We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay, loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Ranked #63 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, loved it.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed the weekend and absolutely loved it. I went with my Fiancée for vacation and to do some research for a wedding that were planning to have in Cartagena, Colombia. We fell in love with the hotel immediately from the decor, ambience, staff, to an enmities offered is an overall great getaway. Close to shops and lots of fun to get into. Historic district Colombia is so romantic and truly is a gem of Colombia.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    66
    31
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
78
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice to be very close but outside the main tourist area. Good restaurants around and the area worth to be known. Excellent service, nice pool. We took a duplex room and it was great. The only thing is that the bedroom downstrairs is noisy due to the trafic. The hotel could make something to lower the noise. They propose a trip to the Real Island and it is fantastic to relax.

Room Tip: Don't take a room by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AV_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

i liked the armeria hotel, great location n Getsemani, 10 min from the old city. Spacious room, lovely and simple but nice atmosphere. Fantastic sitting area in the terrace, great view, to chill with a drink. Still far from the service wise, not very well organised but it ca be improved. The place is romantic and great for couples as well for single travellers.
There is a small spa, but better to get the appointment on time.
my suggestion for the management, is to work on the service rather than the luxury.
I still had a great time!

Room Tip: any room are beautiful, you can chose between 1, 2 or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My favorite hotel in the area, excellent food, excellent people, the breakfast is delicius you can chose cereal, eggs with wathever you want, colombian coffee, tropical fruits, the restrooms are perfect with comfortable spaces, the pool is beautiful with excellent sea view.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank catleya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Armeria Real was a great, safe choice for a first time trip to Cartagena. Staff was helpful and accommodating, food at the hotel was amazing (especially the ravioli). Room was well-designed and clean, beds were comfortable and showers had good water pressure. Sweet little balcony off the bedroom in our "family suite", which suited two couples perfectly, despite being able to hear each footstep, etc., taken in the room above us. Great rooftop pool with water views and San Felipe Fort. Overall a solid stay- we were quite happy with it!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better. Street noise along Calle 26 starts early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaneof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The restored colonial building is, on the surface, quite charming. Staff is delightful though sparse and breakfast okay. I do not know what I paid as it was part of a larger purchase. If you can get it "cheap" think about it, otherwise stay clear. The lower rooms have a damp smell that is countered by room deodorant sprayed by the cleaning staff. There is a rooftop disco diagonally across the way which makes sleeping almost impossible without ear plugs and or medication. It is at the foot of a bridge through which passes considerable traffic and emergency vehicles at all hours of the night and day. It is a 15 minute walk to the old city and in the heat of 90 degrees its not easy and all the best food is in the old town. There is far better lodging in the old town unless you are very cost conscious and this is your best price point. Think of staying in Boca Grande and visiting the old town by taxi since the taxi is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Every hotel either claimed to be booked or needed a booking of five nights minimum when I called looking for two rooms for a family trip - until I got hold of Armeria Real and Daneola/Reynaldo. Not only did they have two rooms but they even had a two room/two bath suite that suited us perfectly - indeed would probably suit a lot of families perfectly (wish more hotels would realize that families who travel on vacation also need rooms not just business travelers!).
The hotel is charming with a lovely indoor courtyard where breakfast is served in the mornings and a lovely rooftop bar and pool area with great city views.
It is a short cab ride to the walled city or the fort and we had no trouble getting anywhere.
Cabs can be hard to get in Cartagena and we really appreciated the willingness of the staff in finding cabs for us to go places.
Great little hotel and definitely worth staying at - for the great staff as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#19 of 153 in Cartagena
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#62 of 153 in Cartagena
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allure Bonbon Hotel, by Karisma
0.4 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#61 of 153 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 153 in Cartagena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa

Property: Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Address: Getsemani Calle Larga con Pedregal esquina No. 25-28, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing us, “ARMERIA REAL LUXURY HOTEL & SPA”. We are a new accommodation option in the city of Cartagena de Indias, our mission is based on the philosophy of providing our guests with high quality of services, comfort and luxury at the right price.We are located in a privileged site of the walled city, with 360 degrees of view: The “San Felipe de Barajas” Castle, Convento de la Popa, Fort of Pastelillo, Fishing Club, roofs of houses in downtown, Towers of Churches and Convents, and all the majesty of the Bahia de las Animas, a few meters from the Convention Center of Cartagena de Indias - Julio Cesar Turbay, located in the traditional Calle Larga, where it weaves the story of Cartagena’s Independence.Our beautiful house hides in its corners the culture of our Race and a history of freedom. Built in the VXI century and restored in 2010, preserving the architectural standards and measures of the colony in terms of areas such as bathrooms, bedrooms and social areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing