We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downhill slide”
Review of Hilton Cartagena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cartagena
Ranked #30 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
north america
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“downhill slide”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place used to be nice. When I was there, the room was not cleaned properly every day. It was dirty. There was a problem with the food bill, that was not corrected. A colleague phone me in my room when I was out, but the message was not delivered for 10 hours.
Overall, the place seems to be very poorly managed. They are also getting rid of all the balconies in the hotel, which is a shame.
I would not go back after this experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    744
    283
    89
    51
See reviews for
660
562
130
522
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Rooms were average & housekeeping services were minimal. We faced the pool which had parties & fashion shows every night, so we didn't get much peace & quiet. Hotel food was below par. In all, cannot recommend less.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethlahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We booked the corner ocean view room the first trip to Cartagena 4 weeks ago and the room was small and smelled like mold. The second visit to this hotel, we booked the same type of room, but when we got to the hotel were put into a "similair room" as our room was not ready yet. The second room was also small, and was not a corner room with the nice deck outside like we wanted. We called room service on Sunday evening and were told the restaraunt and bar were closed, sorry nothing could be done. On this second stay the hotel was undergoing major construction (remodeling) and was very noisy all day long. The hotel personal were nice and friendly. My advice is if you travel to Cartagena, find a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Hilton is in a very good location at the end of a beach side promontory and away from the more seedier side of the resort. It has a great pool area, extensive and well landscaped. Rooms are decent but rest of hotel is a little tired especially at the prices charged. There is a nice bar and large public rooms, but receptions is quite small relatively and gets busy with through traffic. The beach here is not the best, grey murky mud rather than clean sand. There are nice views though and its quite safe, but you do get pestered by hawkers at all times. There is direct access from the pool area and security at the exit. The old walled city in this resort is fantastic and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Front sea views are best on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinod A, Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Scrummy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Hilton Cartagena and providing us with your valuable feedback.

It is very nice to know that you enjoyed our pool area and services. We have taken special attention to your comments about our prices, the rooms and the beach. Our promise is to offer the best price considering the market conditions and the product that we offer.

Please let me share with you that Hilton Cartagena is going through an exciting makeover of its Main Tower that will be completed by October 2012.

We will be very pleased to welcome you in the near future, to extend you the best level of Hilton service.

Best regards,


Vinod Agarwal.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Cartagena Hilton is an old property that is undergoing a complete remodel. The top three floors are done, they are working on one floor at a time.

The new rooms are modern, well appointed and very comfortable.i strongly recommend the Hilton if you can stay in a new room.

The service is awesome for a Caribbean detonation and the food is incredible. The breakfast at the Hilton is something you have to experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpeters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinod A, Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Hpeters100

Please receive this note that expresses our gratitude to your kindness of completing a review of your stay in Cartagena and in our property.

We really appreciate your comments on the service and the food, this is our major goal.

We are glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward having you back in Hilton Cartagena.

Best Regards.


Vinod Agarwal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just when I thought Hilton was getting better and I had seen the worst Hilton in Pensacola Beach Florida, I had the displeasure to stay two nights at the Hilton Cartagena.

Let's start by the room: THe room I was given as a Hilton Honnors member and a former Diamond VIP mind you, was awful this looked more like something you might see at an econolodge or a Motel 6. It was terribly dated and there seems there was zero up keep maintenance with the exception of the newwer TV during the last few years. We were graciously accomodated right below the floor that is being renovated so we had the displeasure of listening to the drilling from 9:00am until almost 6:00pm. The balcony was full of cement chunks and paint that fell from the renovation above. Quite frankly this room should have never been rented out.

The Customer Service : separate reservations (Because I was using points and also paying it had to be done this way) she told me not to worry that they will take care of everything in the morning and there was nothing else I needed to do. This was frankly the only nice person at the front desk... the next morning none of the staff at the front deskseem pleasant, I felt like I was bothering them by asking them a question, just like the staff by the pool it seems that they were too busy discussing personal matters with their peers to pay attention to the guest. We went for a swim at the pool and just by the pool bar we found an used tampon in the pool which was taken out by one of the pool attendants, when we pointed it out; shortly after this we left the pool and when we went up to the room we found that our keys weren't working so I went downstairs to the front desk in my bathing suit to get a new key. The front desk person said that my reservation was due out and I explain the situation of me having two reservations and my conversation with the person who checked me in in regards to this matter and she said that I didn't needed to do anything else. To which he replied, well you should have come at noon for new keys.... no apology or anything, I explained him also that I was placed in just below the renovation and that the room was awful and I would like to be placed in a different room, he told me he was going to call my room with the new room and have everything taken care of (This NEVER happened, I waited 2 hours for his call and at that point we decided to go around town and not waste anymore of our time) while I was at the front desk it appears that someone in my floor also had an issue being able to get into his room, my girlfriend who was waiting for me witnessed how a hosekeeper open this man's door without her verifying any of his information and just let him in into the room, the housekeeper also offered my grilfriend to let her into our room with her master key which my girlfriend refused and explained the housekeeper we she shouldn't let people into rooms specially when there is no verification whatsoever that the guest belongs in that room... this was a big security concern for me and from that point forward we started to use the in room safe. In the plus side the bell staff was always very helpful and gave us good recomendations for restaurants and places to go dancing.

Las Chivas Resturant - Another place to receive awful customer service, We sat at the resaturant and one of the bus boys took our drink orders and was very quick in bringing them however the waiter took almost 20 minutes to come to take our order (The restarurant was not even busy but he seemed busy taking calls on his cell) when he finally showed up to take our order he said to us in spanish " are you going to order anything?" which I replied yes, I am just waiting for someone to come over and take our order to which he replied " I am here now" our food was good and broght in a timely manner drinks weren't refilled or anything until another of the bus boys ask me if everything was ok and I ordered another drink. Our check was brought promptly by the manager, and it wasn't until I asked for the tip to be taken out and paid that he asked how was my meal. I explained him that I travel most of the year and that this was by far the worst experience I had in a hotel restaurant, he did apologize but that was about it. Overall I wouldn't recomend this place there seems to be many other options in Cartagena that will be able to offer a better product and better customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or wait until the renovations are fully completed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank favargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is being renovated one floor at a time and the top 2 floors were done as of this review. We were in a newly renovated room and it was gorgeous. The decor was so nice I am going to redo my apartment in the same color scheme. Service and food are first rate. Balconies have been integrated to make the rooms larger. There is a large sliding window you can sit in front of if you so desire. Buffet breakfast was very nice with many choices and excellent food quality including many tasty Colombian dishes. Hotel has a private beach with minimal vendor disruptions. The hotel is located in the Lagito area an affords spectacular ocean views or lake views whichever you prefer The executive wing has lake views and the other wing has sea views. The cab ride to the walled city is $3 so you can enjoy the beach and the go to the walled city where there are many things to do. Some people prefer the walled city location but that is up to you. My wife arranged a special honeymoon evening with the assistance of the hotel which was so nice I will remember it forever. I can't say enough about the service and professionalism of the staff and management. I will return here often.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thundarr357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinod A, Manager at Hilton Cartagena, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Tundarr357

It is delightful to read your wonderful comments about us. Your appreciation of our facilities, services and staff has a great meaning and motivates us to continue working to provide our customers with a very positive experience while staying at our property.

We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 155 in Cartagena
1,012 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 155 in Cartagena
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#33 of 155 in Cartagena
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
Hyatt Regency Cartagena
#7 of 155 in Cartagena
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cartagena

Property: Hilton Cartagena
Address: Avenida Almirante Brion | El Laguito, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Cartagena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appreciate Caribbean costal living at the Hilton Cartagena Hotel. All 341 guest rooms and suites face the ocean at this Colombia beachfront hotel. Stay in the Executive Tower and enjoy Executive Lounge access, located on the tenth floor, boasting panoramic views of the city. Sip an ice-cold beer or tropical juice from the Pool Bar, located in the middle of the hotel's three pools. Indulge in fried fish with coconut rice and plantain at the Cartagena beachside restaurant, Tibabuyes Kiosk. Enjoy a wood-baked pizza overlooking the pools at Pizza Al Forno. Watch the sunset while enjoying gourmet cuisine at Las Chivas Restaurant. Finish each night with evening cocktails in the relaxing atmosphere of El Cangrejo bar offering nightly entertainment. This Cartagena, Colombia hotel provides a variety of fitness options and family activities. Work out at the fitness center and swim lengths in the outdoor pools. Indulge in a massage or unwind in the sauna at the Well Being Center. Watch the children have fun at the colorful playground and the toboggan swimming pool. Challenge friends to a game of tennis on the courts. Host a business meeting, function or wedding overlooking the ocean at Hilton Cartagena. Select from 26,000 sq. ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. The hotel features a business center with wireless internet available in all meeting rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cartagena Hotel Cartagena
Hilton Hotel Cartagena
Cartagena Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing