We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It was just a fantastic experience to stay there: the kindness of the front desk, the beautiful historical building, the perfect location, the great view we had from our superior room. Thre front desk was very kind by bringing to our attention that foreigners to not have to pay for hotel taxes, as they are under a special tax regime. It was the only hotel in Colombia we stayed, that had the transparency and ethics to uprfront advising their guests and returning the money. It was an unforgetable experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the swimming pool and the sea on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiromi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good impressions are limited to the outside and lobby of this ex-convent hotel. I would not return here.
When they showed us the room, I was very disappointed, it could have been a room in a 3rd rate hotel in Miami Beach. They showed us one other room which meant walking down what appeared to be a dark service hallway, which we declined. So for 4 nights we were stuck in this room, very unattractive, partial views of the highway, small claustrophobic bathroom, toilet did not work well and the bed was so hard lumpy that you could feel the springs so that we asked to replace the mattress. They did bring another mattress that was the same, so they had to put a thick mattress cover on top, this helped only 'somewhat' with the bed being very uncomfortable and having to shift positions to not touch the springs.

The pool area is very mediocre for a luxury hotel, we were surprised that there were no umbrellas for some of the lounge chairs; there are only around 6 umbrellas in total, all over the table areas around the pool. The area is very uninviting.

Two of the days the room was made up promptly but on the 3rd day we returned to our room at 4PM and the room was untouched; we were anxious to bathe for a wedding and had to make 3 calls to room service before they brought us clean towels and soap. When we inquired about making up the room, we were told that the rooms were only made up in the late afternoon; of course that contradicted the previous two days, and it made no logical sense at all.

There are plenty of great hotels in Cartagena, and I definitely would not put the Santa Clara in that category.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section which the area at least has more atmosphere and better views, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Nimo5:
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us in our 17th century monument.
We regret to hear that room assigned to you did not meet your expectations. Rooms are generally assigned according to the reservation details.
Classic Room Category, which you had requested, are rooms generally located on the lower levels, with the views of lush tropical gardens or the pool area. As you mentioned, another room in the same category of the room you had selected during your reservation with a different view was offered to you, however your decision was to remain in the room you were offered. It is to be noted that the dark service hallway you are referring to, is actually not a service hallway. It is an original and historic colonial hallway from the time building was built in the 17th century.
Most of our rooms have been or are in the process of renovation. We would be delighted to receive you in a Luxury Room Category during your next visit, which are located on the higher floors with views of the pool and the sea.
Regarding the service in your room, depending on our occupancy levels cleaning service is generally performed throughout the day in various hours, however mainly in the afternoon. Upon guest´s request for service at a preferred time, rooms are attended to following the request.
As for your bed, we take pride on the comfort of our beds. At Sofitel, we offer the “MyBed” concept with Multispire mattress which offers impeccable absorption of every movement, and thanks to a higher concentration of springs in places they’re most needed you will get a uniform feeling of support. The slatted bed base with thick layer of high-density foam guarantees an even support and naturally enhances the qualities of the mattress. As you mentioned, upon your request and for your comfort, your mattress was exchanged. We are sorry that your personal preference did not meet our superb quality standards.
Regarding our pool, we are sorry that it did not exceed your expectations. Our pool is considered the best pool in Cartagena. Not only it is the largest, it is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and trees with many comfortable pool lounge chairs to soak up the sun. Our large tents are strategically placed around the pool in case one decides to be away from the sun. Around the pool, there are also covered cabanas which once again could be used in case you care to be away from the sun.
At hotel Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, we strive to provide the highest quality of service and product served.
To do so, we welcome each and every comment and take measures to ensure experience we create for our guests is a memorable one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Realtions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Sofitel Santa Clara is a beautiful hotel within the walled city. It is extremely close to wall and to las bovedas (the little, and frankly unimpressive, strip of artisan shops where one can buy Colombian Arts and Crafts). We arrived at the Santa Clara after a vigorous and exciting hike and stay in Tayrona, dirty and spent. It was a treat to head straight up the elegant spa, post-shower (Lanvin toiletries in bathroom are a nice touch) for a relaxing massage. The massage itself was good, not spectacular but no regrets there. Our room, which had a view of the lovely pool area, was clean and comfortable, with a minimal aesthetic. Breakfast served in the courtyard was probably the best we had in Cartagena: sitting surrounded by the archways of the old monstary wing and overlooking the verdant garden while one eats will never garner complaint from me. The fresh Guanabana and Maracuya juices we just what the doctor ordered and the vienoisseries could very well have been flown in from Paris. During breakfast, the resident toucan perched on my chair and stole all our fruit, and we would not have had it any other way: he (or she) was a much welcomed colourful benediction to our stay in Cartagena. That all the staff we extremely hospitable and friendly and everyone seemed to speak English fluently was but the icing on the cake. You cannot go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theecstaticflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear theecstaticflash,

We really appreciate your good review after your stay between the Santa Clara Family.
It is very important for us that you let us know your impressions about our facilities and services. All our staff will be pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit.
At Sofitel we strive to provide a superior service and this is why we have the best vienoisseries in the city and we serve fresh fruit juices.
Our Toucan Mateo will be in our courtyard just waiting for you to come back soon.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My stay at the hotel was fantastic. The compound is beautiful and the central pool is a great escape from the Cartagena heat. By the time I left, the staff knew me by name and it's that attention to detail that defines a luxury hotel to me. My room was a bit outdated but the hotel knows this and is undergoing a massive renovation to address this. I got a chance to peek into a renovated room and it was stunning. I look forward to returning to the hotel once all is complete.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Eric C,

We highly appreciate your kind comments about your experience in our magical 17th century monument and we are pleased to share with you that we were recently named one of the Top 5 Historic Gems by the renowned travel magazine Conde Nast Traveler. Even though our hotel is a historical building, most of our rooms have or are being renovated with a contemporary touch, while keeping the original details of the colonial and republican style of the historic convent.
Well-being and comfort of our guests is our outmost priority. At Sofitel Legend Santa Clara we thrive to make all our guests feel special and at home.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in your next visit to “La Heroica” Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez M.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is truly one of the best hotels I ever staid in. Sofitel legend is very good by itself , but this one surpasses all expectations. I like to thank all hotelstaff for their warm hospitality they give it a homely atmosphere. Unque preservation of the old facades and atrium , and rooms consist of a nezer building. Fantatsic service , great pool, try to get a room with a sea view...they are more expensive but worthwhile

Room Tip: I took room 511.....I strongly recommend this one; its more expensive but very spacy great views, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear toversti,

We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
It is a real pleasure for me to read that your experience was memorable and that we surpassed your expectations. I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that it will be a motivation for all to continue working with charm and improving the quality of our services.

We appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back soon in the sunny Cartagena.

Sincerely

Cordialmente,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I just wanted to say thank you to the hotel staff at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara Hotel for making our 5th Anniversary so perfect. From check-in to our luxury suite which overlooked the ocean to the special touches that the hotel staff went out of their way to celebrate, it was first-class service from start to finish. Have no complaints whatsoever about anything. The food was excellent, the pool area is gorgeous, and the room was cleaned impeccably. We stayed for five nights (did not get the breakfast sadly) and would have stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Recepción at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Ian M,

I t is a real pleasure to read your comments after your stay with us.
At Sofitel we strive to provide a superior service to every guests and this is why we keep working to improve our guests’ experiences.
I will share your impression with our team and I am sure that they will also appreciate your comments.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,
Carolina Perea
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 156 in Cartagena
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 156 in Cartagena
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 156 in Cartagena
2,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 156 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#18 of 156 in Cartagena
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £216 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing