We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
239
105
12
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
105
12
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews del reloj spacious clean rooms excellent location old town walled city hot cartagena refreshing dip beautiful hotel order eggs breakfast was delicious stayed nights would definitely stay here again the staff were extremely helpful rooftop pool decent size lounge chairs street noise
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The location is great inside the old town, however for a Boutique hotel I would expect more...the breakfast was very poor, you're in Colombia and there is no variety of juices, poor selection of fruits, cutted early in the morning and places inside the fridge for hours before they serve you....only orange juice not fresh...the rooms are noisy and the noise comes from the employees making the breakfast and cleaning early in the mornings....

Room tip: Ask for rooms at the pool level (roof) to see if there you avoid the noise of the lobby and kitchen early mornings.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jose y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at Las Carretas for a weekend and booked it only cause of good reviews here on TA. From the moment of arrival we felt this really was a letdown. The place lacks in character and spirit. The staff is all dressed in private clothing which takes away the whole hotel/botique feeling. The breakfast area has an open kitchen which makes it feel more like a hostel than an acutal hotel. Staff is nice, friendly but not great. The rooftop pool though is in excellent condition! Only two sunbeds but a nice area. You can tell that the hotel most rely on their location. It has a GREAT location in the Old Town of Cartagena. So not worth the rate each night thou.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the street
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The location of this hotel inside of the old city is perfect. The included breakfast was very good. There were free international calls. The balcony over looking the city streets was also nice as well. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebigbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at Las Carretas for a week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is well located for lots of different attractions and very clean. The best part of Las Carretas is the personal service and friendliness of the staff, as led by Adriana. When we needed directions, had special requests for breakfast or just wanted to learn more about the city and different activities, Adriana and her staff were very informative and caring. That kind of service makes Las Carretas stand out and truly enhanced enjoyment of our stay in Cartagena.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hotel is very well-located and staff is extremely nice. Breakfasts were lovely and rooms and all common spaces are very tastefully designed. Our only problem was the nightmarish experience we had when we made the reservation: We found the hotel on hotels.com at the equivalent rate of $140 U.S. per night (for the New Year's Eve period). We booked it immediately only to receive an email from the hotel itself five minutes later telling us the price was wrong - and indeed was actually triple what had been quoted. This was followed by a phone call the next morning and further emails claiming that our Visa card wasn't working (!) It took no less than 3 weeks of constant communication with hotels.com before Boutique Hotel Las Carretas acquiesced to the original rate. Once we arrived we were treated absolutely cordially (though given a teeny, tiny room.) Had we not had this miserable experience I would give the property four stars.

Room tip: Not all rooms have windows and some are tiny with only full-sized beds (not even queens). Ask for a room with at least a queen and with a window and/or balcony.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews