We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I love the service and the decorations art his place. You are surrounded by all sort of birds and plants, rooms are very specious and clean and the restaurant is excellent. Make sure to spend a day relaxing by the pool and enjoy a nice massage at the spa. Even though is a bit pricey I think is worth every dime

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank GoldenYachtCharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is a real retreat - comfortable and very well run. I was booked in for three days but then had to extend my stay because my daughter had become ill while travelling in Tayrona. I can only say this was the most tranquil and perfect place to recuperate. I cannot imagine what AlexMToronto85 is talking about. The beds were blissfully comfortable.
Little details make this place - like the absolutely wonderful quality and range of the breakfasts - by a long way the best I have tasted anywhere in Colombia.The hotel generally is excellent but the lush and beautifully maintained courtyard where you can eat and have breakfast is absolutely gorgeous. Real care has been taken over it and there is a delightful toucan, Matteo, who flitters around freely and will sit and rather elegantly contemplate the diners food. I loved him.
In another courtyard there is a really good pool - large enough to take both serious adult swimmers doing lengths and small children having a great time on various (provided) blow up sea creatures.

The staff are really charming and helpful.

This hotel really works and I do not understand why this is not higher in the tripadvisor rating. I loved it and it was very good value for Cartagena.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northlondontripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Sofitel Santa Clara has SO many things going for it. First of all, it's right in the old city with easy walking access to dozens of local attractions. Second of all the staff is friendly and helpful. When we were checking in the general manager came up and offered to help us with anything we needed. It was a nice gesture. One downside is that the staff isn't too great at speaking English. They were the best of any place we visited in Colombia, but still not too great. The pool is lovely. It's big and has a bunch of places to sit around it. It's temperature is perfect. The rooms are nice, great AC and televisions. The suites in the old part of the hotel are spectacular. Ours had two floors connected by a beautiful winding staircase. The breakfast is a great buffet and the restaurant serves great food for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great Location, Great Food, Great People. If you want to enjoy Cartagena, you need to stay at old town. Sofitel is right at Plaza Santiego. You can walk every where, no need a ride. Hotel has a great bar that also can enjoy nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Mert B,

It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Cartagena and in our 17th century monument. I will share your comments with all our team. I am sure that they will be happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you very much for your feedback, your kind comments are highly motivating as it is our priority to exceed our customers’ expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is definitely the place to stay in Cartagena.

* Location - right in the heart of Santa Clara/Centro districts and walking distance to just about everything.

* Rooms - a little on the smaller side but well appointed and very clean.

* Service - staff is very helpful although we were disappointed by the concierge's dinner recommendation (Alma)

* Amenities - A beautiful and large pool area. Fitness center is a little small but has everything you would need. We didn't get any spa services due to time constraints but the menu looked great. A lovely courtyard to sit, relax and have a drink.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKnyc736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

In the walled historic quarter of Cartagena, this old monastery was renovated beautifully into a very top class hotel. I was most impressed with the beauty of the design, the ambience, service and quality of food offered in the cloister. Upon arrival we arranged for a private guide with the concierge, Linda, who also made reservations for us at great restaurants. Our rooms were located on the lobby level floor with a view of the pool. The pool is large and warm. There is a spa that we did not make use of and a nice terrace up the stairs by the pool that looks out over the walls of the city. We stopped in the cloister for lunch, (smoked salmon roll) which was very good. The cloister is filled with fabulous tropical vegetation, a central well that is illuminated at night, some modern bronze sculptures and at this time of holidays it was decorated and illuminated for the season. On one wall you can see the confessionals. I looked at the ceiling beams and spotted what I thought must be a wooden toucan on the iron cast chandelier. Turning back to my meal, I was surprised to see this very toucan seated on the edge of our table. Mateo is a beautiful and charming companion, especially during breakfast when there is a bread basket on the table. In the evening they have a candle lighting procession of "monks" who walk around the cloister with incense and candles. There is a nice breakfast buffet in the morning with all kinds of fruit, breads, hot dishes, cold cuts and smoked fish and you can order an omelet from the menu included in the buffet. The coffee is excellent. The service was superb and the hotel staff were so friendly.

The prices were not out of line for this quality hotel and certainly, I would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 112 and 111, adjoining. Both are very nice and have a king size bed that I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#24 of 158 in Cartagena
2,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#8 of 158 in Cartagena
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £207 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing