on the surface, quite charming. Staff is delightful though sparse and breakfast okay. I do not know what I paid as it was part of a larger purchase. If you can get it "cheap" think about it, otherwise stay clear. The lower rooms have a damp smell that is countered by room deodorant sprayed by the cleaning staff. There is a rooftop disco diagonally across the way which makes sleeping almost impossible without ear plugs and or medication. It is at the foot of a bridge through which passes considerable traffic and emergency vehicles at all hours of the night and day. It is a 15 minute walk to the old city and in the heat of 90 degrees its not easy and all the best food is in the old town. There is far better lodging in the old town unless you are very cost conscious and this is your best price point. Think of staying in Boca Grande and visiting the old town by taxi since the taxi is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Every hotel either claimed to be booked or needed a booking of five nights minimum when I called looking for two rooms for a family trip - until I got hold of Armeria Real and Daneola/Reynaldo. Not only did they have two rooms but they even had a two room/two bath suite that suited us perfectly - indeed would probably suit a lot of families perfectly (wish more hotels would realize that families who travel on vacation also need rooms not just business travelers!).
The hotel is charming with a lovely indoor courtyard where breakfast is served in the mornings and a lovely rooftop bar and pool area with great city views.
It is a short cab ride to the walled city or the fort and we had no trouble getting anywhere.
Cabs can be hard to get in Cartagena and we really appreciated the willingness of the staff in finding cabs for us to go places.
Great little hotel and definitely worth staying at - for the great staff as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked this hotel 2 days before our trip, looking for something affordable to be in Cartagena during the "Reinado Nacional de Belleza", the National Beauty Contest, what normally means full hotels and high prices in the whole city. We were lucky to find a Double Room with breakfast incluided for 388,000 Pesos., the hotel is located in "Getsemani", a barrio of Cartagena, still in the old historic part of the city but NOT inisde the walled historic center how it's stated in the website, what is a difference, because it means more walking. The hotel is a colonial building, totally renovated with a beautiful entrance, nice wood work on the ceilings and lushious green courtyard with a well. They have 3 categories of rooms, how I understood, we had a more basic double room on the ground floor what was apart from the restaurant and bar and therefor very quiet, but at this time the hotel had only occupancy of 8 rooms, out of the 35 rooms. The staff is very friendly and warm, but a bit slow. There was no breakfast buffet, you order what you want and the food and coffee arrives step by step, what has to be done better. The bar in the third floor on top is lovely with a nice view to the fortress and part of a harbour, the only minus is the fact that the hotel is in front of a small busy bridge. There is a small pool with place for 5 long chairs and a round daybed. The staff was so nice to show us 2 other categories for rooms, the "purple room" is the one suite, very nicely decorated in a romantic design with own balcony,spacious with a kitchenette and a tub made of stone. If you want to use the Spa, you have to ask at the reception to call the therapist because she is not there all the time, so plan this in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the opposite corner of bar and restaurant. Some rooms are darker than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I think what made my experience worthwhile for me at this hotel was the level of proffesionalism and helpfullness of the front desk staff... They would really go out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
The hotel itself is small and lovely. If you're a light sleeper avoid rooms on the ground floor especially the ones facing the street.
Food is really good at breakfast, rooms are clean and unique with daily refreshment of L'occtiance products
The hotel is 5 or 10 minutes walk to the historical centre and also offers tours to other top destinations.
I never got to use the spa coz the therapist was late and i had other plans...

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, and try to avoid the street facing rooms, there is a nightclub exactley op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLoverXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

from the moment you walk in, you encounter a very nice decoration of this colonial house and great service. The location is fantastic! within walking distance of the historic center, the San Felipe castle, la Manga bay, etc.
The courtyard, rooftop (no other hotel in Cartagena has this view) and the restaurant are simply amazing. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very courteous and they would do anything to make sure you have a pleasant stay.
we definitely are planning to stay here once again at the end of the year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I was between giving it a Very Good & Average rating.. The hotel IS beautiful. The courtyard is gorgeous, lush & green . The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable (a bit on the dark side though) . The shower is great- super water pressure and lovely L'occitane amenities ( which were replaced randomly) . The Wifi was free & had a good signal. When I had interaction with the staff it was always good .

If you are there for a conference in town ( as I was) or any kind of trip that requires a good night sleep on a weekend or pre holiday night.. forget it. GO ELSEWHERE ( or request to be on the 1st floor in a corner. The beautiul rooftop bar has some very loud music and nearly all the rooms open up to the courtyard. I understand that Cartagena is foremost a vacation /party town ,but also hotels are primarliy for sleeping last time I checked. I had a room on the top floor and the music just came directly in. Luckily, I brought earplugs.

Another sticking point besides the bar is the cost ..in general Cartagena is expensive, but I think this hotel is considerably overpriced. Its lovely but.. not that lovely.

I had a meal at the restaurant and it was very good - they served it to us out in the beautiful courtyard which was maybe the highlight of my stay there.

All in all - it is a pretty boutique hotel and the rooftop bar /pool is gorgeous. If money isn't really that relevant to you , perhaps you might find this a value. Also it is in walking distance to the Convention Center.. but we ended up taking a taxi as its "just" a bit too far in the heat if you are wearing business attire.
Side notes: :Be sure to stop at one of the mini markets ( they are kind of disguised) to get water - they charge an exhorbitant 5,000 pesos for a minature water- you can get a liter for 1,500 down the street. Also go to the ATM at the airport - its in the check in/departure hall ( most inconvenient) , There aren't many that are super obvious in town & some in my group had trouble with the ones they found.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor can be loud when the bar is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 154 in Cartagena
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#62 of 154 in Cartagena
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#59 of 154 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Bonbon Hotel, by Karisma
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 154 in Cartagena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa

Property: Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Address: Getsemani Calle Larga con Pedregal esquina No. 25-28, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing us, “ARMERIA REAL LUXURY HOTEL & SPA”. We are a new accommodation option in the city of Cartagena de Indias, our mission is based on the philosophy of providing our guests with high quality of services, comfort and luxury at the right price.We are located in a privileged site of the walled city, with 360 degrees of view: The “San Felipe de Barajas” Castle, Convento de la Popa, Fort of Pastelillo, Fishing Club, roofs of houses in downtown, Towers of Churches and Convents, and all the majesty of the Bahia de las Animas, a few meters from the Convention Center of Cartagena de Indias - Julio Cesar Turbay, located in the traditional Calle Larga, where it weaves the story of Cartagena’s Independence.Our beautiful house hides in its corners the culture of our Race and a history of freedom. Built in the VXI century and restored in 2010, preserving the architectural standards and measures of the colony in terms of areas such as bathrooms, bedrooms and social areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing