We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I doubt this hotel needs any more 5 star reviews, but here is another. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff couldn't be more helpful. I loved "meeting" Matteo, their resident Toucan as soon as we checked in! I am an art dealer and appreciated the beautiful historical decor and architecture. The breakfast is also fantastic. To be honest, I did not want to leave!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cartagena.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for you kind comments and for recommending the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
I will share your opinion with our team and I am sure that they will be happy to know that your experience in Cartagena was enriched by the history and architecture of our building and the warmth of everyone taking care of you.
Mateo and all the staff will be waiting for your next stay.

Sincerely,

Andrea González
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    257
    78
    32
    32
See reviews for
379
828
71
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a gray time during our stay at Santa Clara. Service was excellent, they had a butler for our own room!!!. A guided walk tour of the hotel that was a monastery before was detailed and refreshing. The rooms were very nice, the restaurants were top of the line and the bars were entertaining. The location is in the center of the wall city. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerGCarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear RogerGCarrillo,

We are delighted to know that you had a good time in the Sofitel Legend Santa Clara. It is nice that you had the opportunity to experience one of our legendary services: Butler.
They are the part of our staff that takes care of every detail in their guests’ stay.
We appreciate your comments and rest assured that I will share them with our team, especially with butlers.
We will be expecting you for your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea González
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just spent a week at Hotel Santa Clara. One of the best travel experiences I've ever had. It starts with the staff...friendly, helpful, and extremely competent. The location is perfect - close to good restaurants, easy walk to anywhere in the walled district. I only ate one dinner and one breakfast at the restaurant but had an excellent dinner in a beautiful outdoor setting. My room was very nice with a good view overlooking the pool. The pool was perfect for cooling off in the late afternoon. I had high expectations before I arrived and they were all exceeded by the staff and facility. My only regret is I could only stay one week but will return to HSC next year.

Room Tip: I can't believe you would be disappointed in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you very much for recognizing the effort that our staff makes in order to create memorable and unique experiences.
It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Cartagena and in our 17th century monument. I will share your comments with all our team. I am sure that they will be happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you very much for your feedback, your kind comments are highly motivating as it is our priority to exceed our customers’ expectations.

We will be pleased to welcome you next year.

Sincerely,

Andrea González
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was recently in Cartagena for a CEO event, which took place at this lovely former convent dating back to the early 1600s. The intense heat and humidity takes some getting used to, as the hotel rooms are air-conditioned but much of the rest of the property is not. Situated within the colonial fortress-city, the Santa Clara is clearly the place to stay in Cartagena, a UNESCO World Heritage Site with its splendid historic buildings and streets. As for the hotel… Excellent service, first-rate Mojitos at the Cuban-style bar, delicious tropical fruits and a local seafood soup to try: Cazuela de Mariscos, among other delicacies. Now that Colombia is much safer, and coming back to life as an economy and society, it's time to put Cartagena on your list of places to go if you've not already been. One can see why Sir Francis Drake did his best to loot the city, given its wealth and importance as the leading port on the Spanish Main. And buy a proper gentleman's linen Guayabera shirt at Ketty Tinoco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear Stephen K,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Sofitel Legend Santa Clara.
We appreciate you took the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us in our 17th century monument. It is pleasant for us to know that even in business trip, our guests can feel comfortable and at home.
All our team works in order to create unique experiences for every guest. I will share your impressions with them. They will be all hay to hear your experience and they will be pleased to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
450 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful room in the old convent. The room had 2 levels and was really extremely nice and an amazing combination of old and modern.
It had a wooden floor top TVs and Bose sound system and a Nespresso machine.
The breakfast was outstanding and the swimming pool is very nice, only the fitness was too small.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear, Go100go,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our services and the colonial suites of our historic monument. At Sofitel legend we merge the magic of the 17th century with the technology and modern style in order to give our guests the best room experience in the city.

We appreciate your kind comments and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this property while in Cartagena. Overall we had a great experience but a few things could be improved.

Positives:

- Welcome and check in were wonderful & efficient
- Hotel staff were all wonderful and very professional
- Lovely public areas
- Great on-site spa (we went twice)
- Wonderful breakfast buffet (definitely top 5 for me of all hotels I've stayed in)
- Nice relaxing courtyard pool with attentive but not overbearing service
- Had car pick up from airport and they were prompt and efficient
- Great concierge
- Safe and secure property
- Great business center
- Free wifi all over the property

Negatives:
- Rooms were not 5 star, more typical of a modest resort property
- Beds were not comfortable
- No views, our room - which was by no means inexpensive looked out at a wall. It seems only a few really have a view which is an odd layout since this hotel overlooks the water.
- Half the hotel was under construction (which we knew) I hope the construction includes room upgrades
- Pool needed some umbrellas or the option to have an umbrella brought to you. Cartagena is hot and there was little to no shade to be found unless you sat at a table.

I loved staying in Cartagena and with a few fixes this hotel could be really fantastic. That being said for a first timers to Columbia it's still a great choice.

Room Tip: If possibel try to get one of the few rooms with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeekerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear SunSeekerMA,

We highly appreciate your kind comments about your experience in our 17th century monument and we are pleased to share with you that we were recently named number 1 in South America Luxury by the renowned travel magazine Conde Nast Traveler.

However, we regret to hear that room assigned to you did not meet your expectations. Rooms are generally assigned according to the reservation details.
Even though our hotel is a historical building, most of our rooms have been renovated with a contemporary touch, while keeping the original details of the colonial and republican style of the historic convent.
Our classic rooms which you had requested, between the first and fourth floor, continue having a classic design and decor. They respond to the preference of people who chooses this type of room. We would be delighted to receive you in a Superior, Luxury or Suite Room Category during your next visit, which are renovated.

Well-being and comfort of our guests is our outmost priority. At Sofitel Legend Santa Clara we strive to make all our guests feel special and at home. I will share your comments with our team and they will be very happy to consider your comments and take them as a motivation to develop our services.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in your next visit to “La Heroica” Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I believe this is the Best Hotel in Cartagena.

Location is perfect. Pretty close to two of my favourites restaurants in Cartagena, Juan del Mar and El Santísimo.

Unfortunately we didin;t have time to eat at 1621 inside of the hotel.

Very clean, comfortable and great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuriloLima86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaClaraCartagena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear MuriloLima86,

We highly appreciate your nice comments about your stay with us. Thank you very much for considering us the best hotel in Cartagena.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena and we would be more than happy to serve you in our legendary 1621 restaurant where our sommelier and restaurant manager will be waiting for you.

Sincerely,

Andrea Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 153 in Cartagena
919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 153 in Cartagena
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 153 in Cartagena
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#33 of 153 in Cartagena
2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 153 in Cartagena
416 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Santa Clara

Property: Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Address: Calle Del Torno 39-29 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena 130003, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#1 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#2 Green Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Santa Clara 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a convent in 1621, the Sofitel Santa Clara is a legendary landmark in the heart of Cartagena's walled city. Transformed into a luxury hotel in 1995, the Sofitel Santa Clara, unique in style, combines the allure of history with local hospitality and the art of French savoir-faire. Mixing Colonial and Republican-style architecture with modern comfort, the hotel features gourmet cuisine, exceptional service, a world-class spa, meeting facilities and state of the art technology for events, conventions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Santa Clara Hotel Cartagena
Sofitel Hotel Santa Clara
Sofitel Cartagena
Cartagena Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing