We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option.”
Review of Patio de Getsemani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patio de Getsemani
Ranked #5 of 156 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good budget option.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't call the area "sketchy" as others have; it's more gritty. Unlike the neighbouring Centro Historico, real, working class Cartagenos live here. Which is part of the charm. We loved watching the neighbours make their traditional meals and interact. Plaza de la Trinidad, around the corner, is the gathering spot, with great street food and restaurants. We enjoyed spending more time in Getsemani than elsewhere.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. Rooms are small and basic without hot water, but a/c and tv work. Beds are comfortable. Ask for an outside window. Staff is helpful and hard-working.
Recommended for a good, cost-conscious stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
66
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Simple accommodation in an interesting neighborhood. Getsemani is far more interesting than Bocas but has drunks, drug dealers and backpackers like any other budget area. It's safe enough but maybe not a good option for those afraid of neighborhoods with elements of poverty and desperation. Plaza Trinidad is nearby and has several excellent restaurants from which to choose. Now for the good, bad and ugly. The Good - the beds are comfortable, the AC works great and is quite, and the breakfast is good & "local". The Bad - much of what is advertised is not true. There is no "in-room" minibar, kitchenette, phone or laundry as advertised on some booking sites. All of these things exist but in "a room", NOT your room. The only thing in the rooms is the bed,some shelves and tv. I would stay here again but only at a sale price. The Ugly - it 's picky, but there are no smoke detectors in rooms and at night the door to the street is padlocked. There is an attendant but if there were any sort of fire, you might not have a clear way out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsgotimepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel was pleasant and clean and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast can be improved during the week as it was better the weekend.We enjoyed staying there and having a great view from the roof patio and walking from there to many city attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fannyax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This little place was an unexpected find. It's certainly not for everyone, but if you have an open mind and are adventurous, this is a great place to explore the real Cargtagena, away from the tourists and crowds and the expensive shops and restaurants within the old city or Bocagrande.

I admit, the rooms are a little run down and the bathroom was a bit dirty. The hot water also didn't work the whole time I was there, but Cartagena is so hot, I really didn't need hot water. But.....if you can overlook all of that (haha!), staying at Patio de Getsemani can be the highlight of your visit.

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The best part about this hotel is its location. While some may find the area "sketchy" or "scary," I found it to be a wonderful neighborhood and a great place to meet locals and other tourists. It's a short stroll to Plaza Trinidad - where the community gathers in the evening for beer, coffee, food, games, even zumba on the church steps.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This really is the perfect place to stay in Cartagena! You feel really looked after here - it's completely safe, the staff are incredibly friendly, the rooms amazing, the Jacuzzi on the roof is a real treat and the location is perfect - really close to the buzz of Plaza Trinidad (a great place for a beer in the evening) and the vibrant streets of Getsemani. You have everything on your door step without the noise from busy streets or salsa clubs which you would have a few streets away. The area doesn't feel dangerous at all. This hostel is located in a great community - on Sunday there is even a baseball game between the streets around the hotel for which they close off the entire road! I would definitely stay here if we returned - it's absolutely worth the price and the perfect place from which to explore Cartagena.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareJohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for a week last year (September 2012) Yes the area is sketchy at night so I wouldn't recommend walking home at night, especially if you are alone. The hotel was clean, my only issue was that there was no hot water for most of my stay.. Hotel staff is super helpful and have no problem communicating in English. They were able to call me a cab at anytime and offered to book excursions if needed. Front doors of hotel lock for security reasons, and you buzz in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Cartagena wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Some other reviewers have been correct in mentioning that the neighbourhood looks 'sketchy'. It does, it is, and when the taxi driver locked the doors and wound up the windows when we entered the street I started to have second thoughts. However that was all blown away by the friendly welcome from the receptionist who dashed onto the street to help with luggage.

This is a tiny courtyard style house which has been converted into an 11 room hotel. All the rooms are generously proportioned, clean, have attached bathrooms and good air-conditioning. Some of the rooms only have windows which look onto the courtyard but they never feel claustrophobic. Decoration is minimal but all you need is there; including a mini safe and wi-fi. One thing worth mentioning is that all the rooms I saw had bathrooms with small glass enclosed shower cubicles. The door into the shower opens inwards and it is a bit of a squeeze getting in the cubicle and shutting the door. I weigh 77kg with a 33 inch waistline and I only just made it. So check first if you're excessively endomorphic.

All the staff are super friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes from the hotel and they have a reasonably priced laundry service. Breakfast was like the rooms. Nothing extra but nothing missing. There is no choice but it changes daily. The hotel is not expensive and the value is good.

From the beginning of the street to the Hotel entrance, the street does look a bit rough. Kids play with hubcaps and dogs roam in the night. It is hot so people are sitting out on the street. It looks threatening but only in the way that the set for West Side Story looks threatening. In fact all was fine and I was never uneasy at any time of day or night. Just about 100 m to the right is one of the finest hotels in Cartagena which is next door to an extremely good restaurant.

The hotel looks at the wall which surrounds the city. This makes a terrific walk and if you are gentle you can spot the spectacular green lizards which live on the wall. I would see them to the left of the hotel on the ramparts. They are 1-1.5m long and very shy but definitely worth waiting for. These are the only gangs which roam the area.

If I am ever in Cartagena De Indias again I would not hesitate to book the Patio de Getsemani again.

Room Tip: If you're fat, check you can fit in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#53 of 153 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#39 of 153 in Cartagena
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio de Getsemani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio de Getsemani

Property: Patio de Getsemani
Address: Getsemani Calle del Pedregal 26A-79, Cartagena 0123, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Patio de Getsemani 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patio de Getsemani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing