We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Tremendous Concierge Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Tremendous Concierge Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara early this april. Beautiful place inside the walled city. Truly a Legend as the mix between old and new was fabulous. Old World charm and new world comfort. Especially mentionable was the great service provided us by the team of concierges who went way out of their way to make our stay in the city memorable. From organizing a seamless airport pickup to guiding us not only to the best, but the most cost-effective attractions in Cartagena. When at the Santa Clara look up Leslie at the Concierge desk. It will make a tremendous difference.

Room Tip: No need to look for rooms with a view as they (the views) are all fairly the same. Price difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear From_Rio,

We are very happy to read that your experience in the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara was very pleasant and we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in “La Heroica” Cartagena.
I will share your review with all our team, especially with Leslie. I am sure that she will be very pleased to know that she helped you to have a memorable experience between us.
I hope you come back soon to the sunny Cartagena and stay with us again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    250
    76
    31
    32
See reviews for
370
804
70
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

the hotel is very good
the staff is very cordial , and the rooms are clean and spacious
showers are very good
the only thing is the price , it is to high for what is offer, it is more than a 5 star hotel in USA

Room Tip: don't stay in the rooms at ground floor her the pool I was in one of it and they had a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassioaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear cassioaf,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
At Sofitel, our priority is the comfort and wellbeing of our guests and our staff works in order to create memorable experiences for everyone that comes to visit the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
Our historical monument is one of the most visited hotels in the city and we are very proud to show our colonial architecture and the history of our ancient convent.
We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Cartagena is a special place, and the Sofitel Santa Clara is exceptional. The service is excellent, the convent setting magical and very atmospheric. Breakfast is sumptuous, and served in a light and spacious room or in the cloisters. The spa team are great too! and the swimming pool lovely. Rather over complicated menu in the formal restaurant which could be improved with better explanations of the intend and presentation of some dishes, but overall the food is good. Nothing too much trouble, and a delightful place to be when the heat of Cartagena over whelms one. And such a comfy Sofitel bed as well. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Feel sure that if you know what kind of room you prefer, then just ask in advance of your stay, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Chrissie F,

I t is a real pleasure to read your comments after your stay with us.
At Sofitel we strive to provide a superior service to every guests and this is why we keep working to improve our guests’ experiences.
I will share your impressions with our staff, especially with spa team and our executive chef. They will be very happy to consider your comments and take them as a motivation to develop our services.

We hope you give us the honor to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business and how I wish my wife had been there. We shall return there. The hotel staff were state give and welcoming. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable. I had a sea view through the outer old monastery walls.
The horn bill who sits on the back of your chair at breakfast was fun.
The food and was very good quality and good value.
I would throughly recommend going back there.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Steve D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for letting us know that your stay in Sofitel Legend Santa Clara was special.
Mateo, our toucan, will be more than happy to welcome you and your wife in your next visit to “La Heroica” Cartagena.
I will share your impression with our team and I am sure that they will also appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This Sofitel is one of the best I have stayed in, the service, the breakfasts, the rooms, the reconstruction of the convent into a hotel are all wonderful. Without going totally over the top , it is a truly remarkable place and one that needs to be experienced. Who would have thought such a place could be found in Colombia!
Thanks to all the staff that made our stay excellent, we will come back sometime, and also can you teach the Sofitel in Bogata some of your skills in customer service and making poached eggs!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear yb1uk,

We highly appreciate your kind comments about your stay with us.
Our team, who work every day to create memorable experiences, will be very happy to know that you recognize the effort they make to help you have a Magnifique experience.
It is a real pleasure for me to hear the magic of our historical monument became important for your stay in Cartagena.

We will be all waiting for you to come back very soon.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I’ve never failed to be impressed by Sofitel and Sofitel Santa Clara didn’t disappoint. This hotel boasts it all, great location, facilities and service!
For those wanting to visit Cartagena you’re going to be hard pressed to find a top class hotel with as great a location as this one, where it’s easy to disappear into the picturesque streets of the old town that make this coastal town well worth the visit. The hotel also has one of the best sized hotel pools I’ve used, ie you can actually do decent lengths in it for a workout as opposed to something where all you can do is splash about, and there are plenty of sun loungers around for those who’d rather stay out of the water! Had a decent gym with nice hot tub set away from the main pool area.

The food was pretty good too, although the breakfast is definitely catering to a more local market, you’re not going to go hungry, but it could do with some better international options. The rooms were averaged sized but comfortable, with decent bathrooms and amenities etc - although the beds were a little hard for my liking but that's personal choice. A really enjoyable experience. As others have commented, only downside is the wifi signal, could be hit and miss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constant_TravellerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Constant_TravellerXX,

We very much appreciate your king comments about your experience in Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
It is a real pleasure for us to read that our guests have a very good impression about our facilities and services. I will be more than happy to share your comments with our team, especially with our executive chef in order to consider your suggestions about our breakfast buffet variety.

Thank you again for choosing us for your stay in Cartagena and we hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porto alegre, brasil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

For an special occasion, go for the restaurant at this fantastic hotel, in fact an old monastery totally renewed. The open-air restaurant, full of tropical plants and a flying around lovely toucan is unforgetable! A charming atmosphere !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apioantunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear apioantunes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our lunch services inside our historical monument.

We are very proud of our magic architecture and of our toucan Mateo who gives a lot of life to our courtyard and colonial halls.

We appreciate your kind comments and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing