We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 155 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and cozy hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Marcus and the staff are really helpful and kind. The hotel is in an old house, very cozy. It is located in Getsemani, which is a popular neighborhood but it is very safe. It is good to stay away from the crowds of the old town, but still in a walkable distance from most of tourist attractions.

TIP: The hotel is really difficult to find, given that it is located in a very small street. If possible, ask for airport pick up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtziriglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    42
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
172
68
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a great experience at Les Lezards from the time we arrived in Cartagena and were met at the airport to our departure. Markus could not have been more helpful and all his suggestions were spot on. Just outside the walls of the centro, the location is great for walking and the neighborhood has a refreshing authenticity away from all the vendors. The hot tub upstairs is a great place to rest younweary bones at the end of a long day. The ladies who work there are very pleasant.

Room Tip: We actually had a small sitting room with TV off the bedroom and it was nice to have the extra space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and 3 days. Make sure you have the full address if taking Marsol, as we were dropped off about 4 blocks away and had to walk with our luggage. Luckily a wonderful young man helped us find it on the map and showed us the way. It's definitely a little tricky to find as it's tucked nicely way. Once there we were taken up a very narrow, steep staircase (my husband being 6'2" almost didn't fit), but the room was beautiful and filled with character. Such a unique room made Cartagena all the more memorable for us. We did not spend too much time at the guest house since we wanted to explore and fit as much in to the 3 days as possible, but Marcus was great with recommendations on restaurants and things to do. We definitely enjoyed the Getsemani area for the bars, restaurants and sense of community. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSchiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Les Lezards is a little oasis in the heart of Cartagena. Marcus (the hands on owner) & his attentative staff made our trip very memorable. The rooms are elagent & colorful reflecting the warm flavour of Cartagena. The place is very clean & well maintained with lots of personal touches making it a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maraposa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Marcus was such a kind and gracious host. His home is so incredibly lovely and well located. I felt so at home and comfortable with Manuela. Can't say enough good things. Highly recommend! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hizzykazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just returned from a fabulous 5-day stay at Les Lezards. We're a family with two small kids (3 and 5 years) and were concerned about staying at a place with so many reviews by couples saying how romantic and cozy Les Lezards is. (And indeed there was one guest that voiced his frustrations with our kids noise one morning, but I have to say our kids were not that loud and it was 9am.) But it was great. Marcus and his entire staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Our kids loved the roaming tortoises, calling "Donde esta tortuga?" whenever they were in the courtyard. The jacuzzi/plunge pool is big enough just for a few people but there was never a problem with more than one set of guests wanting to use it at a time.

Manuela - the cook - served us like royalty each morning. And the two housekeeping staff with whom we interacted - Epiphania and Gloria (?) - were so kind and accommodating. In fact, Epiphania even babysat for us one evening so we could enjoy a kid-free meal! Marcus was a fountain of information about what to do in the area, advising us wisely on which daytrip to the islands to do. After talking with other tourists on the beach, we realize we saved a lot by following Marcus's advice. Not to mention he's just a really nice guy. He also put us in touch with his neighbor, Maria Jose, that works as a guide/driver. She took us to the mud volcano and botanical gardens for a reasonable (although not dirt-cheap) price, and she was fun to spend a day with. I recommend any of the guides Marcus recommends - he knows what's a good deal and what isn't!

We stayed in the African themed room. It's a bit crowded in there, but plenty of sleeping space with a king and twin. We didn't spend any real time in the room anyway. Ac, TV, all amenities were good. As I told Marcus when we left, the room needs hooks/racks for hanging towels and swim suits and the occasional pair of knickers washed in the sink. He said it's the next room to be remodeled and hooks will definitely be on the list. :)

We ate our dinners on the Trinidad Plaza each night, about two blocks away. We got our kids burgers/dogs from the street vendors, and take-away pasta from the cafe for us. A couple bottles of beer from the tienda on the corner and we were set to sit on the church steps for a pleasant meal. Our kids made friends with local kids, and we befriended local parents (neighbors of Marcus's, actually). All so pleasant. This changed a lot on the weekend, when the plaza transforms into an international backpacker party with few locals to be seen. Still fun, but a totally different experience from Mon-Wed. We were there during a city-wide art exhibition, with exhibits scattered
throughout the city and there was one on the corner of the plaza in a small gallery - very cool.

Enjoy - you can't go wrong with Les Lezards. It was fantastic!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Travelling with my family including a four year old. We stayed four nights in Cartagena and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

The room was large and comfortable. The house had nice patios and eating space. The location was perfect. Located on a street the oldest part of the city we got a true feeling for the city.

Service was axing. Breakfast was tasty and fresh and everyone made sure we got the most out of our stay.

One of the best places we have stayed in our travels over the past decade.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 151 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 151 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast

Property: Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle de las Chancletas 10B-39, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and romantic colonial guesthouse in Cartagena de Indias, in the vibrant and traditional Getsemani area, one of the last truly exotic places in the Caribbean, the most dynamic downtown location where new boutique hotels, bars and restaurants sprawl. Positioned in a quiet street, away from traffic and commercial activities, and just a few feet away from the Arsenal and the booming Calle del Guerrero and Media Luna night spots and at walking distance from all the best restaurants and attractions. The house designed by award winning architect blends colonial with mediterranean style and is decorated with items and maps collected during worldwide journeys. All rooms are custom designed. The cotto floors with spanish ceramic accents help you cool down and unwind surrounded by an abundant tropical vegetation with adult mango and palm trees. Guests can relax in the patios and enjoy an open air tile jacuzzi on the terrace and a mirador/solarium with views on the Cathedral, the churches of San Pedro and La Trinidad and the Castillo San Felipe. The house is on a north-south axis and enjoys plenty of natural ventilation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing