We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel in serious decline, awful service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hotel in serious decline, awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I normally wouldn't write such a tough review, but the hotel service for us was simply awful. Also, speaking to other guests from various parts of the world who were staying there, they had similarly bad experiences. It's depressing when hotel guests exchange negative stories poolside. Can we have an iron? NO. Can we put two tables together for lunch? NO. The long list goes on and on. Frankly it looks like the new owners dont care about their employees so why should they care about their guests?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mauricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa and for writing your review. We are sorry to hear about your inconveniences, your opinions will be taken into account to improve our hotel services in order to offer a better stay for you and future guests.

Best Regards,

Ana Maria Tello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    126
    41
    21
    16
See reviews for
88
217
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The property is gorgeous. Even the regular rooms are luxurious. The service from everybody was great - we barely lifted a finger during our stay. I received a fresh fruit juice upon arrival; I arrived early and my room wasn't ready yet, so they invited me to sit out on the rooftop terrace while I waited. They got us a table at La Vitrola and we easily arranged a trip to the beach with their travel agent downstairs. I went to their spa for a body treatment and they were great (again, more fresh fruit juice). There are some complaints in the reviews about not getting free water bottles, but I haven't stayed in any hotel in Colombia that gave free water. (Also, water is really cheap to buy.) This hotel at least had a bowl of fresh fruit waiting in the room. The rooftop and pool have the most amazing view; most of the time we were actually at the hotel, we would just go up to the roof.

Room Tip: we had room 304, facing the inner courtyard, did not hear any outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear about your experience at our hotel, in particular about your opinion on the service provided by our staff. We thank you for sharing your review and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were married here at the Charleston Santa Teresa in April 2013. The ceremony was held in the hotel courtyard and the reception was held in the Chapel at the back of the hotel. Staff was great, very professional, and worked with us to make the special day/night happen. At night, the hotel is a magical place. Top 3 hotels I have stayed.

Great pool on top of the hotel. Perhaps one of the best I have experienced. They have a couch/lounger up there that has water misters, shade, etc....perfect! Grab some champagne and look out over the Caribbean. Great location to walk around the city.

We stayed in both standard rooms and suite. The standard room was on the small side but the standard room bathrooms were large and the showers awesome. The suites were spacious and huge beds. Very comfy beds in both rooms.

Like all 5-star properties, it is expensive. It was $400 per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa. We also thank you for choosing our hotel as the site of such a special day as your wedding day. It is great to hear you had a amazing time and you were able to enjoy the hotel's amenities, including our rooftop pool. We hope to see you at our hotel again in the near future so you can get a chance to have some more champagne while enjoying the view!

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Charleston based on recommendations from friends in Bogota and it fully met our expectations. It is a luxurious property with comfortable, well-appointed rooms. Service is friendly and very good. The rooftop pool, sun terrace and bistro are excellent. The hotel is in a great location, right beside the walls of the old city and the sea, and close to the touristic centre of Cartagena. It lacks a fine restaurant, but with so many in the old town it is better to go out. Cartagena is a fantastic tourist centre with a beautiful old colonial centre. Lots to do!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front terrace will have a good view but side rooms may be more quiet. Some rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad you followed your friends' recommendation and even more glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We set forth every effort to ensure we provide the best service possible and it is great to hear that was your experience.We hope to see you again soon in Cartagena or in one of our properties in Bogotá.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have travelled the world and stayed at luxury resorts in North America, Asia, Europe, Australia and the South Pacific. Santa Teresa's infrastructure and service stack up with any top ranked resort. Its location is ideal. The pool area is magical. We had 3 different superior rooms in the 4th and 3rd floors - the decor was beautiful and different in each room. We had great views from all of them. The bathrooms were lovely. Wifi is free and worked well. Service is friendly. Esther at the lobby's travel agency set us up with 3 different great tours of the area. We had a fantastic experience. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and then getting such positive feedback from you. We are very glad to hear you had a fantastic experience as we work very hard to ensure each guest feels the same way. We hope to see you again at out hotel in the near future!

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We chose Charleston Santa Teresa to spend a few days of our honey moon. It was amazing!!! Everything was perfect. They make an extra effort to make you feel comfortable and enjoy your stad. The pool on the terrace is beautiful, as is the view. For us, the best part was to just lie on the terrace, enjoying the sun and a nice cold beer.
We did have a problem with the wi-fi, which signal couldn't get trough the room's thick walls. But the hotel's personal quickly found a way to solve the problem.
We stayed at a Junior Suite, which had a enourmous bed and a great size bathroom.
Our only issue was that, at check out, they counted some empty bottles of beer and water we had brought with us to the room and charged us for them. It was a bit of a headache to convince them that charge was wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena and for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to soak up the Cartagena sun from the daybeds by the rooftop pool! We sincerely apologize for the minibar incident and we hope to have the opportunity of having you as a guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The staff were very helpful with various requests (getting delayed luggage from the airline and to our room, shoe polishing, getting clothes pressed) and communicated well in English. They really make this a nice place to stay! - hence the "Excellent" rating. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a large modern bathroom. Located in the "old city," a short drive to the convention center. The breakfast buffet had good fresh fruit, fruit juice, omelets, but not really a large selection for that type of buffet. Quite a bit more expensive compared with other convention hotels though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CayManTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa with TripAdvisor users. We are very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and you found our staff to be helpful with your requests.We sincerely hope we get the chance to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ana Maria Tello

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa

Property: Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa
Address: Carrera 3 # 31-23 | Centro Plaza de Santa Teresa, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa is located whithin Cartagena's walled city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. With a privileged location that is blocks away from the Cartagena Convention Center and just minutes away from the contemporary city, the history, flavor and mystique of Cartagena are all found here, at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Cartagena Hotel Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Cartagena
Hotel Santa Teresa Cartagena
Santa Teresa Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing