We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not "gold list"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #7 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this property while in Cartagena. Overall we had a great experience but a few things could be improved.

Positives:

- Welcome and check in were wonderful & efficient
- Hotel staff were all wonderful and very professional
- Lovely public areas
- Great on-site spa (we went twice)
- Wonderful breakfast buffet (definitely top 5 for me of all hotels I've stayed in)
- Nice relaxing courtyard pool with attentive but not overbearing service
- Had car pick up from airport and they were prompt and efficient
- Great concierge
- Safe and secure property
- Great business center
- Free wifi all over the property

Negatives:
- Rooms were not 5 star, more typical of a modest resort property
- Beds were not comfortable
- No views, our room - which was by no means inexpensive looked out at a wall. It seems only a few really have a view which is an odd layout since this hotel overlooks the water.
- Half the hotel was under construction (which we knew) I hope the construction includes room upgrades
- Pool needed some umbrellas or the option to have an umbrella brought to you. Cartagena is hot and there was little to no shade to be found unless you sat at a table.

I loved staying in Cartagena and with a few fixes this hotel could be really fantastic. That being said for a first timers to Columbia it's still a great choice.

Room Tip: If possibel try to get one of the few rooms with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSeekerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear SunSeekerMA,

We highly appreciate your kind comments about your experience in our 17th century monument and we are pleased to share with you that we were recently named number 1 in South America Luxury by the renowned travel magazine Conde Nast Traveler.

However, we regret to hear that room assigned to you did not meet your expectations. Rooms are generally assigned according to the reservation details.
Even though our hotel is a historical building, most of our rooms have been renovated with a contemporary touch, while keeping the original details of the colonial and republican style of the historic convent.
Our classic rooms which you had requested, between the first and fourth floor, continue having a classic design and decor. They respond to the preference of people who chooses this type of room. We would be delighted to receive you in a Superior, Luxury or Suite Room Category during your next visit, which are renovated.

Well-being and comfort of our guests is our outmost priority. At Sofitel Legend Santa Clara we strive to make all our guests feel special and at home. I will share your comments with our team and they will be very happy to consider your comments and take them as a motivation to develop our services.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in your next visit to “La Heroica” Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I believe this is the Best Hotel in Cartagena.

Location is perfect. Pretty close to two of my favourites restaurants in Cartagena, Juan del Mar and El Santísimo.

Unfortunately we didin;t have time to eat at 1621 inside of the hotel.

Very clean, comfortable and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuriloLima86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Dear MuriloLima86,

We highly appreciate your nice comments about your stay with us. Thank you very much for considering us the best hotel in Cartagena.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena and we would be more than happy to serve you in our legendary 1621 restaurant where our sommelier and restaurant manager will be waiting for you.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Was here for a wedding, and overall beautiful hotel. Cant beat any Sofitel and this one did not disappoint. We actually stayed at a house in Cartagena, so I would recommend that but this one is close enough for everything in terms of walking distance and restaurants and secluded enough where people cannot just come on in and bother you. Cartagena is a beautiful city and definitely recommend the trip

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anandsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear anandsae,

We highly appreciate your nice comments about your experience in the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that your experience with us was memorable and we thank you for recommending our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Thank you for your review and we look forward your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by dear friends that visit Cartagena often. The level of service was incredible, our butler Edson made our stay most enjoyable. Edson took us on a horse and carriage tour of the old city which made was an incredible way to see the city. Edson made sure to make reservations at the best finest restaraunt's as well as the very best tours. We had such an incredible experience at this beautiful hotel we are planning on going back in 6 weeks to celebrate my birthday. Be sure to check out check out the crypt in the bar as well as the sunset from the upper deck near the spa. Also the more charming rooms are located in the old section of the building which was built in 1621.

Room Tip: ask for the original section of the hotel, much more charming and they overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandmsilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear mandmsilverman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion after your stay at the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.

Our mission is to create memorable and special experiences for our guests by giving them a sophisticated and luxurious service. Our gastronomy, history and architecture are mixed with the charm and warmth of our team who works with the heart.
I will share your feedback with our staff, especially with Edson and i am sure that tey will be happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your comments and we will be all very happy to welcome you again in your next visit to “La Heroica” Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Has a chic bar with live jazzy or afro-carribean music after 10pm (there are many fine bars and music joints in Cartagena to see though, featuring salsa and related styles).

Restaurant, which we liked a lot, requires dress up. You don't have to wear a jacket but long linen pants and long sleeve linen, all white, was what almost everyone was wearing (guests and staff alike). I always have white linen handy so suited me just fine. Could have smoked a nice cigar in the comfortable chairs afterwards, while sipping my mojitos, but I gave up cigars as a compromise of marriage.

Basically upscale 5 star hotel, worth having a peak in staying or not. At $500 a night, may be better just to do the dinner and music. But if on business, then it's the certain choice because it's perfect for greeting clients and guests.

The doormen dress in white tails coats with top hats to match. absolutely looks cool, but a bit warm for the weather to say the least.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank WilliamByrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear WilliamByrnes,

We highly appreciate your took the time to review your experience with us. It is a real pleasure to know that your experience in the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara met your expectations.

At Sofitel we strive to provide the most sophisticated service in the city, this is the reason why your opinion is very important for us.
I will share your comments with our staff, especially with 1621 and El Coro Bar staff. I am sure that they will be happy to know that you enjoyed our services and our facilities.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome and serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

By far the best place to stay in Cartagena. It was so hot when we went in May that was just wanted to lounge around and be lazy. The pool here was perfect- great food service and amazing passion fruit mojitos.

The room was clean and we had a nice little balcony. I loved the old world charm and history of the hotel. It was the only place in the 8 days we were in Colombia were we heard people speaking English. Good or bad? Who knows.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had. I love exotic fruits and there was an abundance of them. I only wish I stayed here longer so I could eat and drink more and get fat. I did however leave very very tan and that put a huge smile on my face.

Room Tip: Ask for a non first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Roxxygirl,

It is a real pleasure for us to read your review after your stay at the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.

At Sofitel we strive to create special and memorable experiences for our guests. We are glad to read that your enjoyed our pool, passion fruit mojitos and breakfast between the walls of our historical monument.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience and we hope you come back soon.


Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 157 in Cartagena
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 157 in Cartagena
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 157 in Cartagena
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 157 in Cartagena
2,323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#8 of 157 in Cartagena
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 157 in Cartagena
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: £216 - £721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing