We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We had never visited Cartegena before and this trip was a spur of the moment prompted by the "36 Hours" article in the New York Times. Spirit also offered direct air service from Fort Lauderdale (home). So we did not know what to expect....a monastery, walled city, forts and pirates. Hummmmmmm

The hotel is really interesting. It's in the walled old city and is thus well situated for everything. I think it's generally considered the best of the larger hotels there. Staff were gracious and helpful. I was surprised at the lack of English speakers on staff at the bar and restaurant though. That was a theme throughout Cartagena.

The hotel arranged a city tour for us with Rafael Lara. He did a great job and really sold us on what an interesting place the city was. He is a high school history teacher. You can contact him direct at [-].

The second day the hotel arranged for us to visit their sister property at Isla Rosario. That was a really good time and well done.

Enjoy your trip. You should be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank PGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    248
    76
    31
    32
See reviews for
370
802
70
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

Absolutely fabulous time at the Sofitel. Toucans in the morning, "Butler service" who catered to our every desire, great spa, good suggestions on dining... The hotel butler/concierge organized our entire stay, including tours. Fantastic service with friendly, knoweldgeable smiles all the time.

We wished we had more time, and are definitely planning to come back! This is the best hotel in Cartagena, hands down!

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Hotel should have a cash machine and small pharmacy on-property
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kai3wen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

Santa Clara is a real jewel on the Caribbean - colonial charm meets modern chique. The hotel is in a great location -- within the walls of old Cartagena - close to a wide array of entertainment and dining options. The rooms are unique, well furnished, comfortable and well maintained - housekeeping caters to your every need and ensures your stay is top of the line! The spa is special and soothing after a long day at the pool or beach.

Consider the Santa Clara a sanctuary designed to meet your every need - integrating luxury, comfort with a personal touch and enveloped by a deep sense of history. It is like reliving part of the movie Love in the time of Cholera -- a truly unforgettable experience that I would certainly recommend.

As a frequent worldwide traveler accustomed to high-end boutique hotels, Santa Clara is one of the pearls of the Caribbean.

  • Liked — Comfort, style and Location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EnigmaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

It is a very elegant and charming hotel in the beautiful and well-preserved old Spanish colonial town of Cartagena de Indias, a UNESCO world heritage site. Service at all level was fantastic, especially at the pool and in the restaurants. Staff remembered my name and always greeted me with a smile (mind you, I have been going there for over ten years). The butler service (mayordomo) makes an enormous difference and brings the Santa Clara up to the service one gets at hotels in Hong Kong, Bangkok or Singapore. Kevin Kelly and Rafael Perez are fantastic mayordomos. They sort out all ones needs and they know all the happening places in Cartagena for dining and drinking cocktails. Jimmy, the pool man, is a gem.
A small negative point comes from the hotel's own success. It can get busy at times and staff struggle to cope. Architecturaly the hotel is stunning and well worth a visit even when one does not stay there.

  • Liked — The fact that one stays in a historical building converted into a first class hotel
  • Disliked — It got busy at the breakfast restaurant when there was a large group of tourist on a business trip
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

I have been a regular guest for quite some time now.
In all my traveling around the world, I have rarely found the perfect balance between professionalism, kindness and personal attention. The Hotel Santa Clara has it!
Whoever is in charge of hiring does a hell of a good job. From the first person you meet at the entrance throughout your entire stay, you will always have prepared and smiling staff.
And if you add the magic of history that the hotel and Cartagena is able to provide to all this...well, you found the perfect spot for your next vacation/business trip.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank carofabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

Totally overrated

After reading so many positive reviews about Santa Clara Hotel, I was very excited about our visit to this posh hotel. However, I think the good reviews have spoiled the hotel service and staff. We experienced a totally dry treatment, the staff did not give us the attention that we deserved when we asked questions about the hotel and the security guards kept on asking us for room keys even after we had showed them the keys over three times to the same person.

Furthermore, the hotel prices were just stratospheric and I do not mind paying the money, but I expect the service in return and it simply was not there.

They do have a large pool, so that was very nice, but their service and prices simply overshadows their nice pool

One last thing I have to say about this hotel is that it is very commercial so do not expect to get any special treatment.

We ended up going to Hotel Delirio, it was much smaller but at least the staff was nicer.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The hotel's Staff and attention to detail
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank helenlaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Together with the Llao Llao in Bariloche (Argentina), this is the best hotel I've ever stayed. The rooms are ample and very confortable. The breakfast was excellent, the service was very good. The pool is also very nice. I can't name one single thing I did not like about the hotel. Just one small detail: in every meal, the guests are offered a glass of water and when you get the bill you realize they are charging for that almost 10 dollars as if one had consumed the whole bottle.

  • Liked — The building itself.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliobsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing