We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History - Charme - Quality of service - all in one.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History - Charme - Quality of service - all in one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

I have been a regular guest for quite some time now.
In all my traveling around the world, I have rarely found the perfect balance between professionalism, kindness and personal attention. The Hotel Santa Clara has it!
Whoever is in charge of hiring does a hell of a good job. From the first person you meet at the entrance throughout your entire stay, you will always have prepared and smiling staff.
And if you add the magic of history that the hotel and Cartagena is able to provide to all this...well, you found the perfect spot for your next vacation/business trip.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank carofabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    244
    74
    31
    33
See reviews for
363
788
69
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

Totally overrated

After reading so many positive reviews about Santa Clara Hotel, I was very excited about our visit to this posh hotel. However, I think the good reviews have spoiled the hotel service and staff. We experienced a totally dry treatment, the staff did not give us the attention that we deserved when we asked questions about the hotel and the security guards kept on asking us for room keys even after we had showed them the keys over three times to the same person.

Furthermore, the hotel prices were just stratospheric and I do not mind paying the money, but I expect the service in return and it simply was not there.

They do have a large pool, so that was very nice, but their service and prices simply overshadows their nice pool

One last thing I have to say about this hotel is that it is very commercial so do not expect to get any special treatment.

We ended up going to Hotel Delirio, it was much smaller but at least the staff was nicer.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The hotel's Staff and attention to detail
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank helenlaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Together with the Llao Llao in Bariloche (Argentina), this is the best hotel I've ever stayed. The rooms are ample and very confortable. The breakfast was excellent, the service was very good. The pool is also very nice. I can't name one single thing I did not like about the hotel. Just one small detail: in every meal, the guests are offered a glass of water and when you get the bill you realize they are charging for that almost 10 dollars as if one had consumed the whole bottle.

  • Liked — The building itself.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliobsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

Due to my profession I have to travel a lot, specially to the U.S, Caribbean and some times to europe. But this time I stayed at this hotel with a friend of mine, and the experience was just fabulous! Let's start! Reception is so charming and the decoration has such a good taste and receptionists are always wearing a glamorous uniform (they must be trained to have a perfect look 24 hours a day!). Weather was quiet hot, so a natural fruit juice was offered to give us a "refreshing" welcome to the hotel. Then when we got to the room, the bed was beautifully decorated and the shower was just ready to take a quick shower (but it took me more than 20 minutes!). The room had a great view to the magnificent pool (where you can see the best people in town, travelers and residents) so we just wanted to be by the pool for hours...and we could also see, a part of the ocean. The walls in the restaurant are hand painted so you can enjoy the place as soon as you get there, and food is really good. The location: well, this hotel is in the middle of the old walled city, so you are within walking distance from the main shops, restaurants, bars and points of interest of Cartagena. If security is a must for you, there is always an excellent private car service in the front of the hotel...just coordinate service with the bellboy first.
Our experience was so good, that I will go back to this magical hotel as soon as I can. I really recommend it and if you decide to visit it, you will see that you will desire to go back over and over again...this hotel is a good combination between excellent service, good rates, nice people (visitors and employees), weather and location...I almost forget to say that we were able to decide to enjoy our breakfast in the middle of a nice garden with the sounds of beautiful birds around. Feel free to write a line to me if there is anything you want to ask...I may not know everything about this hotel, but I will try to answer, based on my experience...

  • Liked — A very comfortable bed and the marble bathroom
  • Disliked — Hard to say...my experience was really good
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

Two weeks of sheer luxury in a wonderful hotel. The friendly and helpful staff looked after us far beyond our expectations of any luxury hotel. A perfect location in the heart of the old city and within easy reach of all amenities that Cartagena has to offer means that we will return as often as we can.

  • Liked — Staff and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig00Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
307 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

This hotel is a converted monastery with elegant courtyards, a beatiful ambience and fine architecture. The hotel has location, location, location - set in the heart of the old city in Cartagena with a pretty square outside and a brief walk through picturesque streets to any of the historical gems the city is well known for. Pricey but the character of the property, attentive staff and probably the largest pool in the vicinity make it worthwhile. There's high speed internet and a sumptuously furnished bar too.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

Just returned from the magical Santa Clara in the enchanting city of Cartagena. I agree with most reviewer's impressive comments regarding the architectural historic beauty of the building and the outstanding services of the staff. The rooms are all of a high standard (saw 4) and the pool is as good as any world-class 5 star hotel. The hotel has a small mini branch with lovely beach bungalows on the nearby island of Rosario (45 mins by high speed launch) and I strongly suggest a one night stay which can be billed back to the Santa Clara. It breaks the week (if you have time) and gives travellers the sense of their own Caribbean island retreat. The city is a wonderful oasis of small multi-coloured boutiques, cafe's and restaurants. This was our first trip to Colombia and after a stopover for three days in a plastic (but fab) Miami, it was refreshing to have all the warnings disproved regarding Colombia, crime and potential dangers. I have travelled extensively and found the people of Cartagena, delightful, helpful and very respectful to visitors.

My advise go and enjoy!

  • Liked — Beauty of the building and quality of service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing